High Spirits (A Haunted Haven Mystery #2) by Carol J. Perry #bookreview #mystery #paranormal #holiday #Christmas

**This post contains Amazon affiliate links which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commission on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. This commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.**

Title: High Spirits

Author: Carol J. Perry

Publisher: Kensington Cozies

Publication Date: October 25, 2022

Page Count: 292

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

Set during the Christmas season, the latest novel in this exciting new supernatural cozy series from the author of the Witch City Mysteries features a New Englander transplanted to a Florida town along the scenic Gulf of Mexico when she inherits a charming, century-old—and very haunted—inn from a mysterious benefactor. Fans of Amanda Flower and Heather Blake will delight in murder, ghosts, and the heroine’s golden retriever, Finn.

Christmas lights on palm trees and Santa hats on plastic pink flamingoes are far from the snowy landscape Maureen and her beloved golden retriever, Finn, are used to. But Maureen is determined to make this a holiday to remember—which means finding a way to promote Haven House on a shoestring. Fortunately, Haven’s vintage movie theater, the Paramount, has come up with a great “Twelve Days of Christmas” idea. They’ll feature an impressive list of the best classic Christmas movies ever made—shown by one-time movie actor-turned-projectionist Decklin Monroe . . .
 
But nobody bothered to tell Maureen that the Paramount is haunted by the ghost of a man who was murdered a few years back. Haven’s top cop Frank Hubbard doesn’t believe in ghosts but, believing that Decklin Monroe was somehow involved, he wants a reluctant Maureen’s help. 
 
That plan is derailed when, on the first day of the festival, a fresh murder victim is found at the theater. Now Maureen has to defend her staff and guests, while trying to keep her high-spirited resident ghosts out of the picture—before they have company for the holidays . . .

High Spirits by Carol J. Perry is the second book in the paranormal cozy A Haunted Haven Mystery series. As with most cozy mystery series each book in this new paranormal mystery series will contain it’s own mystery that will be solved within so they can be read as a standalone or in any order if choosing to do so. Of course there will be some character development that carries over from book to book for those that follow the series in order.

Maureen Doherty had been settling into her career as a sportswear buyer for a department store when she got the news that the store would be closing. At just that moment when Maureen needed it most she received a letter from a lawyer informing her that she had a mysterious inheritance waiting for her in Haven, Florida. Maureen is now the new owner of a cozy inn on the Gulf of Mexico. The only catch to the inheritance is the inn is supposed to be haunted but not believing in ghosts Maureen saw it as the opportunity for a new career path.

Now as Maureen is getting settled into her new life in Haven, Florida the holiday season is upon her as she tries to drum up new business. Maureen finds that the new owner of the local theater, the Paramount, is running a holiday promotion but she also finds that the theater is just as haunted as her inn. On top of everything just as the festival is beginning Maureen finds there has been another murder in town and finds herself caught up in looking for another murderer before Christmas.

Carol J. Perry was an author that I had my eye on trying one day and that day finally came when I saw the new A Haunted Haven Mystery series. After enjoying the first book in the series I was happy to return with this second installment. Being a fan of crossing the paranormal genre with a cozy mystery I wasn’t surprised to find myself turning the pages quickly with this series. With a nice setting too and some quirky characters this will definitely be one I return to.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online:

Goodreads  /  Amazon

About the author:

Carol J. Perry was born in Salem, Massachusetts, on Halloween eve, and that magical city serves as the backdrop for her Witch City Mystery series. She is also the author of several young adult novels. Her nonfiction articles on travel, antiques, and ecology often appear in regional and national publications.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: