Happy St. Patrick’s Day


Happy St. Patrick’s Day from my town of Indianapolis. I thought I’d share a few pics from the city where every year they celebrate by dyeing the canal green. 

Even the ducks join in on the fun…..


Murder, She Knit (A Knit & Nibble Mystery #1) by Peggy Ehrhart @KensingtonBooks #bookreview #mystery


Title: Murder, She Knit

Author: Peggy Ehrhart

Publisher: Kensington

Publication Date: March 27, 2018

Page Count: 289

My rating:   3 1/2 stars

About the book:

Since her only daughter left for college, widow Pamela Paterson has kept busy as associate editor of a craft magazine and founder of the Knit and Nibble knitting club in quaint Arborville, New Jersey. Now, she’s trying out a new hobby—solving murders!

Pamela is hosting the next Knit and Nibble meeting and can’t wait to liven up her otherwise empty home with colorful yarn, baking, and a little harmless gossip. She even recruits Amy Morgan, an old friend who recently moved to town, as the group’s newest member. But on the night of the gathering, Amy doesn’t show. Not until Pamela finds the woman dead outside—a knitting needle stabbed through the front of her handmade sweater . . .

Someone committed murder before taking off with Amy’s knitting bag, and Pamela realizes that only she can spot the deadly details hidden in mysterious skeins. But when another murder occurs, naming the culprit—and living to spin the tale—will be more difficult than Pamela ever imagined . . .

Knitting tips and delicious recipe included!

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Murder, She Knit by Peggy Ehrhart is the first book in the new cozy A Knit & Nibble Mystery series. A cute cozy series that features a bit older of a main character, some crafty projects and a cute little kitty that slowly adopts her new human.

With her daughter gone off to college now Pamela Paterson has filled some of her free time with her knitting group, Knit and Nibble. The group alternates homes of it’s members to get together to craft and share some snacks once a week and it was now Pamela’s turn to host the meeting.

Just before the night’s meeting though Pamela runs into an old acquaintance and invites her to join the knitters. At the time others begin to arrive though Pamela gets busy and doesn’t notice her new guest had never arrived. After the party breaks up however Pamela goes out to check on the stray kitty she’d been feeding only to find Amy with a knitting needle protruding from her body and most obviously dead.

As with any cozy read our main character here can’t possibly sit back and let the police handle the investigation thinking they just don’t ask the right questions. So with the help of her best friend and fellow knitter, Bettina, Pamela sets out to find just what had happened to bring about a murder in her own garden.

I have to admit this one had an instant endearing quality to it as it immediately brings back memories of my own grandma who was good at all the crafty things that I just never grasped, knitting, crocheting, sewing and on and on. As nice as the story went though I would still like a tad more quirkiness, perhaps giving Catrina (the kitty) a bigger role and to go deeper into getting to know the characters in the future installments. The author gave a lot of knitting things a lot of depth so a bit of that focus into other aspects would be nice too. Otherwise a nice start leaving me to rate this one at 3.5 stars.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Peggy Ehrhart is a former English professor who lives in Leonia, New Jersey, where she writes mysteries and plays blues guitar. She holds a Ph.D. in medieval literature from the University of Illinois and taught writing and literature at Queens College, CUNY, and Fairleigh Dickinson University, where she was a tenured full professor. Her short stories have appeared in Futures Mystery Anthology MagazineCrime and Suspense, Flashing in the Gutters, SpinetinglerCrime Scene: New Jersey 2, and Murder New York Style. A longtime member of Mystery Writers of America and Sisters in Crime, Peggy served on the board of MWA New York as head of the Mentor Committee. She was president of Sisters in Crime NY/TriState from 2013 to 2015. Peggy regularly attends mystery‑writing conferences and participates in conference panels and also gives talks on mystery fiction at libraries in New York, Connecticut, and New Jersey.

The Choice by Jake Cross #bookreview #thriller


Title: The Choice

Author: Jake Cross

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: March 23, 2018

Page Count: 403

My rating:   2 1/2 stars

About the book:

‘You’ve got to help me.’
On a wet road in the black of night, Karl Seabury is driving home to his pregnant wife. Suddenly, caught in his headlights in the middle of the road is a woman shaking with fright.

The woman says her name is Liz Smith, that her home was attacked, and that she was the only one to escape.

In a split-second decision, Karl decides to help her to safety. But can he really trust her? Or has he put his family in danger?

An absolutely unputdownable thriller, with twist after twist after twist, that will leave you breathless. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, John Marrs and Harlan Coben.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

The Choice by Jake Cross is a highly intense and action packed thriller that I probably should have completely fallen in love with. However for me that simply wasn’t the case with this book as I found myself struggling with being able to suspend disbelief and go along for the ride.

The story starts out with Karl Seabury driving along a somewhat desolate road late at night and having a woman jump out in front of his van. The woman is claiming she is being chased and it’s very apparent she is in need of help so Karl let’s her into the van. This here is the beginning of my logical brain taking over and asking the what ifs as to what should/could happen in this type of situation. I’d like to hope people would like to help so it’s not out of the realm to believe the story so far.

After Liz Smith gets into the car with Karl a man is seen that she is running from so Karl high tails it out of there with the victim in tow. Now here is where my logical side begins taking over as Liz is adamant in not going to the police. As Karl and Liz are discussing this back and forth Karl has his own doubts going through his mind but he goes completely against those and takes Liz to his place of business and allows her to spend the night, completely alone and unguarded, as Karl goes home to his pregnant wife.

Now who in their right mind is going to bring a complete stranger into their own lives and give them free reign of their belongings?? I mean as much as I like to believe in the kindness of strangers and there being good people out there it just seems this crossed a line that no sane person would. I, myself, would struggle with letting a stranger in the car with me in the middle of the night being a female and would probably “help” by dialing 911 but since Karl is male it’s more likely he’d let her in so I was OK with that but letting her in to his shop when he himself brings up the dangers?? Not really buying it.

I’ve seen news stories of the police telling citizens to watch out for children claiming to be lost and to not go to an unknown area with them but to contact police or deliver them to a station because it’s used to lure in unsuspecting people to where the adults wait to rob them. A grown woman refusing to go to the police is a huge red flag in itself but if still wanting to go the extra mile for her and take her someplace “safe” then why not a motel? Heck, that would be a lot cheaper for Karl if she wasn’t on the up and up than giving the chance to rob him blind.

So as you all can see my struggle with this story in this was only the opening pages of the book so no matter how well it’s written or how intense the story became I had these doubts floating in my mind from the get go. And as one might guess I perhaps could put aside the opening had there not been other instances in the book that really, really had me questioning the sanity of the characters. One must know it wasn’t only poor Karl and his decisions that grated at me but many times I had the thought there is just no way that would happen. So when finished with this one I do believe some out there will absolutely love the non-stop adventure that began with doing a good deed this one however was just not my cup of tea leaving me to rate it at 2.5 stars.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon


Zombie Abbey by Lauren Baratz-Logsted @EntangledTeen #bookreview #historical #horror #YA


Title: Zombie Abbey

Author: Lauren Baratz-Logsted

Publisher: Entangled: Teen

Publication Date: April 3, 2018

Page Count: 352

My rating:   3 1/2 stars

About the book:

1920, England

And the three teenage Clarke sisters thought what they’d wear to dinner was their biggest problem…

Lady Kate, the entitled eldest.
Lady Grace, lost in the middle and wishing she were braver.
Lady Lizzy, so endlessly sunny, it’s easy to underestimate her.

Then there’s Will Harvey, the proud, to-die-for—and possibly die with!—stable boy; Daniel Murray, the resourceful second footman with a secret; Raymond Allen, the unfortunate-looking young duke; and Fanny Rogers, the unsinkable kitchen maid.

Upstairs! Downstairs! Toss in some farmers and villagers!

None of them ever expected to work together for any reason.

But none of them had ever seen anything like this.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Zombie Abbey by Lauren Baratz-Logsted is a young adult historical horror story that takes readers back to 1920 in England and tosses them into a zombie apocalypse. I’ve seen a lot of comparisons on this one to Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and perhaps that’s true but I haven’t read and/or watched to know the details to it. But that obviously makes this one not really a completely original idea either but being new to me I found it a fun idea to go back in history instead of normally zombie reads being set in the future.

This book centers around the Clarke family and their visitors and workers etc at their property. The three Clarke sisters play a huge part but the point of view bounces around between a lot of the characters without really focusing too much on any one particular person at any given time. This is one of the reasons I lowered my rating as I think it would have made connecting a bit easier had the author toned back a bit and focused on more specific characters.

What seemed to be done well though was bringing readers back into that time period and setting up the way things were back then. The book starts off with pushing suitors at the eldest Clarke sister because of course back in those days women just had to be married off and of course to someone of their station, that cute stable boy would have definitely been off limits.

As the story went on and the zombie activity begins to make it’s appearance it also seemed to fit the time period. You see something like Walking Dead with it’s hoards of zombies and that fits the population in this time frame well Zombie Abbey started off a bit slower of course to fit that time period.

So when it was all said and done I do think perhaps this one had a few issues that could have been a bit better it was still an entertaining read overall leaving me to rate it at 3.5 stars. There’s of course the horror side with the zombies but take that and mix it with a bit of history and even some romance making it a nice mix up with just the right amount of action.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Lauren Baratz-Logsted was a bookseller and buyer for eleven years before deciding to take a chance on herself as an author. She’s since had more than twenty books published for adults (Vertigo), teens (The Twin’s Daughter) and children (The Sisters 8 series, created with her husband and daughter). She’s published a few ebooks as well, including a comedic romance for adults, The Bro-Magnet. She lives in Danbury, CT, with her husband Greg and daughter Jackie. http://www.laurenbaratzlogsted.com/

Captive by Jenny Lynn blitz with giveaway



Jenny Lynn
Publication date: March 13th 2018
Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense

In the city of sin, who will be saved?

Beckett Carter is the last of his family; the head of Carter Enterprises and a reclusive billionaire living in a luxurious Las Vegas penthouse. Since his parents murder his obsession with justice has steadily grown stronger, leading him to become the masked vigilante known to criminals as the Phantom. When he’s not out playing the part of a filthy rich playboy he trains his body hard, and in his disguise he brings the criminal underworld to its knees.

Crime reporter Ella James keeps everyone at arm’s length, throwing herself into her work and her quest to find out what happened to her missing sister. She doesn’t let anyone get close enough to her to see how damaged she really is and afraid to trust anyone fully, she has never let a man touch her. While going undercover she puts her life in danger and discovers the secret identity of the Phantom as he ruthlessly eliminates a room full of criminals. This one night sets off a chain of events neither of them expected.

Faced with the threat of being exposed, Beckett is left with only one choice. He takes Ella captive, keeping her in a secret room until he can complete his mission. In Ella, Beckett finds an opponent unlike any he’s met before – she’s smart, resourceful, and worst of all, innocent. The untouched woman locked away in his penthouse is the greatest temptation he has ever faced.

A tense rivalry between the two grows into something so much more than either could have imagined. When Beckett gives in and shows Ella how dark he can be, can she succeed and show him the light?

Goodreads / Amazon


Ella was blunt. I folded my hands in front of me, watching her. She was shrewd, this reporter, trying to paint me into a corner with her words. Of course, I know the police are

on the payroll for local criminals, but I can’t admit that. I can’t admit half the things I really know.

“I’m afraid I don’t agree with you. Crime is like a virus, it’s a constant struggle. Our police service is helping to heal this city from the inside out.”

A brief laugh pushed past her lips and she quickly composed herself, knowing that was an inappropriate reaction. Why did that stir something in me? The desire to lift her chin and stare into her eyes, to correct her simple act of imprudence, was overwhelming. The dark side of me wanted to teach her a lesson.

“Did I say something funny?” I demanded, my eyes burning into her.

“I’m sorry Mr. Carter,” she sat a bit straighter. “I didn’t mean any disrespect. It’s just that I follow the crime beat very closely, and I have my personal doubts about the effectiveness of our police. I mean, they can’t even catch a rogue man who is attacking criminals on his own. What kind of a city lets someone get away with that, acting outside the law?”

“You’re not a fan of the masked vigilante I take it?” I kept my face calm and unreadable. If only she knew who was sitting across the desk from her.

She shook her head. “It sets a bad precedent. It tells people that if they wear a disguise, they can be outside the law. That man, the Phantom as they call him, is going to get hurt eventually, or killed.”

I leaned forward, taking a closer look at this gorgeous creature in front of me. She had my full attention, this mouthy reporter. She squirmed under my gaze, self-conscious. There was a faint purple ring around her eye, partially hidden under a veil of makeup but not hidden well enough. “Who did that to you Ella?”

She shifted in her seat, looking down. “It’s nothing,” she mumbled. “Back to your article, I just need a quick photo and I’ll be out of your way. Is your office okay? Maybe by the window?”

She wasn’t going to tell me what happened, and I wasn’t going to press her on it. I nodded and stood up, smoothing my tie, then waited beside the floor to ceiling window of my corner office. The view of the skyline was just past me. Ella retrieved a camera from her bag and walked closer to me, I watched her move. She was a bit timid, yet comfortable in her body. Suddenly her foot caught the edge of my rug and she gasped as she fell forward.

In an instant I stepped towards her and caught her, holding her upright in my arms. My reflexes have always been impeccable, it’s how I do what I do. It’s how I avoid fists and knives. Her hands were flat against my chest and I noticed the subtle hitch in her breath when she looked into my eyes. For a moment we stayed as we were, our faces inches apart.

Ella looked away, a flush on her cheeks, then regained her composure. “I’m sorry Mr. Carter, I’m clumsy today. I’ll just get that quick picture.”


Author Bio:

Jenny Lynn writes contemporary romance novels about charismatic billionaires, cocky bad boys and dominant alpha males. She loves to throw in exciting plot twists and plenty of steamy scenes that will keep you up at night. She writes men worth falling in love with, and definitely worth lusting after. Jenny has won awards for her writing but there is nothing that makes her happier than when people discover and enjoy her books. When she’s not writing Jenny is spending time with her family and trying not to burn dinner.

Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Cover Reveal: Sweet Obsession by A.M. Salinger



Sweet Obsession
A.M. Salinger
(Night Series, #4)
Publication date: April 17th 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, LGBTQ+, Romance

He is the one person I love more than life itself. The one person I will do my utmost to protect. The one person I can never touch — Luke

He is the only one I have ever wanted. The only man I would ever need for as long as I breathe. But he doesn’t love me. No, he hates me —Ash

Ash Colby wants nothing more than to free himself of the man who broke his heart the night he turned seventeen. But when Luke Rutherford, his former guardian and heir of Rutherford Industries, forces him to move from his quiet college life in Stanford to the other side of the world, Ash snaps and decides to confront Luke about their past.

Luke has loved Ash since he was a child and been in love with him for over half a decade. Having protected Ash from the woman who wanted to hurt the young Colby heir in the past, Luke must act swiftly in order to keep Ash safe from harm once more. But when his bold move backfires on him, Luke must face the consequences of the decision he took on the night Ash turned seventeen.

Will Ash forgive Luke when he discovers the truth behind the terrible act he witnessed five years ago? And as the walls Luke had erected to protect Ash from his lust come crumbling down around him, will he overcome his guilty conscience and finally admit his true feelings for Ash?

If you like sweet, sexy men with dark pasts and a whole lot of love to give to the ones brave enough to win their hearts, then you’ll love this novella in the hot, contemporary romance series Nights by A.M. Salinger. Note from the author: Although each book in Nights can be read as a standalone, you will enjoy this series even more if you read the books in order!

This is a novella length MM romance with a HFN. Luke and Ash’s HEA is coming in 2018!

Add to Goodreads / Pre-order


Author Bio:

Ava Marie Salinger is the pen name of an Amazon bestselling thriller author who has always wanted to write scorching hot contemporary and erotic romance. In 2017, she finally decided to venture to the steamy side. NIGHTS is the first of several sizzling series featuring sweet, sexy men and women with dark pasts and a whole lot of love to give to the ones brave enough to fight for their hearts. When she’s not dreaming up hotties to write about, you’ll find Ava creating kickass music playlists to write to, spying on the wildlife in her garden, drooling over gadgets, and eating Chinese.

Want to be the first to know about Ava’s new releases and get access to exclusive content, sneak previews, sales, and giveaways ? Then sign up to her Reader Group here: https://www.amsalinger.com/subscribe/

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Instagram / Bookbub / Pinterest




Death by Dumpling (A Noodle Shop Mystery #1) by Vivien Chien @vivien_chien @StMartinsPress #bookreview #mystery


Title: Death by Dumpling

Author: Vivien Chien

Publisher: St. Martin’s Paperbacks

Publication Date: March 27, 2018

Page Count: 352

My rating:   3 stars

About the book:

Welcome to the Ho-Lee Noodle House, where the Chinese food is to die for. . .

The last place Lana Lee thought she would ever end up is back at her family’s restaurant. But after a brutal break-up and a dramatic workplace walk-out, she figures that helping wait tables is her best option for putting her life back together. Even if that means having to put up with her mother, who is dead-set on finding her a husband.

Lana’s love life soon becomes yesterday’s news once the restaurant’s property manager, Mr. Feng, turns up dead—after a delivery of shrimp dumplings from Ho-Lee. But how could this have happened when everyone on staff knew about Mr. Feng’s severe, life-threatening shellfish allergy? Now, with the whole restaurant under suspicion for murder and the local media in a feeding frenzy—to say nothing of the gorgeous police detective who keeps turning up for take-out—it’s up to Lana to find out who is behind Feng’s killer order. . . before her own number is up.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Death by Dumpling by Vivien Chien is the first book in the new cozy A Noodle Shop Mystery series. The series brings a bit of diversity to the genre by being set in the Asian Village Plaza, a mall with the shops full of Chinese culture.

Lana Lee has found herself returning home to her parents and working in their restaurant, the Ho-Lee Noodle House. When one of the staff asks Lana to pitch in and deliver an order to Mr. Feng, the plaza’s property manager, little did she know it would end up putting her in the middle of the murder case.

After Mr. Feng’s order was dropped off Lana had returned to the restaurant only to have everyone in a panic shortly after when it became clear Mr. Feng had been found dead. The problem for Lana was it looks like the food she’d taken may have been the cause of his death putting her and the cook in the line of the investigation.

While Death by Dumpling was a solid start to this new Asian flavored cozy there was a bit of a spark missing for me personally to absolutely fall in love with the series just yet. As anyone knows that has read my cozy reviews before I tend to love series that are oozing eccentricity or quirkiness and I don’t think that stood out much in this one unfortunately.

I did however enjoy visiting Lana’s culture for a bit and the setting within this series. Lana was about as realistic as a young adult of Asian descent that’s been raised in America could be, she is on the edge between the cultures which is normally the case in that age where he parents and other adults around her are what give more glimpses at the culture. When finished with this one I’d definitely try the next to see if the author could give the series a bit more of it’s own unique spark to make it shine going forward.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Vivien Chien was born and raised in Cleveland, Ohio where she grew up in a mixed-race home, making for some very interesting cultural experiences. She found her love of books and the written word at an early age while writing short stories about her classmates in elementary school. Currently, she writes side-by-side with her toy fox terrier who refuses to sit anywhere else. When she’s not writing, Vivien enjoys frequenting local Asian restaurants, frolicking in the bookstore, and searching for her next donut.

The Renovation by Mika Lane blitz with giveaway



The Renovation: A Reverse Harem Novel
Mika Lane
Publication date: March 11th 2018
Genres: Adult, Romance

I don’t believe in fairy tales and I don’t waste time wishing for one. I learned long ago that luck smiles on the—well, lucky—and that the rest of us can just go to hell. So when my boyfriend ran off and left me with a bunch of debt, I knew better than to wish for a miracle. But then one came my way, in the form of four—count ’em four—hot, sexy men. But as luck would have it—or wouldn’t have it, in my case—I couldn’t have a single one of them.


Goodreads / Amazon


I had to admit, he was adorable in that Clark Kent/Superman sort of way with short, tidy hair, and somewhat nerdy glasses. I could just see the tip of a tattoo peeking out from his shirt collar and several closed up piercings on his ears. Was he a closet bad boy?

He was looking at me like he wanted to say something else. Like he knew me in a way that was impossible considering we’d barely had one conversation, let alone discussed anything meaningful.

Carter was so…strong and self-assured. That’s what it was. He seemed like he’d never be afraid of anything. Like if something bad came his way, he’d find a way to handle it. I needed someone like that on my side.

While positioned behind me, he whispered his fingers over my throbbing core, with only the lace of my panties keeping him away from my searing flesh. I wiggled into his touch to increase his pressure and to also let him know I wanted more. Yeah, more.

It was nasty, and naughty, and I loved it.

One of his hands held his cock still, and with the other, his fingers gently pried me open. I felt pressure at my opening, and bounced lightly on him while I got used to his girth. He was fucking huge, stretching me to capacity, and then stretching me some

more. He rocked his hips to get more deeply inside me, and I threw my head back and moaned.

He pulled my shirt open and sat back, looking at the white lace of my bra, trickling his admiring gaze over my trembling body. The way he looked at me, like I was the most beautiful woman on earth, was so fucking hot, I had to put a hand on his shoulder to steady myself. He stood up and turned me around, unzipping the back of my skirt and pushing it down my hips until it hit the floor in a puddle around my feet. I started to kick off my heels.

“No. Keep them on,” he growled from behind me.

I could make some lame excuse and walk away from them all, go back to my shitty little house, and wait for the fucking bank to come and kick me out. But I was tired of letting life just happen to me. It was my turn to make shit happen, and everybody better get out of my fucking way.

Of course, I wanted to go to my fucking house. Or his house. Or anyone’s house. Whichever was closer. How about behind that dumpster over there, in that alley?


Author Bio:

Writing has been a passion of Mika’s since a young age (her first book was “The Day I Ate the Milkyway”), but erotic romance is now what gives purpose to her days and nights. She lives in magical Northern California with her own handsome alpha dude, sometimes known as Mr. Mika Lane, and an evil cat named Bill. A devotee of the intelligent and beautiful, and lover of shiny things, she’s a yogi, hiker, traveler, thinker, observer, and book worm. She has been known to drink cheap champagne and has way too many shoes.

A National Reader’s Choice Awards finalist, Mika always deliver a hot, sexy romp, often with imperfect characters, and a promised happily ever after (or at least happy for now).

She LOVES to hear from readers, and can be found at http://www.mikalane.com, and facebook.com/mikalaneauthor, when she’s not dreaming up naughty tales to share.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter


a Rafflecopter giveaway



Tokyo Heat by A.M. Salinger blitz with giveaway



Tokyo Heat
A.M. Salinger
(Night Series, #3)
Publication date: March 13th 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, LGBTQ+, Romance

I want him. I love him. But I don’t know if he feels the same way about me — Gabe

I cherish him. I need him. But I don’t think I have any love left to give him — Cam

A year has passed since Cam Sorvino challenged Gabe Anderson to grant him one night of torrid sex. Now living together and settled in a scorching hot relationship, Cam is happy with things as they are. Until the day Gabe says the three little words Cam is most afraid to hear.

Having overcome the terrible scars of his own past, Gabe knows Cam still has his own demons to fight. But when Gabe inadvertently confesses his love, he can only watch helplessly as Cam distances himself from their relationship.

Will Cam’s fear of having his heart ripped apart drive away the only man he’s ever truly cared for? Or will Gabe finally convince Cam to dare embrace a future with him?

Find out if Gabe and Cam find their happy ever after in this third novella in the hot, contemporary romance series Nights by A.M. Salinger. Note from the author: although each book in Nights can be read as a standalone, you will enjoy this series better if you read the books in order!

This is a novella length MM Romance with a HEA.

Goodreads / Amazon



Gabe gave his inbox a final glance, logged off, and rose from his desk. He glanced out of the panoramic windows to his left as he shrugged into his suit jacket.

Dusk cast red and orange streaks across the sky above Tokyo, the light washing through the glass and painting amber shadows on the crisp white walls of his office. He looked at his watch, cursed under his breath, and grabbed his bag.

He was five minutes late.

Gabe’s gaze collided with a curious stare as he turned toward the door. A man with dark blond hair and blue eyes stood watching him, one shoulder propped against the frame.

“Got plans for the weekend?” he drawled, cocking an elegant eyebrow.

Gabe smiled, hoping his restlessness didn’t show.

“Yes, I do.”

Rhys Damon studied him for a moment longer before letting out a sigh.

“Ah, to be in love and shacked up.”

Gabe felt his ears grow warm at his boss’s teasing expression.

“I wouldn’t go as far as that,” he mumbled.

“I thought you’d moved in with him,” Rhys said, surprise flashing in his blue gaze. “What’s it been? Six months?”

“I did, and it’s been six and a half,” Gabe muttered.

Not that I’m counting.

He swallowed a groan at Rhys’s sudden sly grin.

“I just sent you the final plans for the Hudson resort,” Gabe said. “Let me know—”

Rhys!” someone suddenly barked from across the expanse of the open-plan office space outside.

They turned and stared at the hulking, dark-haired man standing in the doorway of a glass room on the opposite side of the floor. Wade Tucker—the other brain behind the incredibly successful, multi-award-winning Chicago-based design firm currently taking Tokyo by storm—scowled at Rhys.

Rhys grimaced.

“It seems the big bad wolf has awakened.” He glanced at Gabe. “Quick, run before he sinks his teeth into you too.”

Gabe hurried toward the elevator and glanced over his shoulder at the two men facing each other stiffly across the empty office. He doubted he was the only one who had noticed the increasing tension between the firm’s partners over the last year.

Best friends since their college days, Rhys Damon and Wade Tucker had followed in each other’s footsteps throughout their early careers, often as rivals bidding for the same contracts. They’d finally set up shop as Damon & Tucker. Twelve years on and their company was now among the top twenty in the business for luxury interior design, consulting, and branding, catering to some of the most exclusive resorts and hotel chains around the world, as well as affluent private clients.

All thoughts of his bosses’ woes fled Gabe’s mind when he exited the lift and entered the lobby of the glass-and-steel edifice that housed the Tokyo branch of the firm.

A man stood leaning against a navy-blue Jaguar saloon parked at the curb outside, hands tucked in the pockets of his tailored suit and powerful legs crossed at the ankles. He seemed oblivious to the stares he was drawing from the passersby and office workers leaving the building, his eyes focused on the foyer.

Although the car was a stunning piece of art and engineering, Gabe knew it was its dark-haired owner who had captured the avid interest of the men and women openly ogling him.

Gabe’s pulse jumped when he met the man’s gunmetal stare through the glass wall. He still couldn’t quite believe that he was going out with Cam Sorvino, the king of one-night stands. His gaze dropped from Cam’s stunning face and full lips, to his stubbled jaw and hard physique.

Nor can I believe I’ve had sex with that gorgeous body.

Heat warmed Gabe’s cheeks when he recalled the last time they’d shared a bed.

It had been over a week ago, a fact that had obviously frustrated Cam as he barely let Gabe sleep that night. His job as an asset manager for one of the biggest investment firms in Asia had taken him to Singapore for most of the last month and he only returned to Tokyo on the weekends, often late on Saturday afternoons.

Though Gabe loved nothing more than being in Cam’s arms, he knew the commute was taking its toll on his lover, which was why he’d asked Cam to fly back early this week.

Cam’s gaze grew heavy-lidded as Gabe crossed the sidewalk and approached the car. Gabe knew that if it wasn’t for the people around them, Cam would have pulled him into his embrace and kissed him senseless. Gabe stifled a sigh, somewhat grateful for their audience.

Once they started touching each other, there would be no stopping them. And Cam’s libido had turned voracious as of late, his appetite not even remotely quenched until they’d had at least four rounds of toe-curling sex and Gabe’s voice was hoarse from crying and moaning in pleasure.

“I’ve packed us a couple of overnight bags, like you instructed,” Cam said in a smoky voice that sent tingles down Gabe’s spine as he opened the passenger door of the Jag. “So, where are we headed, Mr. Anderson?”

Gabe slipped onto the cream leather seat and waited until Cam climbed in beside him before giving him the address of the place he’d booked them in for the weekend.

Cam raised an eyebrow.

“The beach?” His lips curved. “Does this mean I get to see you in swim trunks?”

Gabe’s pulse skittered at the passionate gleam in the gray eyes watching him.

“It’s a hot springs, so, no.”

Cam grinned.

“Even better. You’ll be naked.”

Gabe rolled his eyes as Cam started the engine and steered the Jag around.

Although the drive to the Izu Peninsula took over two hours, the time flew by while they chatted about their week, soft jazz music playing from the speakers as the vehicle ate away the miles.

Cam’s eyes widened when he drove into the paved courtyard of the traditional Japanese inn sitting on the small spur of land jutting out from the coastline, the headlights briefly illuminating the golden stretch of sand leading to the Pacific Ocean. He parked the car, his gaze lingering on the open vista before switching to Gabe.


Gabe smiled, a flutter of excitement sending his pulse racing at the night he’d planned for them.

“I’m glad you like it.”

They collected their bags from the trunk and headed for the entrance.

Cam hesitated when they reached the porch, his hand on the handle of the front door.

“You didn’t design this one too, did you?”

Gabe blinked. His ears grew hot as he suddenly recollected the exclusive Tokyo hotel where they’d first made love a year ago. It was where he’d also rather splendidly lost his cherry to the magnificent man beside him. Gabe’s cock twitched as he thought of that night. Though sex with Cam always blew his mind, their first time together was incredibly precious to Gabe.

It was Cam who had finally helped him overcome the trauma of his past, when he’d nearly been raped by five men who’d paid his then boyfriend to tape their vile acts on camera, leaving him unable to sleep with anyone for over eight years despite regularly seeing a therapist. The gentle yet passionate way Cam had made love to him that time, how Cam had engraved his touch and scent on Gabe’s body until he utterly and completely lost himself in the act, how he’d brought Gabe to one earth-shattering climax after another—all of it were priceless memories Gabe would take to his grave. Not that he would ever admit this to Cam.

Gabe chuckled at his lover’s guarded expression.

“No, I didn’t design this place.”

Relief flashed across Cam’s face.

“Good. I’d seriously feel as if I were committing blasphemy otherwise.” Cam sniffed. “Not that sex with you isn’t the most unholy, wicked thing I’ve ever experienced in my life. I mean, there’s some stuff we’ve done that I—”

“Shut up, Cam!” Gabe hissed, clamping a hand over Cam’s mouth as a hostess headed across the foyer toward them.

Cam grinned and licked Gabe’s palm. Gabe swallowed a groan at the tingle that shot through him.

This erotic asshole.


Author Bio:

Ava Marie Salinger is the pen name of an Amazon bestselling thriller author who has always wanted to write scorching hot contemporary and erotic romance. In 2017, she finally decided to venture to the steamy side. NIGHTS is the first of several sizzling series featuring sweet, sexy men and women with dark pasts and a whole lot of love to give to the ones brave enough to fight for their hearts. When she’s not dreaming up hotties to write about, you’ll find Ava creating kickass music playlists to write to, spying on the wildlife in her garden, drooling over gadgets, and eating Chinese.

Want to be the first to know about Ava’s new releases and get access to exclusive content, sneak previews, sales, and giveaways ? Then sign up to her Reader Group here: https://www.amsalinger.com/subscribe/

Website / Goodreads / FacebookInstagram / Bookbub / Pinterest


a Rafflecopter giveaway



Black and Blue by Cynthia Rayne blitz with giveaway



Black and Blue
Cynthia Rayne
(Black Star Security, #1)
Publication date: March 12th 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Life can leave you bruised

Former Navy SEAL, Jackson West, is starting over. After his son died, West chose between serving his country and being the parent his young daughter deserves. He’s missed too much already and isn’t wasting another second. West formed Black Star Security with his military buddies, and they’re gonna kick a little @ss. For a price.

Sometimes you need a second chance

Deputy U.S. Marshal Annie Foster accidentally got her partner killed during a routine prisoner transport. Now three dangerous felons are roaming the Kentucky countryside, and it’s all her fault. West is also hunting the fugitives and Annie’s assisting. She’s devastated but determined to make it right. Although, Annie didn’t count on West, a big, bad alpha male who’s an intoxicating mixture of ruthless and tender.

Will they capture the escaped convicts? And will West and Annie take a chance on each other?

Goodreads / Amazon


Author Bio:

Cynthia Rayne is the USA TODAY bestselling author of the Black Star Security Series, the Lone Star Mobster Series and the Four Horsemen MC Series. While Cynthia was born and raised a damn Yankee in Ohio, her parents hail from Dixie, and she grew up on homemade buttermilk biscuits and southern wisdom. In her spare time, she enjoys shopping, reading way too many romance novels, and drinking a truly obscene amount of coffee.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Dixie Darlings Reader Group / Newsletter


a Rafflecopter giveaway