Don’t Cheat Me by Jackie May blitz with giveaway

Standard

 

Don’t Cheat Me
Jackie May
(Nora Jacobs #2)
Publication date: May 21st 2018
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy

One month after Nora’s violent induction to the dangerous supernatural side of Detroit, she’s finally settling into her new life as the underworld’s token human. All she wants to do is mind her own business, enjoy her new friends, and stay safe. But that’s easier said than done when she’s such an enigma to everyone around her.

Thanks to her unique psychic abilities, she’s garnered a reputation for being mysterious and powerful. When the alpha of a local werewolf pack asks her to help him figure out who is stealing from him, she can’t say no, even though getting involved in pack business could have deadly repercussions.

While tangled up in a heap of werewolf troubles, Nora can’t quite shake her old vampire problem, either. Henry is practically stalking her, Parker is breaking down the walls around her heart, and Nora’s blatant fear of the blood-sucking monsters is a delicious temptation for the natural predators.

Nora’s succubus friend, Cecile, believes throwing her a “coming out” party into underworld society is the best way to solve all of her problems, but Nora disagrees. If the vampires and werewolves don’t kill her, Cecile’s party planning definitely will.

This is book 2 in the Nora Jacobs series and should be read after book 1. It is a slow burn reverse harem series.

Goodreads / Amazon

EXCERPT:

“Hey, sexy, how about you bring a shot of Angelfire and that pretty little ass over here.”

I pour a shot of the fey alcohol and bring it to the tactless man with a forced smile. As I take the cash he lays out on the counter, he grabs my arm and pulls me close. “You know, I’ve never had a human before—they’re not usually worth my time—but I’d make an exception for you.”

I yank my arm back. “Not interested, thanks.”

I start to walk away, so he quickly downs his shot and asks for another. “What’s the matter? Think you’re too good to bed an underworlder?”

I smirk as I fill his shot glass with another round of the light blue liquid. “Nope. Just too good for cocky assholes.”

I don’t have time to regret running my mouth off before the man has me by the throat and is pulling me across the counter to his seething face. “I’ll show you manners, human. You’re nothing but an insect in my world. A plaything. And now you’ll be mine. I’ll have you begging for death for all eternity.”

His thoughts are scarier than his words. He plans to follow through on his threat. He knows many fey in the winter court that keep human pets. He’s never seen the appeal, but now he wants nothing more than to humiliate me and make me suffer. And maybe he’ll eat me once he’s bored of the torture.

His grip is so strong I can’t breathe, but before I start to see spots in my vision, Wulf and Nick rip me apart from the psychotic winter faerie. Wulf has me behind him, using his body to physically shield me, while Nick has the faerie laid out on the bar by his throat. The man is wailing in pain, and it takes me a moment to figure out it’s because Nick’s buried a dagger in the man’s shoulder, hilt deep. Judging from the screams of pain, the dagger is made of iron, which is poisonous to faeries. “What was that about begging for death for all eternity?” Nick asks. “Is that how you like to play?”

“But she’s human,” the faerie cries, as if that justifies his actions.

Wulf growls at this, and his whole body begins to shake. I place a hand on his shoulder in an attempt to calm him down. I’ve heard that werewolves like physical touch, and a gesture to tell him I’m all right should help with his protective instincts. I’ve never seen a werewolf shift, and I don’t really want to see one now while he’s pissed and I’m trapped behind a bar with him. I want to say something soothing, but honestly, I’m too scared to get any words out. That faerie has a dark, twisted mind.

“She is an employee of this club and Terrance’s only clan,” Nick says.

The fey’s eyes pop wide open. “She’s his clan?”

“His first.” Nick nods. “And he’s especially fond of her. So I would advise you to leave her alone. In fact, I bet you’re a dead man walking once Terrance figures out you’re the asshole who put the bruises around her neck.”

Nick’s eyes do that thing they do when he gets really pissed. The pupils turn into vertical slits. It’s freaky looking. He also emits some kind of power. I can’t really explain it. I don’t know what kind of underworlder Nick is. It’s rude to ask, and he’s never offered the information up. But it’s something totally badass that scares even the nastiest underworlders. Mr. Creepy Fey Man is squirming under his grip, looking like he’s about to piss himself. “I’m sorry,” he whines. “I didn’t know who she was. I’ll leave. Just let me up before Terrance comes.”

“Maybe we should leave him pinned to the bar for a while,” Wulf says, making the fey’s eyes go wide again. “That’ll send the message that Nora is off limits, which might appease Terrance.”

I can’t help the way my mouth falls open. “You’re not serious.”

Wulf gives me a grim look. “This man disrespected Terrance’s staff. That won’t go unpunished—house rules.”

“Terrance will kill him for touching you, unless we punish him first,” Nick adds, backing up Wulf’s claims.

They’re not kidding. They plan to keep this guy staked to the counter the way he is. The underworld runs on a different set of rules. It’s brutal and dangerous. If I want to survive it, I need to learn to stomach the darker side of it and trust those who have my well-being at heart.

“Okay,” I say, since both Wulf and Nick seem to be waiting for my approval. It’s not that hard to agree, considering how evil the man’s thoughts were. “Let’s leave him for a while.”

“Put a sign on him so everyone knows,” Nick says.

Wulf writes a note on a pad that says I touched the human girl. He puts it on the faerie’s chest. “Hold this, and don’t drop it.”

The man grips the message and holds it against his chest where everyone who gets close can read it. But he’s squirming, swearing, sweating, and hollering about the pain. I have no doubt it hurts. Nick has no sympathy for him. “Shut your mouth,” he says, touching the dagger’s hilt and twisting it ever so slightly, causing the faerie to scream in real agony. “This is a tender mercy. Stop whining, or I’ll put this dagger through your heart to shut you up.”

I’m not surprised when the faerie shuts his mouth and keeps his discomfort to mild whimpers from then on. If Nick had looked at me the same way he looked at that guy just now, I’d find a way to forget about the pain, too.

 

Author Bio:

Jackie May is a pseudonym for a husband and wife writing team. Josh and Kelly live in Phoenix, Arizona with their four children and their cat, Mr. Darcy. Jackie May is their only daughter. (And she keeps asking for her cut of the profits since we’re using her name.)

Website / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

 

Advertisements

Cover Reveal: Awakened by Dot Caffrey

Standard

 

Awakened
Dot Caffrey
(The Power Trilogy, #1)
Published by: Acorn Publishing
Publication date: August 31st 2018
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Power and Prophecy!

Seventeen-year-old Regnaryn grew up in an idyllic land among mythical beings. She believes she is the last surviving human.

Her world begins to shatter when Evil invades her dreams, demanding she relinquish unknown powers foretold by her long-deceased mother. When Graeden, a young human male, arrives, he further disrupts her once-orderly life. Her emotions in chaos, Regnaryn flees the only home she’s ever known, only to be captured by the servants of Evil from her dreams. Now she must take a stand, confronting her late mother’s prophecy while also attempting to survive and protect those she loves.

Add to Goodreads

 

Author Bio:

I was born and raised in New York, mostly on Long Island not “The City”. After high school, I moved to California and then did a three-year stint in the Navy before going to college and getting a Microbiology/Medical Technologist degree.

According to my Dad, I’ve been a storyteller from the time I began talking (which was at a very young age). But, it wasn’t until a few years ago that I decided to take my passion for writing and my love for all things magical or mythical seriously and set out to write fantasy novels.

When I’m not at my day job or writing, I enjoy creating and wearing costumes (cosplay), playing video games (though, I’m not very good at it) and watching NHL hockey and assorted other things many of which are merely time wasters. Of course, hanging out with my friends and my cats also pleasantly fills my time.

Website / Facebook

 

XBTBanner1

 

Cover Reveal: Blizzard by Cambria Hebert

Standard

Blizzard
Cambria Hebert
(BearPaw Resort #2)
Genres: Adult, Romance, Suspense, Thriller

An arctic blast is coming…

Fleeing to the wintry town of Caribou was always meant to be temporary,

BearPaw Resort just a place to hide.

Never in a million years did I expect that running back to the past

would bring me face to face with my future.

But it did, and now everyone I love is in danger.

I’ve already escaped death three times, and I know my luck is running out.

I’m left looking over my shoulder, watching and waiting,

knowing they’re coming

But when?

Hiding is impossible when the mob wants you erased,

and I love Liam far too much to try to disappear.

The more time I spend with him, the more I realize how much he needs me.

A darkness lurks inside him, and the colder it gets, the more I see it in his eyes.

So here I am, more afraid than ever before.

Giving up isn’t an option. Giving in will get us killed.

A blizzard is brewing on our mountain,

more frigid than anything we’ve ever felt.

With everything we ever wanted at stake, the only option is to fight.

When life turns arctic…

Who will survive the blast?

Add to Goodreads

Book 1 in the series:

Author Bio:

Cambria Hebert is an award winning, bestselling novelist of more than twenty books. She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair.

Besides writing, Cambria loves a caramel latte, staying up late, sleeping in, and watching movies. She considers math human torture and has an irrational fear of chickens (yes, chickens). You can often find her running on the treadmill (she’d rather be eating a donut), painting her toenails (because she bites her fingernails), or walking her chorkie (the real boss of the house).

Cambria has written within the young adult and new adult genres, penning many paranormal and contemporary titles. Her favorite genre to read and write is romantic suspense. A few of her most recognized titles are: The Hashtag Series, Text, Torch, and Tattoo.

Cambria Hebert owns and operates Cambria Hebert Books, LLC.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Pinterest

XBTBanner1

The Shimmer by Carsten Stroud #bookreview #scifi #thriller

Standard

Title: The Shimmer

Author: Carsten Stroud

Publisher: MIRA

Publication Date: June 5, 2018

Page Count: 336

My rating:   3 stars

About the book:

How do you hunt a killer who can go back in time and make sure you’re never born?

A police pursuit kicks Sergeant Jack Redding of the Florida Highway Patrol and his trainee, Julie Karras, into a shoot-out that ends with one girl dead and another in cuffs, and the driver of the SUV fleeing into the Intracoastal Waterway. Redding stays on the hunt, driven by the trace memory that he knows that running woman—and he does, because his grandfather, a cop in Jacksonville, was hunting the same woman in 1957.

Redding and his partner, Pandora Jansson, chase a seductive serial killer who can ride The Shimmer across decades. The pursuit cuts from modern-day Jacksonville to Mafia-ruled St. Augustine in 1957, then to the French Quarter of New Orleans in 1914. The stakes turn brutal when Jack, whose wife and child died in a crash the previous Christmas Eve, faces a terrible choice: help his grandfather catch the killer, or change time itself and try to save his wife and child.

The Shimmer is a unique time-shifting thriller that will stay with you long after its utterly unforeseen and yet perfectly diabolical ending.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

The Shimmer by Carsten Stroud is a science fiction thriller that takes place across decades in the hunt for a killer. This one was action packed from the beginning keeping up a fairly fast pace all throughout.

As officers corner a SUV in Florida Sergeant Jack Redding and his trainee Julie Karras find themselves at the scene. What appears to be two teen girls taken hostage and the driver running when cornered gets a bit out of control when one of the teens ends up dead at the hand of the law.

Redding thinks he recognizes the escaped suspect although he can’t put his fingers on from where but he becomes determined to stop her no matter the cost. As the body count rises Redding finds that his grandfather had been chasing the same suspect in 1957 and before he knows it he’s finding out the secret of time travel.

As I mentioned this one was a really fast paced starting with the confrontation at the SUV in the beginning of the story and following it across decades. Normally I’m all for a fast pace but with this one I think the author sacrificed a bit of depth to the characters and world keeping up the action as it did get a little confusing to grasp in places. The idea behind the story though was great, had me thinking a bit of a take on the Butterfly Effect, so in the end I did enjoy the story.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via Edelweiss.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Carsten Stroud, is the author of Cuba Strait, Black Water Transit, the award-winning Sniper’s Moon, and other novels. His nonfiction titles include Deadly Force; Iron Bravo, chosen for the US Army’s recommended reading list; and the New York Times bestseller Close Pursuit. He lives on the shores of Lake Huron.

Blessing of Luna by Blaise Ramsay blitz with giveaway

Standard

 

Blessing of Luna
Blaise Ramsay
(Wolf gods #1)
Publication date: April 20th 2018
Genres: Adult, Paranormal, Romance

Lonely. That’s how it felt when Damien Pierce returned to Big Timber, Montana. It had been his childhood home until the day he was hit by a speeding car only to learn he wasn’t badly hurt. The experience landed him the label of the town freakshow.

Following the death of his foster mom, Damien soon disconnected from the world around him. That was at least, until he met her. She looked human but something about made her appear otherworldly to him. He knew he shouldn’t but he wanted her. He would do anything to get to know her. To have her.

Jillian Styles was immortal. Cursed by a dark god never to find rest. A shifter capable of taking the form of a beautiful wolf. She had searched for her lover’s reincarnated soul for centuries only to find he was nowhere to be found. When she meets Damien, her world is turned upside down. She falls in love with him instantly and begins to pursue him.

However, Damien soon learns the darker part of Jill’s world. He finds himself on the hit list of the same vampire Lord responsible for killing Jill’s lover and reigniting the flames of an old war. His daughter desires Damien and vows to have him at any cost.

With the help of Alexander Kain, the mysterious wolf shifting soldier, Damien will learn what he thought he knew was only tip of the paranormal iceberg. He soon finds himself in the eyes of a vindictive and rage-filled dark god.

If you like hot lycanthrope guys, overly possessive vampire chicks, vindictive gods, strong female leads and some hot sex scenes, this book is for you.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo

EXCERPT:

Realization hit Damien as to who he was staring down. The same dark god that had challenged him stood in Lilith’s form. Damien’s heart inside his chest burned as he thought about Kain and all he’d done for him. Jill. Dad…Rob…Gabriel…Holt…Chelsea.

“Looks like it’s just you and me, Damien. You can surrender and die in peace or you can fight and die anyway. Your choice.”

Save him. Luna’s voice inside of Damien’s mind drew his attention. Save him. I beg of you. Please.

Damien’s body became surrounded with a radiant light so bright it forced Lilith step back. Her wing covered her face. He braced himself on his front legs, roaring at the monster in front of him responsible for taking so much.

The light became so intense not even the lycans could stare at it.

When it finally faded, Damien stood in his true lycan form. His white fur blew in the wind like mist at the tip of his stiffened ears to the end of his tail. The dark markings of his wolf form only seen on the tips of his ears, feet and tail. The fur on the back of his neck was thicker, almost resembling a mane.

“By the gods, he looks like…” Lune stood in awe.

“Tenebris.” Gabriel’s finished, his voice nothing but a whisper.

Stoker used the opportunity to sneak off, nursing the wound on his arm inflicted by Gabriel when he shifted into his full lycan form.

The vampires hissed at the light rising from the east, trying to flee towards the waning night. They had fallen right into Damien’s plan and were intercepted. Howls and snarls joined dying screams as the vampires were overwhelmed.

“What trickery is this?!” Lilith’s fangs spat as she tried to speak.

Damien ignored her, seeing the fear in her eyes as he made his way over to Kain on the ground.

The alpha was so weak he couldn’t retain his shifted form.

“Kain.” Damien’s voice was a comfortable echo. Warm and reassuring. “Alex. Can you hear me?”

Kain opened his eyes, slightly jumping. “Tenebris?”

Damien shook his head. “No. It’s me.”

“Damien. How?”

Damien took Kain’s jacket he was always wearing around his waist and covered his friend with it. “Stay here. Don’t move and don’t die.”

He stood back up and went to face Lilith. The lycans in his way stepped aside, their heads bowed. “This ends here, Lilith. You won’t hurt anyone else.”

 

Author Bio:

FyreSyde Publishing owner and founder Blaise Ramsay worked over fifteen years in the graphic design industry, with some experience in indie gaming. Recently she shifted her attention to the world of literature with her debut paranormal romance series, Wolf gods. The debut title, Blessing of Luna is set to release in 2018. She currently lives in

North Texas with her two children, her husband and pets. A UTD graduate with a Bachelor’s in History with an intention on teaching, Blaise decided that the world of teaching just wasn’t for her. A stay at home mother of two, business owner and self-publisher, Blaise loves to meet new people and encourage others to follow their dreams through weekly posts to her instagram, twitter, facebook and blog.

Feel free to contact Blaise for an author interview, guest blog opportunities and book reviews. Visit our affiliates’ page for a chance to see how you can get a hold on some of the books we have reviewed.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

 

Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent @lizzienugent #bookreview #thriller

Standard

Title: Lying in Wait

Author: Liz Nugent

Publisher: Gallery/Scout Press

Publication Date: June 12, 2018

Page Count: 320

My rating:   4 stars

About the book:

From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an “unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page” (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed.

My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.

On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life—wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia’s son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax.

For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a “seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre” (Sunday Mirror).

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent certainly starts off with a bang (and on my birthday no less) that gets one’s attention, a husband and wife are out late one night and the husband strangles a young women with the wife coming in to finish her off. WHAT?? A murder duo? At that point the book definitely grabbed my interest.

You see, Lydia Fitzsimons and her husband got a little carried away covering up their secrets. The young woman was a drug addicted prostitute so who would possibly miss her? Lydia tells her husband to simply bury the body and they can go about their rich, comfortable lives with no one the wiser.

The story is told from multiples points of view along the way from the various characters involved. From Lydia the murderer to her son the alibi to the worried sister of the victim. All of these characters end up woven into a web so sticky and tangled that it will be hard for one to imagine the outcome.

When finished with this book it was one of those WTH did I just read moments. I will admit the middle of this one got a little slow to me thus only the four stars but boy oh boy was the ending worth the wait. No exactly what I’d ever expected to happen as the years ticked by in the book after that opening death scene. If dark and disturbing personalities and actions intrigue you I’d suggest picking up a copy of Lying in Wait.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Liz Nugent lives and writes in Dublin, Ireland. She is an award winning writer of radio drama, children’s animation soap opera and television plays. Her second novel, Lying in Wait, is to be published in July 2016. Unusually for a writer, Liz likes neither cats nor coffee and does not own a Breton top.

YOU by Caroline Kepnes coming to TV???

Standard

I sometimes feel as if I’m the last to know these things but in case I’m not I just had to share the trailer I ran across. It seems that one of my favorite books, YOU by Caroline Kepnes, is coming to the small screen this fall. It’s listed now as premiering on Sept. 9 at 10/9C on Lifetime.

Trailer #1

Trailer #2

This news has me doing another of my happy dances.

If you haven’t read YOU just yet I’d add this one to the summer reading list! 🙂

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

Cover Reveal: The Aviary by Emily Shore

Standard

 

The Aviary
Emily Shore
(The Aviary Series, #1)
Published by: Clean Teen Publishing
Publication date: March 5th 2019
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Young Adult

I am nobody’s Swan.

Beauty is now a corporate commodity, bought and sold on city streets and displayed in elite Museums.

Sixteen-year-old Serenity has spent her entire life in hiding, to keep safe from this decadent world. Overnight, her parents disappear, and Serenity is kidnapped, sold at auction, and thrust into the Aviary—an illustrious Museum where girls are displayed as living art by day and at night, cater to the lascivious whims of men who bid on their exhibits. Serenity has much to learn about this enthralling but competitive world where girls go by names like Raven and Nightingale and will stop at nothing to become top Bird.

The enigmatic and deadly Aviary Director, Luc, soon idolizes Serenity’s purity and aims to turn her into his grandest exhibit of all time—The Swan. In no time, she becomes the most coveted exhibit in the Aviary’s history.

Soon, Serenity learns that Luc holds the key to finding, and freeing, her parents. To save them, she must learn to play the Swan to perfection to win Luc’s heart, earn his trust, and save her parents. She doesn’t count on the fact that she’ll develop feelings for Luc in the process. Now, she’ll have to face an impossible decision: escape The Aviary and lose her only chance at finding her parents; or become Luc’s Swan for good, and lose her identity forever.

Add to Goodreads

 

Author Bio:

Emily Shore is a MN author with a B.A. in Creative Writing from Metro State University and was a grand prize winner of #PitchtoPublication, which led her to working

with professionals in the publishing industry. Her anti-trafficking books Ruby in the Rough and Ruby in the Ruins are her first indie-published books with proceeds benefiting trafficking rescue organizations: Breaking Free and Women at Risk, International. This summer she will be debuting her first contemporary novel as well as re-releasing her paranormal series in the fall: Roseblood

Emily lives in Saint Paul with her husband and two little girls. In her free time, she enjoys connecting with rescue organizations and survivors of sex-trafficking, hearing their stories, and injecting their truths into her books for youth. She loves motivational speaking on the issue of sex-trafficking and is lining up more schools and libraries for the fall and winter, campaigning against sex-trafficking, baking, acrylic painting, interior decorating, and spending time with all the little girls in her life.

To learn more about Emily’s work and the anti-trafficking movement, see her Facebook page where she regularly blogs: http://www.facebook.com/authoremilyshore and sign up for her newsletter through the Contact Me on her website: http://www.emilybethshore.com

Website / Facebook / Twitter

 

XBTBanner1

 

Prisoner of the Crown (The Chronicles of Dasnaria #1) by Jeffe Kennedy #bookreview #fantasy

Standard

Title: Prisoner of the Crown

Author: Jeffe Kennedy

Publisher: Rebel Base Books

Publication Date: June 12, 2018

My rating:   2 stars

About the book:

She was raised to be beautiful, nothing more. And then the rules changed . . .
 
In icy Dasnaria, rival realm to the Twelve Kingdoms, a woman’s role is to give pleasure, produce heirs, and question nothing. But a plot to overthrow the emperor depends on the fate of his eldest daughter. And the treachery at its heart will change more than one carefully limited life . . .
 
THE GILDED CAGE
Princess Jenna has been raised in supreme luxury—and ignorance. Within the sweet-scented, golden confines of the palace seraglio, she’s never seen the sun, or a man, or even learned her numbers. But she’s been schooled enough in the paths to a woman’s power. When her betrothal is announced, she’s ready to begin the machinations that her mother promises will take Jenna from ornament to queen.

But the man named as Jenna’s husband is no innocent to be cozened or prince to charm. He’s a monster in human form, and the horrors of life under his thumb are clear within moments of her wedding vows. If Jenna is to live, she must somehow break free—and for one born to a soft prison, the way to cold, hard freedom will be a dangerous path indeed…

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Prisoner of the Crown by Jeffe Kennedy is the first book of the The Chronicles of Dasnaria fantasy series. However, what I didn’t know when picking this one up is that this is a spin off of a bigger series by Jeffe Kennedy, The Twelve Kingdoms. Not having read the rest of the books I’m not sure how much is missing reading this series alone.

The story in Prisoner of a Crown starts with Princess Jenna as a child being raised in what seems to the children as paradise, that is until getting a little older. As the children of the Emperor’s many wives grow older the boys start to learn the ways of a man and the girls begin to be taught to become a wife.

When Princess Jenna is of age she is promised off in marriage having always been told that she would become the first wife of a powerful man. The man chosen for Jenna by her parents however has had quite a few wives before her all having died at a very young age and Jenna’s marriage quickly turns into one of nightmares.

Starting off this fantasy read I have pretty high hopes for the book so you may wonder where it all went wrong. Well, the truth is the entire book really consists of just what the blurb says it does and there isn’t much more to it which was rather disappointing. What we have is page after page of world building putting the story firmly into a time when women were property and men ruled the lands but in my opinion this could be done in say 10-20% if not much more than that and move the story forward after that. Instead this ends where the actual story seems to begin so in the end I was just rather frustrated. Now I question whether or not to continue onward with the next book if the pacing is going to continue to be as slow as this start but the writing definitely had it’s merits so it would be a shame to miss what could turn into a great read from here on out.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Jeffe Kennedy is an award-winning author whose works include novels, non-fiction, poetry, and short fiction. She has been a Ucross Foundation Fellow, received the Wyoming Arts Council Fellowship for Poetry, and was awarded a Frank Nelson Doubleday Memorial Award.

Her award-winning fantasy romance trilogy The Twelve Kingdoms hit the shelves starting in May 2014. Book 1, The Mark of the Tala, received a starred Library Journal review and was nominated for the RT Book of the Year while the sequel, The Tears of the Rose received a Top Pick Gold and was nominated for the RT Reviewers’ Choice Best Fantasy Romance of 2014. The third book, The Talon of the Hawk, won the RT Reviewers’ Choice Best Fantasy Romance of 2015. Two more books followed in this world, beginning the spin-off series The Uncharted Realms. Book one in that series, The Pages of the Mind, has also been nominated for the RT Reviewer’s Choice Best Fantasy Romance of 2016 and won RWA’s 2017 RITA® Award. The second book, The Edge of the Blade, released December 27, 2016, and is a PRISM finalist, along with The Pages of the Mind. The next in the series, The Shift of the Tide, will be out in August, 2017. A high fantasy trilogy taking place in The Twelve Kingdoms world is forthcoming from Rebel Base books in 2018.

She also introduced a new fantasy romance series, Sorcerous Moons, which includes Lonen’s War, Oria’s Gambit, The Tides of Bàra, and The Forests of Dru. She’s begun releasing a new contemporary erotic romance series, Missed Connections, which started with Last Dance and continues in With a Prince.

In 2019, St. Martins Press will release the first book, The Orchid Throne, in a new fantasy romance series, The Forgotten Empires.

Her other works include a number of fiction series: the fantasy romance novels of A Covenant of Thorns; the contemporary BDSM novellas of the Facets of Passion; an erotic contemporary serial novel, Master of the Opera; and the erotic romance trilogy, Falling Under, which includes Going Under, Under His Touch and Under Contract.

She lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico, with two Maine coon cats, plentiful free-range lizards and a very handsome Doctor of Oriental Medicine.

Jeffe can be found online at her website: JeffeKennedy.com, every Sunday at the popular SFF Seven blog, on Facebook, on Goodreads and pretty much constantly on Twitter @jeffekennedy. She is represented by Sarah Younger of Nancy Yost Literary Agency.

http://jeffekennedy.com
https://www.facebook.com/Author.Jeffe.Kennedy
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1014374.Jeffe_Kennedy

Death and a Pot of Chowder by Cornelia Kidd #bookreview #mystery

Standard

Title: Death and a Pot of Chowder

Author: Cornelia Kidd

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Publication Date: June 12, 2018

Page Count: 336

My rating:   4 stars

About the book:

Maine’s Quarry Island has a tight-knit community that’s built on a rock-solid foundation of family, tradition and hard work. But even on this small island, where everyone knows their neighbors, there are secrets that no one would dare to whisper.

Anna Winslow, her husband Burt and their teenage son have deep roots on Quarry Island. Burt and his brother, Carl, are lobstermen, just like their father and grandfather before them. And while some things on the island never seem to change, Anna’s life is about to take some drastically unexpected turns. First, Anna discovers that she has a younger sister, Izzie Jordan. Then, on the day she drives to Portland to meet Izzie for the first time, Carl’s lobster boat is found abandoned and adrift. Later that evening, his corpse is discovered—but he didn’t drown.

Whether it was an accident or murder, Carl’s sudden death has plunged Anna’s existence into deadly waters. Despite barely knowing one another and coming from very different backgrounds, Anna and Izzie unite to find the killer. With their family in crisis, the sisters strive to uncover the secrets hidden in Quarry Island—and, perhaps, the ones buried within their own hearts.

Sure to be an intoxicating read for fans of Sarah Graves and Leslie Meier, Death and a Pot of Chowder is the first Maine Murder mystery by Cornelia Kidd.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Death and a Pot of Chowder by Cornelia Kidd is the first book in the cozy A Maine Murder Mystery series. Anna Winslow grew up on Quarry Island off the coast of Maine where she now lives with her husband and son. The community is a close knit one in which everyone knows everyone on the tiny island.

Anna grew up knowing that her biological father had left her mother before she was even born but she never expected a letter to arrive informing her of his passing from a sister that she didn’t know existed. Anna being excited to learn a little something about that side of her heritage invites her half sister to come to the island to visit.

Just as Anna is picking up Izzie though she gets a call from her husband letting her know his brother is missing. When Carl’s body is found it becomes apparent that his death was no accident and with the police looking at Anna’s husband Burt for the murder Anna and Izzie decide to team up and find the real killer.

Death and a Pot of Chowder really isn’t the normal cozy that I fall in love with as it lacked the humor and quirkiness that I usually enjoy however this one had a small town charm that drew me into the story. Each chapter began with an excerpt from various women’s publications from the 1800’s and one would wonder why until you get the feel of the town and see that the antiquated ideas of that era still seem to hold true on the island so they actually fit rather well.

With the characters and setting being very well done I settled in to the mystery side of the book and liked that while the main character and her sister did their bit of asking around there was also a retired detective to help move the investigation along. When all was said and done with this first installment of the new series I found that I had enjoyed it quite a bit and will look forward to more to come.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Maine author Cornelia Kidd, who also writes under the name Lea Wait, spent a wonderful summer on a Maine island when she was ten. Now she lives in a historic home on the banks of the Sheepscot River with her husband, artist Bob Thomas, where she cooks seafood, reads, writes, speaks to groups of all ages about writing, and, whenever possible, drinks champagne. This is her first Maine Murder mystery.