Home at Summer’s End (Full Bloom Farm #4) by Alys Murray #bookreview #contemporary #romance

Title: Home at Summer’s End

Author: Alys Murray

Publisher:  Bookouture

Publication Date: October 15, 2020

Page Count:  268

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

Rose Anderson is done with being known as “the nice one” in the small town where she lives. She’s done with playing third, fifth, seventh wheel at loud gatherings on her family’s flower farm. And most of all, she is done with the pitying looks she gets about her single status from the way-too-interested townsfolk.

Busy with her flower-arranging business, Rose has no time for a man, thank you very much. And it has nothing to do with the scars she still nurses from her last breakup. So when she meets Cole McKittrick, Rose gets an idea. But first she needs to get beneath his aloof exterior and convince him to agree…

Cole McKittrick is trying to keep calm. So what if he quit a steady job for a shot at his dream, was dumped and his move to Yokel County, California is bringing back childhood memories he’d rather forget? It’s all about perspective. He doesn’t want to get any more involved in this town than he has to be, so his first instinct is to push Rose Anderson and her intriguing idea away. But the woman won’t get gone, and then she makes him an offer he can’t refuse.

The two are soon neck deep in deception, playing up a starry-eyed romance in public while they clash wits and wills in private. But Cole has been hiding a big secret from Rose about his past. And when Rose finds out could it spell the end for their picture-perfect romance, or will she realize that he has taken over not just her home, but also her heart…?

A fun, charming romance about family and finding the one, perfect for fans of Robyn Carr, Debbie Macomber and Carolyn Brown.

Home at Summer’s End by Alys Murray is the fourth book in the contemporary romance Full Bloom Farm series. The common thread of this series is the setting of the Full Bloom Farm with each book changing main characters. With each book changing characters they can each be read as a standalone if choosing to do so with a full romance story in each.

The first two books of this series focused on two of the three Anderson sisters who grew up on Full Bloom Farm and now the fourth book gives us the story of Rose Anderson. Rose is single and enjoys being single to the dismay of her family and friends. No one around her can believe that Rose is perfectly happy without a man with all of the happy couples surrounding her.

When Rose hears that her small town of Hillsboro is going to be the set for an upcoming Hollywood movie she gets an idea. Cole McKittrick who is there to film just went through a bad break up so Rose comes up with the idea of the pair fake dating to appease her family and to make his ex see what she is missing. Of course the more time Rose and Cole spend together the less the relationship feels fake.

Home at Summer’s End was another great addition to the Full Bloom Farm series which I have followed from the beginning. Each book featured a different romance trope with this one being fake dating which I absolutely love. Rose and Cole were a great couple to get to know and it felt like returning home to me reading another book in this setting which I have enjoyed all throughout the series. After finishing this one I will definitely read more from Alys Murray in the future.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon**

About the author:

Alys Murray writes novels for the romantic in all of us. Born and raised in New Orleans, she received her BFA from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts and her Master’s in Film Studies from King’s College London. She loves black and white movies, baseball games that go into extra innings, and reminding people like Michael Bay has two films in The Criterion Collection.

**This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commision on any purchase made through the link of the products I share and that commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

13 Comments on “Home at Summer’s End (Full Bloom Farm #4) by Alys Murray #bookreview #contemporary #romance

  1. I bought the first book in this series when I first saw reviews of it, but have not read it yet. Your wonderful review has convinced me to finally pick it up. I don’t have #2, but I have 3 and 4. Glad to know that I don’t have to read it in order, but I will do my best. Great review Carrie, this sounds like a series I will very much enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Terrific review Carrie. This series sounds great and something I would enjoy too. And that cover is gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Wendy! They all had beautiful covers so of course I had to check them out but it’s always good when the stories are just as good.😃

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha no worries Sandy, I know our names are similar and we have tons of the same books too but Carla and I really aren’t trying to confuse you.🤣

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to Carrie Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: