The Lost Secret of Ireland (Starlight Cottages #2) by Susanne O’Leary #bookreview #contemporary #romance

Title: The Lost Secret of Ireland

Author: Susanne O’Leary

Publisher:  Bookouture

Publication Date: August 31, 2021

Page Count: 273

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

An enchanting summer romance set on the gorgeous Irish coast, where fresh starts are made, love beckons and secrets are sure to unfold…

In the tiny village of Sandy Cove in Ireland, Ella Caron is trying to recover. When she moved from Paris to a beautiful coastguard cottage on the sea, she wanted peace and quiet and the space to grieve after her mother’s death. She never imagined that her mother’s eccentric best friend Lucille would insist on moving in to keep her company.

With Lucille by her side, Ella finds herself laughing more than she has in years and it soon becomes clear that Lucille has her own reasons for coming to Sandy Cove: she wants Ella to help her move to her own little cottage by the sea. But then Lucille’s son Rory comes to town and her dream is under threat: he wants her in Tipperary, where she can safely grow old in their family home. Ella admires Lucille’s sense of adventure but she can’t help but wonder if Rory is right. Especially when she sees the rickety old cottage Lucille intends to buy and realises that the real reason she wants to escape could turn Rory’s life upside down.

As Ella and Rory get closer, sharing a moment under the stars that feels meant to be, Ella finds herself caught between the man she is falling for and the loyalty she has to Lucille. Ella knows that she must convince Lucille to tell her family the truth, but it may force them to leave her and Sandy Cove for good…

A dreamy Irish romance that will warm your heart and show you that it’s never too late for a second chance. For fans of Debbie Macomber, Sheila O’Flanagan and Mary Alice Monroe.

The Lost Secret of Ireland by Susanne O’Leary is the second book in the contemporary romance Starlight Cottages series. While this is the second book in this series the Starlight Cottages series is a spin off of the author’s contemporary romance Sandy Cove series which has six books.

Both Starlight Cottages and Sandy Cove are the type of contemporary romance that change the main characters within each new installment with the setting being the common theme among the series. This of course means that each can be read as s standalone or in any order if choosing to do so but there are glimpses of previous characters here and there for those reading in order.

Ella Caron is an artist that lives in the Starlight Cottages in the quaint village of Sandy Cove Ireland. Ella is currently on the mend from a broken bone after taking a fall so as she is telling her mother’s old friend, Lucille, about her situation Lucille decides she needs to come for a visit and help Ella while she heals.

Ella finds she quite enjoys Lucille’s company but Lucille seems to be hiding something during her stay. After Lucille’s son, Rory, arrives searching for his mother Ella finds that she’s not sure Rory really has Lucille’s best intentions in mind but keeping secrets from him isn’t easy for Ella as she finds herself more and more drawn to Rory.

I have been following the Sandy Cove and now the Starlight Cottages from the beginning and find that I quite enjoy these light romances with such a lovely setting. This latest story I found myself more drawn to Lucille and wanting to know her story than the romance but that was quite alright as I still liked getting to know Ella too even with Lucille stealing the show. But yet again this was another fun installment and I’ll be sure to return to Ireland and this series more in the future.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online:

Goodreads  /   Amazon*

About the author:

Susanne O’Leary is the bestselling author of more than twenty novels, mainly in the romantic fiction genre. She has also written three crime novels and two in the historical fiction genre. She has been the wife of a diplomat (still is), a fitness teacher and a translator. She now writes full-time from either of two locations, a ramshackle house in County Tipperary, Ireland or a little cottage overlooking the Atlantic in Dingle, County Kerry. When she is not scaling the mountains of said counties, or keeping fit in the local gym, she keeps writing, producing a book every six months.

Visit Susanne Website / Blog / Facebook / Twitter

*This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commission on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. This commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

3 Comments on “The Lost Secret of Ireland (Starlight Cottages #2) by Susanne O’Leary #bookreview #contemporary #romance

  1. This is the only book in the series that I have read. Now I’ll have to read all the others!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: