The Ex Boyfriend by Rona Halsall #bookreview #thriller

Title: The Ex Boyfriend

Author: Rona Halsall

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: September 30, 2020

Page Count: 297

My rating:  4 stars

About the book:

He promised to love her until her dying day…

When Becca’s first love shows up on her social media feed, she can’t help but smile fondly. Once upon a time Connor was the love of her life, and though it was over ten years ago, he’s always held a place in her heart.

Then he sends her a message. He sounds happy – still kind and funny, still living across the world in Australia. But he wants to know everything about her life now. How can Becca tell him the truth? About her workaholic husband, her stressful job, and the challenges of caring for her elderly father and her longed-for, adorable but exhausting three-year-old daughter Mia?

Becca hesitates, knowing she shouldn’t even reply. But Connor lives on the other side of the world. Just how dangerous can becoming friends again be?

It feels harmless. Until Mia gets sick – in a way that no one can explain. And it starts to become clear – someone will do absolutely anything to make sure Becca never escapes her past…

A completely unputdownable psychological thriller – perfect for fans of My Lovely WifeThe Girl on the Train, and The Woman at the Window.

The Ex Boyfriend by Rona Halsall is a thriller that was so much more than the title and book synopsis lead me to believe it would be. With an unreliable narrator at the helm this one really seems to take a reader down two different paths with only one being obvious from the description.

Becca is married to Dean and the mother of a wonderful toddler, Mia. Becca and Dean have hit that spot in their marriage where it feels to Becca like she is a second choice to Dean’s budding career. Just at a time when Becca is beginning to wonder if Dean’s eye has wandered away from her Becca receives a message from her old flame, one that she had thought she would be with forever until life got in the way.

But just as Becca gets the flash of her past and questions where she is now in her life with her marriage Mia begins to become ill. What seems to come on quickly and disappear just as fast leads Becca to seeking medical advice. Being told it’s simply a bug doesn’t sit well with Becca and when the illness keeps coming back Becca becomes more and more worried.

The Ex Boyfriend is the type of book that you just can’t trust anyone or anything that is happening at the moment. With every turn of the page it seems like the story unpeals another layer and twists things even further making you question just where things will end up. By the time the end came with this one I had more than given up guessing and just went along for the ride waiting to find out the truth of it all and when that happens I always enjoy whatever comes my way.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  / Amazon

About the author:

Rona is the author of Best Selling psychological thrillers published by Bookouture. Her challenge in writing is to find domestic storylines with twists that her readers will never guess.

She was born in Nottingham, grew up near Blackpool and went to college in Leeds. She then moved to Snowdonia, North Wales where she brought up her family while working as a business mentor. She now lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and two guinea pigs.

She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful glens and beaches on the Island while she’s plotting her next book. She has three children and two step-children who are all grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories.

To find out more about Rona and her novels, visit her website: ronahalsall.com

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s