Strange Exit by Parker Peevyhouse #bookreview #YA #scifi #fantasy

Title: Strange Exit

Author: Parker Peevyhouse

Publisher: Tor Teen

Publication Date: January 14, 2020

Page Count: 288

My rating:  3 stars

About the book:

Strange Exit is Parker Peevyhouse’s next suspenseful, near-future, stand-alone thriller, perfect for fans of Kass Morgan’s The 100 and Patrick Ness’s More Than This

Seventeen-year-old Lake spends her days searching a strange, post-apocalyptic landscape for people who have forgotten one very important thing: this isn’t reality. Everyone she meets is a passenger aboard a ship that’s been orbiting Earth since a nuclear event. The simulation that was supposed to prepare them all for life after the apocalypse has trapped their minds in a shared virtual reality and their bodies in stasis chambers.

No one can get off the ship until all of the passengers are out of the sim, and no one can get out of the sim unless they believe it’s a simulation. It’s up to Lake to help them remember.

When Lake reveals the truth to a fellow passenger, seventeen-year-old Taren, he joins her mission to find everyone, persuade them that they’ve forgotten reality, and wake them up. But time’s running out before the simulation completely deconstructs, and soon Taren’s deciding who’s worth saving and who must be sacrificed for the greater good. Now, Lake has no choice but to pit herself against Taren in a race to find the secret heart of the sim, where something waits that will either save them or destroy them all.

my-review_43_orig

Strange Exit by Parker Peevyhouse is a young adult science fiction fantasy. The story is a futuristic one taking place in space after a nuclear event happened on Earth. However, the setting in most of it is a virtual reality dystopian world the characters are stuck in.

Seventeen-year-old Lake is aware she is a passenger aboard a space ship that holds the survivors from Earth. Lake however spends her days searching the post-apocalyptic virtual world that the other passengers are stuck within and not remembering their own reality aboard the ship. It’s been up to Lake to find her fellow passengers and try to help them remember they are in the simulation and bring them out of it.

The thing I found with Strange Exit by Parker Peevyhouse  was that the setting seemed to be done well with the virtual world but it almost felt the characters were somewhat forgotten compared to that. There were so many involved in the story and very few seemed to have any depth that it was one that was hard to connect to their stories. So while I generally love virtual reality stories this one was just so-so for me.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Visit Parker at http://www.ParkerPeevyhouse.com and on Twitter and Instagram at @parkerpeevy

Parker Peevyhouse is likely trying to solve a puzzle at this very moment, probably while enjoying In-N-Out fries, admiring redwood trees, and quoting movies about sentient robots. Parker’s most recent book, THE ECHO ROOM, is a science fiction thriller that Kirkus called “a thrilling ride” in a starred review. Parker’s critically acclaimed collection of novellas for young adults, WHERE FUTURES END, was named a best book for teens by the New York Public Library, Chicago Public Library, and Bank Street. The Horn Book called it “a smart science-fiction puzzle.” Parker lives in the San Francisco Bay Area and works at Hicklebee’s Children’s Bookstore. Her next book is STRANGE EXIT, another futuristic thriller coming from Tor Teen in January 2020.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s