Nameless Queen by Rebecca McLaughlin #bookreview #fantasy #YA

Title: Nameless Queen

Author: Rebecca McLaughlin

Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: January 7, 2020

Page Count: 352

My rating: 3 1/2 stars

About the book:

One girl must make a name for herself–or die trying–in this royal fantasy where an unknown peasant becomes the ultimate ruler. But how long can she keep the crown if everyone wants her dead? Perfect for fans of Furyborn, Red Queen, and Everless.

Everyone expected the king’s daughter would inherit the throne. No one expected me.

It shouldn’t be possible. I’m Nameless, a class of citizens so disrespected, we don’t even get names. Dozens of us have been going missing for months and no one seems to care.

But there’s no denying the tattoo emblazoned on my arm. I am queen. In a palace where the corridors are more dangerous than the streets, though, how could I possibly rule? And what will become of the Nameless if I don’t?

my-review_43_orig

Nameless Queen by Rebecca McLaughlin is yet another politically charged young adult fantasy novel. The world within Nameless Queen is made up of three groups of characters, there are the Royals, the Legals and the Nameless. Royals of course rule the land, the Legals are regular citizens and the Nameless are homeless peasants and treated as nothing usually stealing to survive.

“Coin” is a Nameless who like the others around her has given herself a name after being born without one. She does whatever she can to survive taking care of herself and another young nameless girl. When the king in the land dies whoever is supposed to take his place is supposed to become marked with a magical tattoo.

Despite the fact that Nameless should never be eligible to become the next on the thrown since they have no name for the King to choose them Coin finds herself with the magical tattoo. She wants to hide the tattoo from the Royals until her young friend is threatened and she used it as leverage to save her life. Coin is then taken by the Royals to be trained to take part in the trials for the new leader.

Nameless Queen is not really a bad young adult fantasy however it’s not really an overly original one either. The story has a predictable side to it since a lot of young adult books are based on political power struggles with this simply having the Nameless against the upper classes. With a slow to moderate pace and simply an average plot and characters this one rated about 3 1/2 stars to me.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the Author:

Rebecca McLaughlin is a Michigan nerd who appreciates sweet coffee, kindness, and the scientific method. She got her degree in chemistry and creative writing in 2014. Since that time, she’s worked as a technical writer in Michigan. When not working or crafting stories, Rebecca can be found practicing her knife-throwing skills or seeking out the perfect cup of coffee. She wrote Nameless Queen because she grew up lower-middle class (which was not ideal), went to a private college (which was weird), and made good friends along the way (which was wonderful). She realized that exploring the social and economic divide is difficult, but magic makes that exploration easier—or at least more entertaining.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s