You Owe Me a Murder by Eileen Cook @eileenwriter @HMHteen #bookreview #YA #thriller

Title: You Owe Me a Murder

Author: Eileen Cook

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: March 5, 2019

Page Count: 368

My rating: 4 1/2 stars

About the book:

Seventeen-year-old Kim gets more than she bargained for when she is set up for murder. Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying, E. Lockhart, and Gillian Flynn.
17-year-old Kim never expected to plot a murder. But that was before her boyfriend dumped her for another girl. Now, Kim’s stuck on a class trip to London with him and his new soulmate and she can’t help wishing he was a little bit dead, even if she’d never really do that.

But when Kim meets Nicki, a stranger on the plane who’s more than willing to listen to Kim’s woes, things start to look up. Nicki’s got a great sense of humor, and when she jokes about swapping murders, Kim plays along—that is, until Kim’s ex-boyfriend mysteriously dies.

Blackmailed by Nicki to fulfill her end of the deal, Kim will have to commit a murder or take the fall for one.

my-review_43_orig

After reading two other thrillers by Eileen Cook I knew that I had to read You Owe Me a Murder. Again, just like with the other two books that I had read previously I found myself quite engrossed from the very start.

Kim is a seventeen year old high school student who had signed up to go on the school trip to London back when she and her boyfriend were together. Having just broken up with him though she’s not looking forward to a couple of weeks in a foreign country watching him with his new girl.

When trying to back out of the trip her parents insist she still goes so Kim finds herself sitting next to Nicki as she heads off across the ocean. Nicki and Kim seem to completely hit it off as they both air their complaints to one another which leads to some joking around about swapping murders to make each happy. Thinking this was all some drunken ranting the two part in London but before Kim knows it her ex has a tragic accident…. or was it murder?

Again as I have found with the author’s other works this book seems like you have all the cards on the table from the very beginning but yet still pulled me in and wouldn’t let go. There’s something about her style that makes me want to turn the pages faster to find out just what really will happen to these characters in the end. While not super twisty I still completely enjoyed this latest thriller giving it 4 1/2 stars and will definitely be back for more in the future from Eileen Cook.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Eileen Cook is a multi-published author with her novels appearing in eight different languages. She spent most of her teen years wishing she were someone else or somewhere else, which is great training for a writer. Eileen lives in Vancouver with her husband and one very naughty dog and no longer wishes to be anyone or anywhere else.
http://www.eileencook.com
Twitter: @Eileenwriter
Instagram: @eileencookwriter

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

2 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s