The Sisterhood by A.J. Grainger #bookreview #YA #thriller

Title: The Sisterhood

Author: A.J. Grainger

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: February 12, 2019

Page Count: 305

My rating: 3 1/2 stars

About the book:

Sixteen-year-old Lil stumbles across a dangerous secret while searching for her missing sister in this gripping thriller that’s perfect for fans of The Darkest Corners and The Third Twin.

Sixteen-year-old Lil’s heart was broken when her sister Mella disappeared. There’s been no trace or sighting of her since she vanished, so when Lil sees a girl lying in the road near her house she thinks for a heart-stopping moment that it’s Mella.

The girl is injured and disorientated and Lil has no choice but to take her home, even though she knows something’s not right. The girl claims she’s from a peaceful community called The Sisterhood of the Light, but why then does she have strange marks down her arms, and what—or who—is she running from?

my-review_43_orig

The Sisterhood by A.J. Grainger is a young adult mystery/thriller that takes a reader into the world of a cult. With a dark and stormy night starting this one off it certainly set the chilling atmosphere right away.

Sixteen year old Lil hasn’t given up on finding her sister, Mella, who disappeared four months ago. Every day she makes new posts hoping that Mella will somehow see and know she is loved and missed but it seems everyone else has given up hope of her return.

When Lil goes out with her bike she never expects to end up crashing when she comes across a young girl lying in the road. After her own fall her phone is broken so when Lil finds the girl is alive and awake she takes her back to her own home where she finds that the young girl seems to know of Mella.

The story in this one follows Lil in the present during the chapters but between each gives a brief glimpse into the cult and their world. As I mentioned this had a great dark and creepy vibe to it to get the reader into the mood for the mystery. I did find however that things did seem to move at a really slow pace without much action. I’m not sure if maybe the author should have gone for more of the cult point of view or simply having more happen with Lil though, it just seemed to need a little something more. Overall though I’d give this one 3 1/2 stars and didn’t find it a bad read in the end.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

A. J. Grainger lives in London, England, where she works as a children’s books editor. She loves writing and editing because it means she gets to talk about books all day. She is the author of Captive and The Sisterhood. Visit her at AJGrainger.com and follow her on Twitter at @_AJGrainger.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

2 replies

    • This one did great pulling you into the creepy vibe but then just kind of stalled out for a bit in the middle. I think it honestly needed more balance to each sister’s POV instead of only glimpses to the cult.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s