The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry Wilkinson @kerrywk @Bookouture #bookreview #thriller #supernatural #YA

Title: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker

Author: Kerry Wilkinson

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: July 26, 2018

Page Count: 315

My rating:   4 stars

About the book:

‘I will never forget the night I drowned…’

A village with something to hide.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor Parker wakes up cold and alone in the river that twists through her quiet village. She has no memory of how she got there. But she does know that another girl was drowned in the same river the summer before, held under the water by an unknown killer…

A community torn apart.

Eleanor is a normal, everyday teenager. She argues with her mum, spends her days with her best friend, and is looking forward to a carefree summer of sunshine and music. Who would want to hurt her?

A shocking secret.

Determined to unlock the mystery of what really happened to her, Eleanor can’t escape the feeling that something awful links her to the previous summer’s murder. But will she find out the truth before it’s too late?

A gripping and extraordinary coming of age novel that will make you question everything and keep you guessing until the very end. Perfect for fans of We Were LiarsLooking for Alaska by John Green and hit Netflix show Riverdale.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry Wilkinson is the sort of book that a reader like myself that enjoys many different genres craves. Even the author admits this one is tough to put into a genre as it’s a bit different for sure. I suppose I’d best describe this one as a young adult supernatural thriller that should appeal to many readers.

The story begins with seventeen year old Eleanor Parker waking up beside the river with no real memory of how she came to be there. As Ellie heads home and begins trying to piece together what happened to her she notices a lot of changes in herself. The feeling of being cold just won’t go away, food doesn’t seem to taste the same and she doesn’t smell the familiar scents around her. Ellie is quite certain that she died last night.

What is one to do when they are sure that someone must have killed them? Find the person responsible of course. With Ellie not knowing who to trust she steps back into her life and begins to investigate starting with the fact her brother’s girlfriend had been murdered the year before in the same river so she needs to know if there’s a connection.

After several books from the thriller camp not quite being overly thrilling The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker was a breathe of fresh air. I had a feeling going in though that I would like this one having read Kerry Wilkinson before but that was a straight up thriller and finding this one included so much was quite fun. In a way a character investigating their own death feels a bit cozy mysteryish without the laughs you might expect but whatever you want to call this one I found it very engaging and urge folks to give it a shot.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Kerry Wilkinson has had No.1 bestsellers in the UK, Canada, South Africa and Singapore, as well as top-five books in Australia. He has also written two top-20 thrillers in the United States. His book, Ten Birthdays, won the RNA award for Young Adult Novel of the Year in 2018.

As well as his million-selling Jessica Daniel series, Kerry has written the Silver Blackthorn trilogy – a fantasy-adventure serial for young adults – a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter, plus numerous standalone novels. He has been published around the world in more than a dozen languages.

Originally from the county of Somerset, Kerry has spent far too long living in the north of England, picking up words like ‘barm’ and ‘ginnel’.

When he’s short of ideas, he rides his bike or bakes cakes. When he’s not, he writes it all down.

Recent & Upcoming US releases:
Last Night (standalone): Out now
For Richer, For Poorer (Jessica Daniel 10): 15 May 2018
The Death And Life Of Eleanor Parker (standalone): 26 July 2018
Nothing But Trouble (Jessica Daniel 11): 9 August 2018
To Have And To Hold (standalone): October 2018
Eye For An Eye (Jessica Daniel 12): 7 November 2018

Find out more at: http://kerrywilkinson.com or http://facebook.com/KerryWilkinsonBooks

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

14 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s