Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley #bookreview #thriller

Title: Find You in the Dark

Author: Nathan Ripley

Publisher: Atria Books

Publication Date: June 19, 2018

Page Count: 368

My rating:  3 stars

About the book:

In this chilling and disquieting debut thriller perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes’s Hidden Bodies and Jeff Lindsay’s Dexter series, a family man with a habit of digging up the past catches the attention of a serial killer who wants anything but his secrets uncovered.

For years, unbeknownst to his wife and teenage daughter, Martin Reese has been illegally buying police files on serial killers and obsessively studying them, using them as guides to find the missing bodies of victims. He doesn’t take any souvenirs, just photos that he stores in an old laptop, and then he turns in the results anonymously. Martin sees his work as a public service, a righting of wrongs.

Detective Sandra Whittal sees the situation differently. On a meteoric rise in police ranks due to her case‑closing efficiency, Whittal is suspicious of the mysterious source she calls the Finder, especially since he keeps leading the police right to the bodies. Even if he isn’t the one leaving bodies behind, how can she be sure he won’t start soon?

On his latest dig, Martin searches for the first kill of Jason Shurn, the early 1990s murderer who may have been responsible for the disappearance of his wife’s sister. But when he arrives at the site, he finds more than just bones. There’s a freshly killed body—a young and missing Seattle woman—lying among remains that were left there decades ago. Someone else knew where Jason Shurn left the corpses of his victims…and that someone isn’t happy that Martin has been going around digging up his work. And when a crooked cop with a tenuous tie to Martin vanishes, Whittal begins to zero in on the Finder.

Hunted by a real killer and by Whittal, Martin realizes that in order to escape, he may have to go deeper into the killer’s dark world than he ever thought…

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley is a thriller that centers around Martin Reese who after an early retirement has a rather odd hobby no one else knows about. You see Martin takes these camping trips off by himself but instead of enjoying nature Martin looks for the remains of victims of serial killers.

Martin’s wife’s sister had been a victim twenty years before and the family had never received closure or real evidence of what happened to her so Martin thinks he just may find her in his adventures one day. When he does find something he makes anonymous tips to police getting himself known as the finder. Of course stepping into this world gets Martin more than he ever bargained for.

Find You in the Dark was compared to Caroline Kepnes and Jeff Lindsay’s Dexter which put me on the fence on whether this one would be for me. Love some Caroline Kepnes but not so much the Dexter so of course I land in the it was alright zone with this one instead of the love it.

The book had a lot of potential to it but again with this one the characters never really pull me in to where I absolutely am on the edge worrying what will happen to them. The story is somewhat a slow burn that to me really seemed a bit predictable along the way leaving me with the meh, it’s alright feeling after I was done. Some may love this one but for me it lacked a spark of excitement in it’s darkness.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Nathan Ripley is the pen name of literary fiction writer and journalist Naben Ruthnum. His stories and essays have appeared in The WalrusHazlittSight & Sound, and Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, among other places. He lives in Toronto. Visit him at NabenRuthnum.com or follow him on Twitter @NabenRuthnum.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

6 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s