A Mother’s Sacrifice by Gemma Metcalfe @gemmakmetcalfe @HQDigitalUK #bookreview #thriller

Title: A Mother’s Sacrifice

Author: Gemma Metcalfe

Publisher: HQ Digital

Publication Date: March 9, 2018

Page Count: 300

My rating:  4 stars

About the book:

It was fate that she crossed my path. And that is why I chose her.

The day Louisa and James bring their newborn son home from the hospital marks a new beginning for all of them. To hold their child in their arms, makes all the stress and trauma of fertility treatment worth it. Little Cory is theirs and theirs alone. Or so they think…

After her mother’s suicide when she was a child, Louisa’s life took an even darker turn. But meeting James changed everything. She can trust him to protect her, and to never leave her. Even if deep down, she worries that she has never told him the full truth about her past, or the truth about their baby.

But someone knows all her secrets – and that person is watching and waiting, with a twisted game that will try to take everything Louisa holds dear.

Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

A Mother’s Sacrifice by Gemma Metcalfe is a psychological thriller that easily tipped into the disturbing side from the opening pages. As it begins readers are shown a woman on the edge of a bridge holding her baby which is enough to already bring the chills and put one on the edge of their seat.

The the real story begins with Louisa and James in the delivery room as Louisa is about to give birth to their baby. As the story is being told in the present time though the book also flashes back to Louisa’s past which also contains some very disturbing details that we come to find out over the course of the book.

Also, during the story there are flashes coming from an unknown voice that obviously has ill intent towards Louisa. So as Louisa’s current situation balances precariously it’s a struggle to connect all of the dots from the disturbing opening, the creepy unknown and the struggle with mental health in the present.

This was definitely a trip into the dark side as the pages began to turn and the story hooked me right in. There’s a lot going on in the book but I never found it hard to follow as I began to make guesses into what the outcome would be. But by the time I got to the end of the book I was sure there couldn’t be another twist that could shock me but the author tossed in probably the most disturbing detail of all so this was a definite page turner from start to finish.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author: 

GEMMA METCALFE is a Manchester-born author who now lives in sunny Tenerife with her husband, Danny, and two crazy rescue dogs, Dora and Diego. By day, Gemma can be found working as a primary school teacher, but as the sun sets, she ditches the glitter and glue and becomes a writer of psychological thrillers. The plot for her debut novel, Trust Me, is loosely based on her experiences as a call-centre operative, where she was never quite sure who would answer the phone!

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

7 replies

    • Thanks! I’m usually all in on the ominous threat there in a thriller with the exception of that one read I found myself thinking of the three stooges. LOL Thankfully this one was a lot darker and more sinister of a story. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s