Hideaway at Silver Lake (Snowflake Sisters #1) by Jennifer Greene #bookreview #contemporary #romance

**This post contains Amazon affiliate links which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commission on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. This commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.**

Title: Hideaway at Silver Lake

Author: Jennifer Greene

Publisher: Avon

Publication Date: January 31, 2023

Page Count: 303

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

If you love Jill Shalvis and Lori Wilde, then you won’t want to miss this new novel—and start of a new series, The Snowflake Sisters—by USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Greene, who returns with a poignantly emotional story about the joys—and frustrations—of family, sisters, and self-discovery.

They say there’s no place like home for the holidays…but Poppy McGuire is done with all that! Her sisters are suffocating, and her father hasn’t done anything for himself in years. What she needs is a change—of pace, of heart, of attitude. …and so she flees to an isolated Wisconsin cabin, determined to get through to a Happy Solo New Year’s.

At first, Poppy’s blissful solitude is only interrupted by a few welcome distractions in the form of her hunky, flannel-clad neighbor and his loveable—rather large—dog Bubbles. The weight of responsibilities falls off her shoulders, reigniting a joy in life she’d thought was long gone.

And then her sisters track her down—barging in unannounced with their problems and panics and overwhelming need to get Poppy to solve things. But a new year means new changes…it’s time for all these sisters to grow up before their family falls apart.

Hideaway at Silver Lake is Jennifer Greene at her best—characters you can’t help but love, a setting you can’t help but pine for, and the happily ever after we all aspire to find. This novel is a like a warm cup of cocoa, perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber and Jenny Colgan.

Hideaway at Silver Lake by Jennifer Greene is the first book in the new contemporary romance Snowflake Sisters series. The Snowflake Sisters series does seem to be one that will change main characters with each new book with this first book reading fine as a standalone if choosing to do so.

Poppy McGuire has always put everyone else first never making time for herself but now the time has come Poppy just needs a break. Poppy packs up her things and heads an isolated cabin determined to avoid the holiday mayhem with her family.

What Poppy didn’t expect during her time alone was to not be quite so alone when she meets her hunky neighbor. Just as Poppy is getting to know her neighbor and settling in though her sisters show up and start to bring their problems all the way to Poppy’s hideout.

Hideaway at Silver Lake by Jennifer Greene was a great opener to this new romantic Snowflake Sisters series. Who out there couldn’t relate to the main character with sometimes being overwhelmed with everyone else’s needs? I certainly know I could. With likable characters and a glimpse into Poppy’s sisters it seems this will be a series I won’t be able to resist continuing.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online:

Goodreads  /  Amazon

About the author:

Jennifer Greene has sold over 86 books in the contemporary romance genre, and has accumulated a wealth of writing awards, including 6 Ritas from Romance Writers of America, The RWA Hall of Fame Award, Lifetime Achievement award, and both Lifetime and Career Achievement awards from Romantic Times. She has been on numerous best seller lists from the very start of her career, and reviewers’ enthusiasm for her books have come from across the country.

Jennifer lives in the countryside around Lake Michigan. For years, she and her husband raised Newfoundlands. She loves history, traveling, and of course, reading. She’s taken in every animal that shows up at her back door, from kittens to dogs, raccoons to squirrels, and admits to being incapable of saying no–a terrible character trait that she claims to have passed onto her kids.

Jennifer has been an active supporter for women’s groups all her life, and has also written under the names of Jeanne Grant, Jessica Massey, and Alison Hart.

You’re welcome to contact Jennifer through her website, at:

http://www.jennifergreene.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: