Have a Holly, Haunted Christmas (Kitchen Witch Mysteries #2.5) by Lynn Cahoon #bookreview #mystery

**This post contains Amazon affiliate links which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commission on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. This commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.**

Title: Have a Holly, Haunted Christmas

Author: Lynn Cahoon

Publisher: Kensington Books

Publication Date: October 26, 2021

Page Count: 102

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

Mia Malone is planning a holiday party to promote her catering and cooking school business—but she’s got a Christmas spirit to deal with first, in this new Kitchen Witch Mystery from New York Times bestselling author Lynn Cahoon . . .
For all its merriment, Christmas can also bring melancholy—and in Magic Springs, Idaho, Mia finds that the season has brought her an unhappy ghost who’s pulling poltergeist-style pranks to get her attention. When she demands an explanation, the ghost just sends a message: Ask Mary Alice—that is, Mia’s beloved Grans, who’s been training her to develop her witchy talents. If anyone can figure this out, it’s Grans . . . even if she still hasn’t managed to free Mia’s cat from a previous spell that she cast.
The restless spirit turns out to be Magic Spring’s most well-known ghost, Dorothy, who supposedly died peacefully in her sleep. Now Dorothy claims she was murdered, and she wants her killer brought to justice. And she doesn’t have much patience about it, so the pressure is on Mia—with some help from her boyfriend, Trent, and a strangely secretive Grans. There aren’t many dicing-and-chopping days till Christmas—but this year, the most important gift Mia can give is to cheer up this troubled spirit . . .


Have a Holly, Haunted Christmas by Lynn Cahoon is the third novella length book in the paranormal cozy Kitchen Witch Mysteries series. The Kitchen Witch Mysteries also have three full length books in the series with this third novella falling between books two and three. As with most cozy mysteries though each of the books do contain it’s own mystery that will be fully solved within the book so they can be read as a standalone or in any order if choosing to do so. There is character development that carries over from book to book for those that follow the series from the beginning.

In the prequel novella in the series readers were introduced to Mia Malone who had traveled back to her hometown of Magic Springs, Idaho at the urging of her grandmother who Mia fondly calls Grans. Magic Springs is a place where magic is out in the open and Mia’s family is far from normal with Mia inheriting her Grans magical abilities and she now uses that witchcraft to create her tasty culinary treats.

Since that trip back to Magic Springs though Mia’s world had fallen apart with Mia finding herself single when her boyfriend left her and also became unemployed. Mia decided that the best thing to do was to return to Magic Springs for good where she could use her magic in a gourmet dinner delivery business. Now that Mia’s business is running she is planning a holiday party to promote her catering but Mia keeps getting distracted by an unhappy ghost that keeps pulling pranks on her. Mia promises the spirit that she’ll do what she can to figure out just how she died.

The Kitchen Witch Mysteries series is one of many that I have been following from the beginning from author Lynn Cahoon and as always I was happy to return with this latest installment. The Kitchen Witch Mysteries series is a little different from the author’s other works though as this one is not just a cozy mystery but also a paranormal with a magical witch leading the series. I love the crossing of genres though and would only complain that I wouldn’t mind the novellas to be longer but still great to return with each new book despite the length.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online:

Goodreads  /  Amazon

About the author:

Lynn Cahoon is the author of the NYT and USA Today best-selling Tourist Trap cozy mystery series. She also pens the Cat Latimer series, the Farm to Fork series, and the Kitchen Witch series. Small town setting, big time fun with a bit of murder to keep it interesting. Romance novels are published under the pen name, Lynn Collins. She lives in a small river town like Mark Twain with her husband and three fur kids.

Sign up for her newsletter and get a free story at http://www.lynncahoon.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: