Wrong Alibi (Murder in Alaska #1) by Christina Dodd #bookreview #mystery #thriller #romance #suspense

**This post contains Amazon affiliate links which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commission on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. This commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.**

Title: Wrong Alibi

Author: Christina Dodd

Publisher: HQN Books

Publication Date: December 29, 2020

Page Count: 360

My rating: 3 stars

About the book:

From New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd comes an all-new thriller featuring a bold and brash female protagonist, a brutal and twisty murder that will have readers turning the pages and a villain that will have them keeping the lights on at night. WRONG ALIBI is perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Karin Slaughter, and Sandra Brown.

WRONG JOB
Eighteen-year-old Evelyn Jones lands a job in small-town Alaska, working for a man in his isolated mountain home. But her bright hopes for the future are shattered when Donald White disappears, leaving her to face charges of theft, embezzlement—and a brutal double murder. Her protestations of innocence count for nothing. Convicted, she faces life in prison…until fate sends her on the run.

WRONG NAME
Evie’s escape leaves her scarred and in hiding, isolated from her family, working under an alias at a wilderness camp. Bent on justice, intent on recovering her life, she searches for the killer who slaughters without remorse.

WRONG ALIBI
At last, the day comes. Donald White has returned. Evie emerges from hiding; the fugitive becomes the hunter. But in her mind, she hears the whisper of other forces at work. Now Evelyn must untangle the threads of evidence before she’s once again found with blood on her hands: the blood of her own family…

Wrong Alibi by Christina Dodd is the first book in the Murder in Alaska series which has a bit of mystery and suspense mixed with a tad of romance. The story is one that is told by looking back to events in the past as the story takes place.

Evelyn Jones had spent time in juvenile detention as a teenager which came from being in the wrong place at the wrong time so to speak. When released at eighteen Evie had thought she’d found the perfect job to pick herself up but again ended up at the wrong place.

Now Evie goes by the name of Petie and is living her life in hiding at a wilderness camp. Petie has spent her time listening and learning while she waits for the moment her former employer, Donald White, finally surfaces and she can get her revenge.

Wrong Alibi by Christina Dodd was the type of story that seemed to me to get off to a solid start but one that possibly could have used a little work too. Sometimes I felt this one was a little choppy which kind of surprised me from an established author like this as I expected it to flow easily. There were a lot of twists and turns which I did enjoy but overall I just found this one an ok read which makes me wonder if I should continue.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online:

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

New York Times bestseller Christina Dodd writes “Edge-of-the-seat suspense.” —(Iris Johansen) with “brilliantly etched characters, polished writing, and unexpected flashes of sharp humor that are pure Dodd.” (ALA Booklist) Follow Christina on Amazon to receive notices about her upcoming and new releases.

Christina’s 60 full-length novels have been translated into twenty-five languages, won the prestigious Golden Heart and RITA Awards, and been called the year’s best by Library Journal and Booklist. Much to her mother’s delight, Dodd has been a clue in the Los Angeles Times crossword puzzle. And let us not forget the infamous three armed cover… Her legions of fans know that when they pick up a Christina Dodd book, they’ll find the story, “Wildly entertaining, wickedly witty!”

Put more fun in your life. Join Christina’s mailing list at ChristinaDodd.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: