Her Family Secret by Melissa Wiesner #bookreview #womansfiction #mystery #romance

**This post contains Amazon affiliate links which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commision on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. This commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.**

Title: Her Family Secret

Author: Melissa Wiesner

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: May 17, 2021

Page Count: 292

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

What if the father you never knew, left behind a heartbreaking secret?

June Westwood is devastated by the news the father she never met has died. Now the truth about why Jasper abandoned her as a child will be buried forever. Escaping to the secluded beach house she’s inherited, June hopes to spend time bonding with her two little daughters, away from her hectic job and failing marriage.

On the wild shores of the Pacific Northwest, her father’s hideaway leaves June breathless. But it’s his oil paintings decorating every wall that surprise her most. How could someone paint other people so beautifully, but reject those closest to him? And why is every drawer in her father’s workshop locked? June hopes her new neighbor—her father’s apprentice Caleb—will provide the answers. But Caleb won’t talk about the past.

Then, hidden in her father’s workshop, June discovers a box of newspaper clippings that reveal the shocking reason why her father left years ago—and uncovers Caleb’s own devastating secret…

When her old life comes calling, June has an impossible decision to make. Unsure what’s best for her girls, and if she can trust Caleb, will digging deeper into her father’s dark past heal or destroy her precious family?

An absolutely heartbreaking and emotional page-turner about the incredible strength of family bonds, how we can hurt those closest to us, and the healing power of love. Fans of Diane Chamberlain, Kerry Lonsdale and Kerry Fisher will devour this powerful read from award-winning author Melissa Wiesner.

Her Family Secret by Melissa Wiesner is a women’s fiction novel with a little romance, a little mystery and a whole lot of heart. The story in Her Family Secret is one that is told by changing the point of view between the characters to give both perspectives in the story.

June Westwood and her two sisters grew up with their mother never having known who their father was or why he wasn’t in their lives. One day out of the blue June gets a phone call informing her that her father was a famous artist and he has now passed away naming her and her sisters in his will.

After some problems in her life June packs up her daughters and heads to Wishing Cove where her father had lived along with her sisters. The women all wonder what it was that kept the man out of their lives and hope that his artistic protege, Caleb, will have the answers that they seek.

Her Family Secret by Melissa Wiesner was an engaging read that easily pulled me into the story. There were plenty of secrets to uncover from the past and the present and I certainly enjoyed the ride to figure it all out. The characters all had their struggles and grew within the pages which was great to see. Would definitely read this author again in the future.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online:

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Melissa Wiesner is a night-owl who began writing novels about five years ago when her early-to-bed family retired for the evening. She is the author of HER FAMILY SECRET and THE GIRL IN THE PICTURE published by Bookouture/Hachette Publishing. Her awards include the 2019 RWA Golden Heart® in the Mainstream Fiction Category. Melissa holds two Master’s Degrees in Public Health and Community Agency Counseling. Her day job is in Social Work where she often encounters people knocked down by hard times but who pick themselves up and keep going, just like the characters of her novels. Melissa lives in Pittsburgh, PA with her charming husband and two adorable children.

Website / Twitter / Facebook

4 Comments on “Her Family Secret by Melissa Wiesner #bookreview #womansfiction #mystery #romance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: