The Rumor Game by Dhonielle Clayton, Sona Charaipotra #bookreview #YA #thriller

**This post contains Amazon affiliate links which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commision on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. This commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.**

Title: The Rumor Game

Author: Dhonielle Clayton, Sona Charaipotra

Publisher:   Disney-Hyperion

Publication Date: March 1, 2022

Page Count: 480

My rating: 3 stars

About the book:

All it takes is one spark to start a blaze.

At Foxham Prep, a posh private school for the children of DC’s elite, a single rumor has the power to ruin a life.

Nobody knows that better than Bryn. She used to have it all―the perfect boyfriend, a bright future in politics, and even popularity thanks to her best friend, cheer captain Cora. Then one mistake sparked a scandal that burned it all to the ground.

Now it’s the start of a new school year and the spotlight has shifted: It’s geeky Georgie, newly hot after a summer makeover, whose name is on everyone’s lips. When a rumor ignites, Georgie rockets up the school’s social hierarchy, pitting her and Cora against each other. It grants her Foxham stardom . . . but it also makes her a target.

As the rumors grow and morph, blazing like wildfire through the school’s social media, all three girls’ lives begin to unravel. But one person close to the drama has the power to stop the gossip in its tracks. The question is―do they even want to?

From Dhonielle Clayton and Sona Charaipotra, authors of the Tiny Pretty Things duology (now a Netflix series), comes another edge-of-your-seat social thriller perfect for fans of We Were Liars and Cruel Summer.

The Rumor Game by Dhonielle Clayton and Sona Charaipotra is a young adult thriller novel that is set in an elite private school. The story in The Rumor Game is one that is told by changing the point of view between the characters to give all sides of the story.

Foxham Prep is a private school located in Washington DC where the children of the area’s elite attend. Bryn used to be a queen of the school thanks to her best friend,, Cora, until a rumor brought her crashing down. This year Bryn is hoping for it to all be forgotten when a new girl, Georgie, becomes the focus of the Foxham Prep’s rumor mill.

When finished with The Rumor Game by Dhonielle Clayton and Sona Charaipotra I was left with a feeling of wanting a bit more which seems odd with the length of the novel. It just seemed to me that I had trouble connecting with the characters and becoming fully invested in the story wanting more out of it. There were some things that seemed repetitive and felt as it it could have cut back on which may have improved the flow but overall I just felt this one was just an OK read in my opinion.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online:

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the authors:

Dhonielle Clayton is the New York Times best-selling author of the Belles series, The Mirror: Shattered Midnight, and the coauthor of Blackout and the Tiny Pretty Things duology, now a Netflix original series. She hails from the Washington, DC, suburbs on the Maryland side. She taught secondary school for several years, and is a former elementary and middle school librarian. She is COO of the non-profit We Need Diverse Books, and president of Cake Creative, an IP story kitchen dedicated to diverse representation. She’s an avid traveler, and always on the hunt for magic and mischief.

Sona Charaipotra is the author of Symptoms of a Heartbreak and How Maya Got Fierce, and coauthor of the Tiny Pretty Things duology, now a Netflix original series. She earned her master’s in screenwriting from NYU and an MFA in creative writing from the New School. A working journalist, Sona has held editorial roles at PeopleTeenPeople, ABCNews.com, MSN, and most recently, the Barnes & Noble Teen Blog (RIP), and contributed to publications from the New York Times to TeenVogue. She is a former We Need Diverse Books board member, and co-founder of CAKE Literary, a boutique book packager focused on high-concept diverse titles. Find her on the web talking about books, Bollywood movies, and chai.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: