Gallant by Victoria Schwab #bookreview #YA #horror #fantasy #paranormal

**This post contains Amazon affiliate links which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commision on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. This commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.**

Title: Gallant

Author: Victoria Schwab

Publisher:   Greenwillow Books

Publication Date: March 1, 2022

Page Count: 330

My rating: 3 1/2 stars

About the book:

Everything casts a shadow. Even the world we live in. And as with every shadow, there is a place where it must touch. A seam, where the shadow meets its source.

#1 New York Times–bestselling author V. E. Schwab weaves a dark and original tale about the place where the world meets its shadow, and the young woman beckoned by both sides. The Secret Garden meets Crimson Peak in this stand-alone novel perfect for readers of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman.

Olivia Prior has grown up in Merilance School for Girls, and all she has of her past is her mother’s journal—which seems to unravel into madness. Then, a letter invites Olivia to come home to Gallant. Yet when Olivia arrives, no one is expecting her. But Olivia is not about to leave the first place that feels like home; it doesn’t matter if her cousin Matthew is hostile, or if she sees half-formed ghouls haunting the hallways.

Olivia knows that Gallant is hiding secrets, and she is determined to uncover them. When she crosses a ruined wall at just the right moment, Olivia finds herself in a place that is Gallant—but not. The manor is crumbling, the ghouls are solid, and a mysterious figure rules over all. Now Olivia sees what has unraveled generations of her family, and where her father may have come from.

Olivia has always wanted to belong somewhere, but will she take her place as a Prior, protecting our world against the Master of the House? Or will she take her place beside him?

New York Times–bestselling author V. E. Schwab crafts a vivid and lush novel that grapples with the demons that are often locked behind closed doors. An eerie, stand-alone saga about life, death, and the young woman beckoned by both. Readers of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, Melissa Albert, and Garth Nix will quickly lose themselves in this novel with crossover appeal for all ages.

Gallant by Victoria Schwab is a young adult horror story dealing in the paranormal. Despite Schwab being a huge author this was my first attempt at her writing and I was curious to see if I would enjoy it.

After Olivia Prior lost her mother she was sent to Merilance School for Girls were every day felt like survival. Olivia did not make friends at Merilance and was often picked on as she did not speak. Olivia also held a secret the others did not know, that she could see the dead around them. One day a letter arrives at Merilance beckoning Olivia home to family she did not know existed, home to Gallant.

Gallant by Victoria Schwab was a slow moving story which can often be a turn off for me but for this one I didn’t mind quite as much. With this book I felt the author did a good job making it just dark and foreboding enough to keep my interest as the story progressed. The real action takes place towards the end of this with the gothic dark vibes holding one over until then. Overall I found myself rating this one at three and a half stars with an interest still in reading more from this author.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online:

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

VICTORIA “V. E.” SCHWAB is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than twenty books, including the acclaimed Shades of Magic series, the Villains series, the Cassidy Blake series and the international bestseller The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue. Her work has received critical acclaim, translated into over two dozen languages, and optioned for television and film. First Kill – a YA vampire series based on Schwab’s short story of the same name – is currently in the works at Netflix with Emma Roberts’ Belletrist Productions producing. When she’s not haunting Paris streets or trudging up English hillsides, she lives in Edinburgh, Scotland, and is usually tucked in the corner of a coffee shop, dreaming up monsters.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: