Aunt Ivy’s Cottage (Dune Island #2) by Kristin Harper #bookreview #contemporary #romance

**This post contains Amazon affiliate links which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commision on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. This commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.**

Title: Aunt Ivy’s Cottage

Author: Kristin Harper

Publisher:   Bookouture 

Publication Date: December 7, 2020

Page Count: 328

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

Clearing out the attic, Zoey opens the carved trunk and smiles as she picks up the small, leather-bound diary hiding inside. Curious, she leafs through the pages, and realises this will change everything…

All Zoey’s happiest childhood memories are of her great-aunt Ivy’s rickety cottage on Dune Island, snuggling up with hot chocolate and hearing Ivy’s stories about being married to a sea captain. Now, heartbroken from a breakup, Zoey escapes back to the island, but is shocked to find her elderly aunt’s spark fading. Worse, her cousin—next in line to inherit the house—is pushing Ivy to move into a nursing home.

With the family clashing over what’s best for Ivy, Zoey is surprised when Nick, a local carpenter and Ivy’s neighbor, takes her side. As Zoey finds comfort in his sea-blue eyes and warm laugh, the two grow close. Together, they make a discovery in the attic that links the family to the mysterious and reclusive local lighthouse keeper…

Now Zoey has a heartbreaking choice to make. Nick’s urging her to share the discovery, which could keep Ivy in the house she’s loved her whole life… but when Zoey learns that Nick and her cousin go way back, she questions if the man she‘s starting to have feelings for really has Ivy’s best interests at heart. Will dredging up this old secret destroy the peace and happiness of Ivy’s final years—and tear this family apart for good?

A stunning and emotional read about old secrets, new love and never forgetting the importance of family. Perfect for fans of Mary Ellen Taylor, Robyn Carr and Mary Alice Monroe.

Aunt Ivy’s Cottage by Kristin Harper is the second book in the contemporary romance Dune Island series. As with a lot of romance series the Dune Island series has the setting as the common theme and had a new set of main characters in each book so they can be read as s standalone or in any order if choosing to do so.

Zoey’s happy place growing up was her Aunt’s Ivy’s home on Dune Island and now she is returning to that very place. Moving in with her Aunt Ivy Zoey overhears her cousin Mark making plans to move Aunt Ivy out of her home as he is next in line to inherit so Zoey knows she will do anything to stop that from happening. While living in the homed with Ivy Zoey meets Nick, a handyman, and the two grow close as Zoey tries to come up with a plan to stop Mark.

Aunt Ivy’s Cottage by Kristin Harper was a nice little story albeit not without a couple of flaws along the way. To me I felt this one could have contained a bit more romance than there was along the way and I also felt that the ending could have been smoothed out a bit more as it felt rushed. However, despite those things I still enjoyed my time back in Dune Island in the second book of the series and getting to know Zoey and her family.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online:

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Kristin Harper is a full-time author of romance novels and women’s fiction, including Summer at Hope Haven. She lives in Massachusetts and considers beach walking to be an essential part of her creative process. 

Website / Twitter

2 Comments on “Aunt Ivy’s Cottage (Dune Island #2) by Kristin Harper #bookreview #contemporary #romance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: