Midnight in Everwood by M.A. Kuzniar #bookreview #fantasy #retelling #historical

Title: Midnight in Everwood

Author: M.A. Kuzniar

Publisher:  HQ 

Publication Date: January 25, 2022

Page Count: 384

My rating: 3 stars

About the book:

In the darkness of night, magic awaits…

The Nutcracker for adults, perfect for fans of Robert Dinsdale’s The Toymakers, Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus and Stephanie Garber’s Caraval

’It was a rainy day that the magic came, and once magic has entered your life, you stay in its glittering clutch forever’

Nottingham, 1906

Marietta Stelle longs to be a ballerina but as Christmas draws nearer, her dancing days are numbered. At the wishes of her family, she will be obligated to marry and take up her place in society in the New Year. But when a mysterious toymaker, Dr Drosselmeier, purchases a neighbouring townhouse, it heralds the arrival of magic and wonder in her life. Although Drosselmeier’s magic is darker than Marietta could have imagined…

When he constructs an elaborate theatrical set for her final ballet performance, Marietta discovers it carries a magic all of its own. As the clock chimes midnight, Marietta finds herself walking through a land of snow-topped fir trees leading to a frozen sugar palace silent with secrets and must find a way to return home.

In the darkness of night, magic awaits and you will never forget what you find here…

Midnight in Everwood by M.A. Kuzniar is a adult historical fantasy retelling of The Nutcracker. The first thing I would point out though that although this is meant to be adult it did feel to me like a young adult fantasy.

Marietta Stelle loves nothing other than to dance ballet but Marietta’s parent have other things in mind for their daughter. Marietta’s parents want her to find a husband and give up her dreams of dance becoming a proper member of Edwardian society.

When the mysterious Dr Drosselmeier  moves into a neighboring home Marietta’s family is won over by him. Dr Drosselmeier  constructs an elaborate set for Marietta’s final ballet performance which is enchanted with magic and transports Marietta to a snowy forest where Marietta catches the eye of King Gelum who claims her as his own.

Midnight in Everwood to me was the type of novel that I found myself transported right into the story but soon found that I wanted more than what I was finding. The world building was great but the story seemed to go at a rather slow pace spending half of the novel on things already known to the read in the book’s description and still with the slow pace leaving me feeling that it didn’t go as deep into the characters as I would have expected. Perhaps I just build this up to much but in the end I could only say it was an OK read.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online:

Goodreads  /   Amazon*

About the author:

M.A. Kuzniar spent six years living in Spain, teaching English and travelling the world which inspired her children’s series The Ship of Shadows. Her adult debut novel Midnight in Everwood was inspired by her love of ballet and love of The Nuctracker. She lives in Nottingham with her husband, where she reads and writes as much as can and bookstagrams @cosyreads.

*This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commission on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. This commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

4 Comments on “Midnight in Everwood by M.A. Kuzniar #bookreview #fantasy #retelling #historical

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: