Twelve Days to Save Christmas by Elizabeth Neep #bookreview #contemporary #romance #holiday #Christmas

Title: Twelve Days to Save Christmas

Author: Elizabeth Neep

Publisher:  Bookouture

Publication Date: October 19, 2021

Page Count: 324

My rating: 3 stars

About the book:

On the first day of Christmas, my true love… dumped me.

Poppy loves Christmas and always goes all out to make this magical time of the year extra special for her boyfriend George. But George is strangely not in the Yuletide spirit this year. As Poppy wrestles him into her Christmas jumper built for two for a holiday snapshot, she finds out why.

He’s leaving her. With only twelve days to spend together until Christmas.

Poppy is heartbroken. George is the love of her life, and what would Christmas be without kisses under the mistletoe, his mum’s delicious homemade gingerbread or their super-competitive games of Pictionary?

She’s determined to win George back. So, anxious to prove to him she can be spontaneous, she signs up as a Christmas volunteer at the local community centre. What she doesn’t know is that there’s a festive surprise coming her way…

As Poppy throws herself into her new role – mulling vats of hot cider and hanging fairy lights off everything within reach – she discovers an inner strength she never knew she had. And there’s also Theo. Her new boss. Grumpy and opinionated, he’s everything she doesn’t want.

But as the snow starts to fall, she begins to notice other things about him – like his twinkling green eyes, how he makes her laugh, and how much he cares about the people he’s trying to help.

As the twelfth day approaches, Poppy might be about to discover that the most perfect Christmas might be the one that she didn’t plan at all…

Fans of One Day in December, Beth O’Leary and Mhairi McFarlane will be completely enchanted by this witty and warm festive story about friendship, love and finding yourself.

Twelve Days to Save Christmas by Elizabeth Neep is a contemporary romance that is of course set during the Christmas holiday season. The romance side of this is the character trying to save her romance which turns into a tale of self discovery too.

Poppy has been in a relationship with her boyfriend, George, for five years now and is planning a wonderful Christmas with George’s family. However, George tells Poppy he just isn’t happy and wants to end their relationship right before the holidays which gives Poppy twelve days to change George’s mind and save their Christmas.

Twelve Days to Save Christmas by Elizabeth Neep was a humorous Christmas story. I’m not overly a fan of chasing down a boyfriend so I went into this one a bit on the hesitant side with maybe a couple of eye rolls here and there. However, I did for the most part enjoy the humor and definitely enjoyed the character growth along the way which made this one for an alright read in the end for me.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online:

Goodreads  /   Amazon*

About the author:

Elizabeth Neep studied Law and Australian Law (University of Nottingham, University of New South Wales) before getting into publishing, where she now works as a senior commissioning editor for an independent press. She has written features for numerous publications including Cosmopolitan, Dazed Digital and PETRIe, is a trustee for a mental health charity and draws and paints in her spare time. She can usually be found with a flat white or glass of wine in hand around her home in London Bridge.

*This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commission on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. This commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: