The Lost Girls of Ireland (Starlight Cottages #1) by Susanne O’Leary

Title: The Lost Girls of Ireland

Author: Susanne O’Leary

Publisher:  Bookouture 

Publication Date: May 5, 2021

Page Count: 286

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

A heart-warming story about family secrets and one woman’s escape to dreamy Sandy Cove on the stunning west coast of Ireland.

The picturesque beach of Wild Rose Bay is the last place Lydia Butler thought she’d be. But having just lost everything, the run-down cottage she inherited from her Great Aunt Nellie is the only place she can take her daughter, Sunny. Hidden away in a tiny Irish village, she can protect Sunny from the gossip in Dublin, and the real reason they have nowhere else to live…

The cottage is part of the old coastguard station and other eccentric residents are quick to introduce themselves when Lydia arrives. Lydia instantly feels less alone, fascinated by the stories they have about Nellie, and she’s charmed by American artist, Jason O’Callaghan, the mysterious man who lives next door.

But the longer Lydia relaxes under the moonlit sky, the more the secret she’s keeping from Sunny threatens to come out. And as she finds herself running into Jason’s arms, she knows she must be honest and face up to the past she has tried to forget. Has she finally found people who will truly accept her, or will the truth force her to leave the cottage for good?

Will transport you to Ireland to relax on the shore and stare at the perfect emerald waters. The Lost Girls of Ireland is perfect for readers of Debbie Macomber, Sheila O’Flanagan and Mary Alice Monroe.

The Lost Girls of Ireland by Susanne O’Leary is the first book in the contemporary romance Starlight Cottages series. While this is the first book of a new series it also is a spin off to the contemporary romance Sandy Cove series with the Starlight Cottages being near Sandy Cove.

Of course both of these contemporary romance series have the location of the series being what tie the books together which each new book having new main characters so they all can be read as a standalone or in any order if choosing to do so. However there are glimpses of previous characters for anyone following the entire series from the beginning.

Lydia Butler has just found out that her husband had been involved in some shady dealings before he passed away leaving her and her daughter with practically nothing. Lydia did still own a run down cottage left to her by a distant relative so she packs up their things and she and her daughter head to Wild Rose Bay. Fortunately for Lydia she finds some wonderful neighbors and townsfolk including Jason O’Callaghan who is now her new neighbor.

I have been reading Susanne O’Leary’s books for quite a while now and have read the entire Sandy Cove series and really enjoyed it. The quaint setting on the beautiful coast of Ireland kept calling me back time and time again to meet all the lovely characters involved so I knew I would also enjoy this spin off series and thankfully i did. Watching these characters come together was a wonderful beginning to the new series and I’ll certainly be back for more.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online:

Goodreads  /   Amazon*

About the author:

Susanne O’Leary is the bestselling author of more than twenty novels, mainly in the romantic fiction genre. She has also written three crime novels and two in the historical fiction genre. She has been the wife of a diplomat (still is), a fitness teacher and a translator. She now writes full-time from either of two locations, a ramshackle house in County Tipperary, Ireland or a little cottage overlooking the Atlantic in Dingle, County Kerry. When she is not scaling the mountains of said counties, or keeping fit in the local gym, she keeps writing, producing a book every six months.

Visit Susanne at her Website / Blog / Facebook / Twitter

*This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commission on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. This commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

3 Comments on “The Lost Girls of Ireland (Starlight Cottages #1) by Susanne O’Leary

  1. Lovely review Carrie. I am always attracted to anything set in Ireland and would love to travel there one day. I have, I think, read one book by this author, which I enjoyed. Adding to my library list. ❤📚

    Like

  2. Terrific review Carrie. I read one of her Sandy Cove books and really enjoyed it. I need to read more of her books.

    Like

  3. I have not read anything by Susanne O’Leary and I think I am really missing out. I need to pick this one up to get in at the beginning of a new series. Wonderful review, Carrie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: