The Parents by Claire Seeber #bookreview #drama #mystery

Title: The Parents

Author: Claire Seeber

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: October 25, 2021

Page Count: 342

My rating: 2 stars

About the book:

The other parents all seem so perfect. But it’s not long before I realise: I should have never made friends with them…

I knew it wouldn’t be easy for my kids to adjust when we moved to a tiny village where they didn’t know a soul. But after the death of my husband, we needed a fresh start.

Suddenly, we’re outsiders. I know the only way we’ll be accepted is if I throw myself into my new life, so when my son joins a local club, I volunteer to help along with the other parents.

Before moving here, I didn’t know people like this really existed; their lives seem too perfect to be real. Although my own life couldn’t be more different, they welcome me into the fold. For the first time since my husband died, I feel like I made the right decision for my family…

That is until I overhear something that tells me these other parents aren’t as perfect as they seem. Something that turns my world upside down again.

My secret has already ruined my life once. I thought the truth had died with my husband… I should have known that it wouldn’t be buried for long.

A completely addictive page-turner about the secrets and lies hiding beneath seemingly perfect lives. Fans of Big Little Lies, Lisa Jewell and Louise Candlish will be absolutely hooked by this pacy read with a jaw-dropping twist you just won’t see coming.

The Parents by Claire Seeber is one of those books with a tagline that didn’t quite match up to what I found inside. This one is called an unputdownable, gripping domestic psychological thriller and I thought it more a drama with a touch of mystery. The story is one that is told by changing the point of view between the characters.

After losing her husband Alex decides to make the move from America back to England with her two children, Harry and Iris. The family moves to a quaint village into Primrose Cottage where Harry takes up playing soccer. Soon after this family dealing with their own tragic loss become involved in their new town someone begins leaking secrets of all those around them.

Claire Seeber was not a new author to me having read two previous books by her so I was fully expecting to go into this one and find myself completely engaged and loving the story. However, I actually ended up finding just the opposite of that when I couldn’t quite connect to the story or the characters. I normally love some drama and unearthing secrets and lies but somehow that wasn’t the case here and the mystery didn’t really seem compelling among the rest. Something just seemed off with this one to me but I’d still pick up another from the author in the future.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online:

Goodreads  /   Amazon*

About the author:

I’m a Londoner who, due to unforeseen circumstances, became a single mum to my boys, which has inspired a lot of my writing… before becoming a mother and a writer, I started professional life as a (bad) actress and then became a documentary maker, a journalist and a writer of, so far, psychological thrillers. The Washington Post said ‘The opening pages of LULLABY couldn’t be much better’; The Observer said of my first novel: ‘a disturbing debut’ whilst The Guardian called it ‘powerful’…I am also a qualified Gestalt therapist (as in psychotherapist) and I see clients alongside writing. In the downtime, I try (!) to manage a home of slightly feral teenagers and animals, along with my partner’s help: he’s a special needs teacher. I LOVE the theatre too, and have written a few plays, pursuing my love of all things dramatic. My main ambition is to move to the sea as soon as I can – all those positive atoms! NB I love America: I’ve been to New York a few times, to LA, San Fran, Miami (loved South Beach) & Oklahoma. There’s so much more to see though :). Also I was lucky enough to film 2 documentaries in Australia – spending 3 weeks in Melbourne which became, briefly, a home from home! My own website is http://www.claireseeber.com and you can find me on Twitter, Facebook and instagram as Claireseeberauthor …Thank you & Happy reading:)

*This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commission on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. This commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

4 Comments on “The Parents by Claire Seeber #bookreview #drama #mystery

  1. I have read other reviews from people who felt the same as you Carrie. This is on my TBR (ARC from NG) so I guess I will have to see what I think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: