The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward #bookreview #horror #thriller

Title: The Last House on Needless Street

Author: Catriona Ward

Publisher:  Tor Nightfire

Publication Date: September 28, 2021

Page Count:  326

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

Catriona Ward’s The Last House on Needless Street is a shocking and immersive read perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Haunting of Hill House.

In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three.

A teenage girl who isn’t allowed outside, not after last time.
A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory.
And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible.

An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried out among the birch trees may come back to haunt them all.

As a huge horror fan I’ve read a lot of horror and have seen a lot of horror movies so I honestly don’t pick up horror too often anymore with running across a lot of this is familiar feelings. However, when I saw that Stephen King was used to endorse this one I couldn’t help but be curious as he was always a favorite so I went ahead and picked this one up. At the point of actually picking this one up I’ve also noticed lots of my reader friends are enjoying this one too so I was excited to dive in and see what was the draw to this one.

One of the houses on Needless Street is occupied by Ted Bannerman. Ted lives in the old home with his daughter, Lauren, and his pet cat, Olivia. Ted keeps to himself and his daughter never leaves the house after that one time out. Now Ted is getting a new neighbor. Dee is moving into the house next to Ted still searching all these years later for answers to what happened to her little sister. Years ago Dee was distracted when she should have been watching her sister and the girl has not been seen since. Now Dee has her eye on Ted.

The Last House on Needless Street is the type of story that changes the point of view between several of the characters to tell the story. There are flashes back to the past from these characters helping build the story on how they are all linked together. The book got off to a slow start for me but it did pick up as the story went on. This one is a creepy but yet engaging read and once going it really did keep the pages turning waiting to see how it would all turn out and the best of all it really did surprise me in the direction this one took.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon*

About the author:

CATRIONA WARD was born in Washington, DC and grew up in the United States, Kenya, Madagascar, Yemen, and Morocco. She read English at St Edmund Hall, Oxford and is a graduate of the Creative Writing MA at the University of East Anglia.

‘The Last House on Needless Street’ (Viper Books, Tor Nightfire) was a Times Book of the Month, Observer Book of the Month, March Editor’s Pick on Open Book, a Between the Covers BBC2 book club selection, a Times bestseller, and is being developed for film by Andy Serkis’s production company, The Imaginarium.

‘Little Eve’ (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2018) won the 2019 Shirley Jackson Award and the August Derleth Prize for Best Horror Novel at the 2019 British Fantasy Awards, making her the only woman to have won the prize twice, and was a Guardian best book of 2018. Her debut Rawblood (W&N, 2015) won Best Horror Novel at the 2016 British Fantasy Awards, was shortlisted for the Author’s Club Best First Novel Award and a WHSmith Fresh Talent title. Her short stories have appeared in numerous anthologies. She lives in London and Devon.

*This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commission on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. That commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

3 Comments on “The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward #bookreview #horror #thriller

    • Thanks Sandy! I completely agree and I had to dig deep to write a spoiler free review on this one because you definitely can’t say too much.

      Like

  1. Great review Carrie and I agree with you, it was really hard to write a spoiler free review. I also agree with Sandy, it was a very strange story, one I enjoyed even though it was totally out of my comfort zone. Glad we all enjoyed it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: