The Couple Upstairs by Shalini Boland #bookreview #thriller

Title: The Couple Upstairs

Author: Shalini Boland

Publisher:  Bookouture

Publication Date: September 13, 2021

Page Count:  263

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

Our new home was supposed to be a chance to leave our past behind. But was moving here the worst mistake of our lives?

All our friends and family were gathered, glasses raised to toast our fresh start. It should have been a night for happiness and celebration. Zac and I had worked so hard for this: our first home together, just minutes from the sea. But the dream quickly turned into a nightmare…

We’d invited our neighbours too. I wanted to make a good impression – to show them we’re exactly the sort of people they want living on their street.

I hadn’t thought about who they might be, the strangers I was letting in.

It was going so well. There was laughter in the air and the wine was flowing. But then I noticed the narrowed eyes, the whispers.

And then the lights went out.

As my heart thumped in my chest, all the little things that had been going wrong since we moved here flashed through my mind: the food poisoning, the arguments, the flood of nasty reviews shaking my business.

Am I going crazy? Or is someone trying to destroy us?

From the USA Today bestselling author Shalini Boland comes an absolutely heart-thumping psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the TrainGone Girl and The Wife Between Us.

Shalini Boland is an author that I have been reading for several years now with The Couple Upstairs I believe being the ninth book of hers that I have read. A wonderful author of psychological thrillers with plenty of twists and turns I would find myself incredibly shocked to not enjoy one of her books and of course I did enjoy this one too.

The Couple Upstairs is aptly named with our protagonist, Nina, and her significant other, Zac, have moved into a new home in the ground floor and have found themselves with new neighbors upstairs, Chris and Vanessa. Nina does her best to be welcoming to the new neighbors and befriend them even inviting Vanessa to work part time in Nina’s new business adventure. However,  Nina keeps hearing things coming from upstairs and begins to have concerns.

One thing that I never fail to find picking up Shalini Boland’s books is a story that pulls me in from the opening pages and doesn’t want to let go. Of course another thing that I’ve come to expect is also questioning everything and just waiting for the twists to come. The story was fast paced and definitely thrilling as I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough to find out how it all tied together and what would happen in the end.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon*

About the author:

Shalini Boland is the million-copy, USA-Today bestselling author of thirteen psychological thrillers: ‘THE GIRL FROM THE SEA’, ‘THE BEST FRIEND’, ‘THE MILLIONAIRE’S WIFE’, ‘THE SECRET MOTHER’, ‘THE CHILD NEXT DOOR’, ‘THE SILENT SISTER’, ‘THE PERFECT FAMILY’, ‘THE MARRIAGE BETRAYAL’, ‘THE OTHER DAUGHTER’, ‘ONE OF US IS LYING’, ‘THE WIFE’ and ‘MY LITTLE GIRL’.

THE COUPLE UPSTAIRS is now available to pre-order!

Her titles are published by Bookouture, Grand Central Publishing and Tantor.

Shalini lives by the sea in Dorset, England with her husband, two teens and their cheeky dog, Jess. Before kids, she was signed to Universal Music Publishing as a singer/songwriter, but now she spends her days writing psychological thrillers (in between re-stocking the fridge and dealing with endless baskets of laundry).

She is also the author of two bestselling Young Adult series as well as a children’s WWII novel with a time-travel twist.

Be the first to hear about her new releases here: http://eepurl.com/b4vb45

http://www.facebook.com/ShaliniBolandAuthor
http://www.shaliniboland.co.uk

*This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commission on any purchase made through the link of the products I share. That commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

2 Comments on “The Couple Upstairs by Shalini Boland #bookreview #thriller

Leave a Reply to sandysbookaday Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: