The Liar Next Door by Nicola Marsh #bookreview #suspense #thriller

Title: The Liar Next Door

Author: Nicola Marsh

Publisher:  Bookouture

Publication Date: August 23, 2021

Page Count:  321

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

Numbness floods my body as I stumble up the steps leading to my house. Inside I know my five-year-old’s bed is empty, her dresser is ransacked, her overnight bag is gone. I can see her dolls lying untouched through the window of our perfect family home – in the place where I thought I could protect her forever. My daughter is missing.

You’d think my first instinct would be to call the police.

But I know who’s taken my daughter.

And I know that the police can’t help me.

Only I can convince the woman who has my baby to give her back. She thinks she knows my secrets… but she has no idea.

Fans of Liane Moriarty, Sally Hepworth and The Girl on the Train will love this utterly unputdownable domestic thriller from USA Today bestselling author Nicola Marsh.

The Liar Next Door by Nicola Marsh is sort of domestic suspense that slowly builds into a domestic thriller. The story in this one is told from multiple points of view switching between them with each chapter and also having some instances of diving into the past.

This story is one of three neighbors, Frankie, Celeste, and Saylor. The three women become friends in their neighborhood but each has their own secrets they aren’t sharing with their neighbors. Frankie, the perfect housewife and mother, has made a career on social media portraying that image. Celeste, the new neighbor who is hiding from her past. Saylor, the expectant mother to be with a loving husband.

The first thing I would say about this book is don’t pay any attention to the book blurb. I’ve actually seen two different ones for this book and neither really make much sense to me having read the story. I’m the type of reader that I add a book to my TBR and by the time I actually get to reading that one I’ve forgotten anything I may have read about it and that worked for me in this case.

Just know that if you like secrets, lies and of course some “perfect” people that are as far from perfect that you can find then this one might be for you. The story was the type that progresses at a decent pace then picks up the further you dive into the juicy details. It was suspenseful and engaging and as the twists came along it definitely kept me entertained.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon**

About the author:

USA TODAY bestselling & multi-award winning author Nicola Marsh writes page-turning fiction to keep you up all night.

She has published 77 books, sold over 8 million copies worldwide and been translated into 25 languages.
She currently writes contemporary romance for Penguin Random House Berkley, women’s fiction/rural romance for Harper Collins Australia’s Mira imprint, and domestic suspense for Hachette UK’s Bookouture/Grand Central Publishing in the US.

She’s also a Waldenbooks, Bookscan, Amazon, iBooks and Barnes & Noble bestseller, a Romantic Book of the Year and National Readers’ Choice Award winner, and a multiple finalist for awards including the Vivian Awards, Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award, HOLT Medallion, Booksellers’ Best, Golden Quill, Laurel Wreath, and More than Magic.

A physiotherapist for 13 years, she now adores writing full time, raising her two dashing young heroes, sharing fine food with family and friends, barracking loudly for her beloved North Melbourne Kangaroos footy team, and her favourite, curling up with a good book!

**This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commision on any purchase made through the link of the products I share and that commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

12 Comments on “The Liar Next Door by Nicola Marsh #bookreview #suspense #thriller

    • Thanks Kim! I did have the thought I have been doing the same with this something happening in the neighborhood theme but the books really have been different whether they sound the same or not.🤣

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Excellent review Carrie. I looked at this and didn’t request because it sounded so similar to others I had read. I read the blurb, mostly when I request them, but I don’t read it again before I start the book. I like to go in cold. ❤📚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Sandy! I totally get that, I was just thinking the other day that I feel like I am picking up very similar books lately. And yes, that’s how I do it with so many to choose from I basically look at publication dates to make my next choice on what to read and have forgotten the blurbs by then.🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Me too. And I always intend to go back and read the ones I’ve missed . . . But, my requesting finger is totally out of control and I never seem to have gaps for older books. 🤷‍♀️🤦‍♀️❤📚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I usually only break down and pick up older ones when I’m doing a Goodread challenge that they work for and none of my NG will. And since I don’t do the challenges often trying to concentrate on my NG you see how that works out.🤣

      Liked by 1 person

        • My one big challenge I am completely addicted to joining is Turf Wars in the Game Night group on Goodreads. For that one the whole point is to read as much as you can as fast as you can for points so it actually gets me reading even more than I normally do. The points of course are based on tasks with more going to harder ones but any books will get some points so I can still do my Netgalley.😀

          Liked by 1 person

            • Usually a couple of months but exact times varies by how the rounds are set up. It’s supposed to be starting again in Oct so I’m expecting it will probably go to the end of the year if it does go on time. Hopefully that will really give me a kick in the rear to read like crazy.😃

              Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad to hear that this one is a bit different from others that sound similar. I have this one and haven’t gotten to it yet, so thanks for the reminder. Nice review.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Carla! There really is a run on neighborhood thrillers out there right now but they seem to all be different stories so I’m all for it.🤣

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: