Home Sweet Home by Nicole Trope #bookreview #thriller

Title: Home Sweet Home

Author: Nicole Trope

Publisher:  Bookouture

Publication Date: August 6, 2021

Page Count:  224

My rating: 3 1/2 stars

About the book:

Sometimes, the most perfect families are hiding the most terrible secrets. How well do you know the people next door…?

Everybody wants to live on Hogarth Street, the pretty, tree-lined avenue with its white houses. The new family, The Wests, are a perfect fit. Katherine and Josh seem so in love and their gorgeous five-year-old twins race screeching around their beautiful emerald-green lawn.

But soon people start to notice: why don’t they join backyard barbecues? Why do they brush away offers to babysit? Why, when you knock at the door, do they shut you out, rather than inviting you in?

Every family has secrets, and on the hottest day of the year, the truth is about to come out. As a tragedy unfolds behind closed doors, the dawn chorus is split by the wail of sirens. And one by one the families who tried so hard to welcome the Wests begin to realise: Hogarth Street will never be the same again.

A completely gripping, twist-packed psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Sally Hepworth and Lisa Jewell.

Home Sweet Home by Nicole Trope is a psychological thriller novel. The story in this one is told from multiple points of view as a hostage situation is unfolding in a quiet neighborhood.

One day on Hogarth Street neighbor Gladys notices that the house next door seems overly quiet. The West family consists of Katherine and John and their five year old twins who are never this quiet in the mornings. Gladys don’t want to interfere but she begins to keep an eye on their house.

Logan is beginning his day as a delivery driver when he pulls up to the quiet home on Hogarth Street. The box Logan takes to the door seems to be a computer and needs to be signed for so he patiently waits an answer at the door. When a lady does answer she refuses to open the door and seems off to Logan so as he goes about the rest of his day he can’t forget the home on Hogarth Street.

I have read a couple of other books by Nicole Trope so I figured once I picked this one up I would have trouble putting it down and sure enough that was the case yet again. This author just has a way of pulling you in and making those pages fly by. It seems though I always find something to nitpick when it comes to  her thrillers with this time being that I found some of the twists to be a bit over the top. As much as I love some great twisty endings I don’t want them to be something that seems harder for it to really happen than picking winning lotto numbers. I think this one would probably have been a lot higher than my three and a half stars if only things weren’t forced together a bit too much in my mind.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon **

About the author:

Nicole Trope went to university to study Law but realised the error of her ways when she did very badly on her first law essay because-as her professor pointed out- ‘It’s not meant to be a story.’ She studied teaching instead and used her holidays to work on her writing career and complete a Masters’ degree in Children’s Literature.
The idea for her first published novel, The Boy under the Table, was so scary that it took a year for her to find the courage to write the emotional story. She went on to publish a further five novels in Australia before joining Bookouture in 2019. She is a USA Today and Amazon bestseller in the USA, UK, AUS and CAN.
She lives in Sydney with her husband and three children

**This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commision on any purchase made through the link of the products I share and that commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

12 Comments on “Home Sweet Home by Nicole Trope #bookreview #thriller

  1. Great review Carrie. I agree, I have a hard time putting her books down. I have this one coming up for a blog tour, so will be getting to it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review. I loved this line you wrote: “don’t want them to be something that seems harder for it to really happen than picking winning lotto numbers.” Made me LOL! But, it also lets me know what I’m in for if I read this book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Wendy! I debated on how to say it was far fetched it could all happen that way without using the term far fetched.😂😇

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I got the email and of course it’s again right after I’ve posted the review. One of these days I’ll learn my lesson with Bookouture since it seems more often than not a title ends up changed.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: