Midnight Beauties (Grim Lovelies #2) by Megan Shepherd #bookreview #YA #fantasy #Paranormal #romance

Title: Midnight Beauties

Author: Megan Shepherd

Publisher:  HMH Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: August 13, 2019

Page Count:  449

My rating: 3 stars

About the book:

The witches, beasties, goblins, and Royals return in this spellbinding conclusion to New York Times best-selling author Megan Shepherd’s Grim Lovelies duology. 

Ever since she discovered her affinity for magic, seventeen-year-old Anouk has been desperate to become a witch. It’s the only way to save her friends who, like Anouk, are beasties: animals enchanted into humans. But unlike Anouk, the other beasties didn’t make it out of the battle at Montélimar in one piece.

With her friends now trapped in their animal forms, Anouk is forced into a sinister deal involving a political marriage with her sworn enemy, a wicked plot to overthrow London’s fiercest coven of witches, and a deadly trial of fire to become a witch. The price for power has always been steep in the world of the Haute. Now, it will cost Anouk everything.

Wicked and delightful, this spellbinding sequel and conclusion to Grim Lovelies is perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince and The Hazelwood Wood.

Midnight Beauties by Megan Shepherd is the second and final book in the young adult fantasy Grim Lovelies duology. As with most fantasy novels this is a continuation of the story set in the first book so it’s best to read them in order of publication to fully understand. This second book picks up shortly after the ending of the first book and continues the story from that point.

The Grim Lovelies duology introduces readers to a world in which there are Pretties and Beasties. Pretties are the upper class in the world free to do as they wish and lavish themselves in all the best. Beasties are not quite human and meant for a life of servitude. The protagonist of the tale is a Beastie, Anouk, who had one day found her mistress murdered in a pool of blood. Anouk and her fellow Beasties had gone on the run to find the murderer.

Being that the books of this young adult fantasy duology are rather lengthy it’s not surprising to me that I found them a bit slow paced overall when reading them. The story was one that was just interesting enough that I went ahead and finished the series after finding the first book a bit so-so. The second book focuses a tad bit more on the romance side of the fantasy than the first book did. I didn’t mind that really although others might but for me I still found myself just interested enough in the story to want to finish but still not overly wow’ed leaving the series at a solid three stars.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon **

About the author:

New York Times bestselling author Megan Shepherd grew up in her family’s independent bookstore in the Blue Ridge Mountains. She is the author of many acclaimed young adult and middle grade novels. She now lives and writes on a 125-year-old farm outside Asheville, North Carolina, with her husband and children, an especially scruffy dog, and a few ghosts.

**This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commision on any purchase made through the link of the products I share and that commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

2 Comments on “Midnight Beauties (Grim Lovelies #2) by Megan Shepherd #bookreview #YA #fantasy #Paranormal #romance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: