Hop ‘Til You Drop (Jules & Bun Mystery #3) by J.M. Griffin #bookreview #mystery

Title: Hop ‘Til You Drop

Author: J.M. Griffin

Publisher:  Kensington

Publication Date: February 23, 2021

Page Count:  288

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

In the third installment of J.M. Griffin’s series starring rabbit rescue owner Jules Bridge and her telepathic rabbit Bun, when an Easter egg hunt becomes a crime scene, it’s up to the pair to crack the case…

Juliette “Jules” Bridge is devoted to rabbit rescue and rehabilitation on her beloved Fur Bridge Farm in rural New Hampshire, but she also likes to do volunteer work wherever and whenever she can. This spring she’s offered to help hide painted eggs at the Hop ‘Til You Drop Easter egg hunt–and of course she’s bringing along her black-and-white rabbit, Bun. In fact, he insists on it. Jules knows, because Bun communicates with her telepathically…

But their egg hiding is disrupted by a hare-raising scene: their unpleasant supervisor, Della Meany, lies peacefully on the grass with stems of Lily of the Valley on her chest, surrounded by garishly decorated Easter eggs. Is someone sending a message by staging the corpse? As they begin to examine the crime scene, Jules spots a tall, two-legged rabbit fleeing into the woods. Perhaps late for an important date? If their prime suspect is a person in an Easter Bunny costume, it seems a safe bet the killer is a real basket case. Jules and Bun will need to put their heads together–because the hunt is on…

Hop ‘Til You Drop by J.M. Griffin is the third book of the cozy Jules & Bun Mystery series. While this series mainly falls into the cozy mystery genre it does have a touch of fantasy to it in the fact it has a talking bunny helping the protagonist solve crime. As with most cozy series each book in this series will contain it’s own mystery that will be solved within the book so they all may be read as a standalone or in any order if choosing to do so. There will be some character building that carries over from book to book for those that follow the series from the beginning.

In the first book of the series, Left Fur Dead, readers were introduced to Juliette “Jules” Bridge who is the owner of Fur Bridge Farm in New Hampshire which she has lovingly turned into a rescue for rabbits. Jules is willing to take on any rabbit needing her care and rehabilitates those injured or abused.While Jules tends to all those in her care she does share a special connection with one particular bunny named Bun. When Jules first took in Bun she didn’t think it was possible but Bun is able to speak with Jules telepathically. 

Jules and Bun have been working well together solving the murders in their small town without anyone else knowing Bun can communicate with Jules. This time around Jules and Bun are participating in the town’s annual Easter egg hunt enjoying their day when they happen upon the body of Della Meany, the supervisor for the egg hunt. As Jules looks around after finding the body she sees someone fleeing in an Easter Bunny costume. With another murderer on the loose Jules and Bun are back to investigating the crime.

I have been following the Jules & Bun mystery series since the beginning as I found that it was one of those quirky and comedic cozies that I always enjoy the most. I absolutely love that one of the main characters focusing on in this series is a cute and cuddly rabbit who loves putting his nose into the investigations but of course I also enjoy the main character, Jules, too. I’d definitely recommend this series to those who like myself love a bit of a twist to a normal cozy mystery genre read.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

With her books sold worldwide, J.M. Griffin is one of today’s popular women sleuths authors.

J.M. is known best for her Vinnie Esposito series. The series, set in Rhode Island, the smallest state in the USA, is brought to life by a colorful cast of characters. Every novel has a blend of humor, mystery, and romance. J.M.’s upcoming novel in the series, Down Dirty Dead, is the sixth in the Esposito series.

Stepping away from Rhode Island’s scenery, J.M. has set the novel Faerie Cake Dead on the coast of Maine. Filled with humor, faeries, sweet cupcakes, murder and a yummy hero, the villain is someone you least expect.

J.M.’s latest release, The Cadence Caper, takes place on the west coast of Florida in the Sarasota area. This cozy mystery has a unique cast of characters, a sexy hero, and a psychic heroin and it’s the second book in the Sarah McDougall Series.

J.M., her husband, and two wacky cats reside in a countryside village in western Rhode Island, where life is anything but mundane.

2 Comments on “Hop ‘Til You Drop (Jules & Bun Mystery #3) by J.M. Griffin #bookreview #mystery

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: