Little Creeping Things by Chelsea Ichaso #bookreview #YA #thriller

Title: Little Creeping Things

Author: Chelsea Ichaso

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Publication Date: June 2, 2020

Page Count: 336

My rating:  4 stars

About the book:

A compulsively readable debut with a narrator you just can’t trust, perfect for fans of Natasha Preston.

As a child, Cassidy Pratt accidentally started a fire that killed her neighbor. At least, that’s what she’s been told. She can’t remember anything from that day. She’s pretty sure she didn’t mean to do it. She’s a victim too. But her town’s bullies, particularly the cruel and beautiful Melody Davenport, have never let her live it down. In Melody’s eyes, Cassidy is a murderer and always will be.

When Cassidy overhears what sounded like an abduction and Melody goes missing, Cassidy knows she should go to the cops, but… She recently joked about how much she’d like to get rid of Melody. She even planned out the perfect way to do it. It’s up to Cassidy to figure out what really happened, because if she comes forward without a suspect, she knows people will point fingers at her. Again. And she can’t let that happen.

But the truth behind Melody’s disappearance will set the whole town ablaze.

my-review_43_orig

Little Creeping Things by Chelsea Ichaso is a young adult thriller with an unreliable narrator. This one would be for the fans of did she or didn’t she or one in which you just don’t know who to trust.

Cassidy Pratt is now a teenager but when she was little she had been saved from a fire that she herself had started. That moment in Cassidy’s life was forever marked in tragedy as another child died which in turn has made Cassidy an outcast among her peers.

One of the popular girls that constantly teases Cassidy is Melody Davenport. One day while Cassidy is in her favorite hiding spot she overhears what she believes is someone murdering Melody but Cassidy can’t go to the police since what she heard sounds exactly like her own ideas for a perfect murder of her mean girl nemesis.

Little Creeping Things not only has an unreliable narrator but one that is still struggling to overcome her past which adds to the tension. The tone is rather eerie as the book gets going but I would warn it can be a little teen angsty towards the middle with some romance drama thrown in. However I still enjoyed the story and thought the ending was solid to go well with the tense beginning.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  / Amazon

About the author:

Chelsea Ichaso writes twisty thrillers for young adults, including LITTLE CREEPING THINGS (Sourcebooks Fire, 2020). A former high school English teacher, she currently resides in southern California with her husband and children. When she’s not reading or writing, Chelsea can be found on the soccer field.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s