One Mistake by Rona Halsall #bookreview #thriller

Title: One Mistake

Author: Rona Halsall

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: May 5, 2020

Page Count: 328

My rating:  5 stars

About the book:

How far would you go to protect your happy home?

Sara made one promise to herself when she was growing up in foster care: that if she was lucky enough to have a family, she’d always do whatever it took to protect them. Looking around her home with its cosy kitchen and living room, where her energetic teenage daughters and gorgeous four-year-old son all eat, play and live together, she knows she’d do anything to keep them safe.

So when Sara’s husband Matt loses his job and every shred of his confidence with it, she knows it’s up to her to bring the family back from the brink. Though she doesn’t know where she can possibly find the money they need to keep afloat.

Until her boss at work offers her a deal. He’ll help out. She just has to do him one little favour. But could trusting him save Sara’s family, or will it be a mistake that costs her absolutely everything?

This year’s most gripping psychological thriller – perfect for fans of My Lovely WifeThe Girl on the Train, and Something in the Water.

my-review_43_orig

One Mistake by Rona Halsall is a psychological thriller that focuses on how one mistake or lie in your life can snowball into so much more. The main character in the story makes a mistake that soon has her tangled in a dangerous web of lies that definitely kept the pages turning.

Sara is a loving mother of three and wife to her husband, Matt, who is the bread winner in the family while Sara had focuses on raising the kids. Sara did have dreams of her own though now that her children were getting older and she took a chance by investing the couple’s savings with the hopes of growing enough to help her go back to school.

One night though Matt comes home obviously upset and Sara is shocked to learn he has lost his job. Sara had taken a part time job recently but even with more hours there is no way she can pay the bills without Matt. Matt then let’s her know he wants to use the opportunity to start his own business, he only needs their savings to get started, savings that Sara has now lost when her investment didn’t pay off leaving her frantic with what to do.

One Mistake was definitely one of those incredibly addicting books that you just want to sit and finish in one go. From the first moment of learning of Sara’s mistake you just know this isn’t going to go well but from then on the author took the story to levels I never would have saw coming. With anything from deception and lies to the bonds within a family tested this was quite the ride all the way through.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Rona is the author of Best Selling psychological thrillers HER MOTHER’S LIES, THE HONEYMOON, LOVE YOU GONE and KEEP YOU SAFE. Her fifth book, ONE MISTAKE, will be out in 5th May 2020.

She lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and two guinea pigs. She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful glens and beaches on the Island while she’s plotting how to kill off her next victim. She has three children and two step-children who are now grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories!

You can follow her on twitter @RonaHalsallAuth, instagram @ronahalsall or facebook
https://www.facebook.com/RonaHalsallA…

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s