The Argument by Victoria Jenkins #bookreview #thriller

Title: The Argument

Author: Victoria Jenkins

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: December 10, 2019

Page Count: 235

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

It happens to every mother. One day, the daughter whose whole world you once were, becomes someone you barely know. And you don’t know the secrets she’s hiding…

One night, 15-year-old Olivia comes home late from a party she was strictly forbidden from going to, and she and her mother, Hannah, start arguing. Soon Olivia speaks the words that every parent has heard from their teenage child:

‘I hate you. You’ve ruined my life. And I’m never speaking to you again.’

Olivia has never been an easy child, a sharp contrast to her easy-going, happy-go-lucky little sister. But Hannah thinks Olivia’s outburst is the end of a normal family argument. In fact, it’s only the beginning of a nightmare…

After one day of silence, Hannah thinks Olivia is taking a teenage sulk too far. After two days, she starts to feel anxious that something more serious could be going on. After a week, when her daughter still hasn’t spoken, Hannah knows that Olivia is hiding a bigger darkness – something that could threaten to tear their precious family apart…

The Argument is an unputdownable psychological thriller that asks how far we can push our families before they finally break. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, The Woman in the Window, and The Silent Patient.

my-review_43_orig

The Argument by Victoria Jenkins is a psychological thriller that is centered around one family’s drama. The story begins with a mother, Hannah, and her daughter, Olivia carrying out that ages old teenage rebellion argument of how parents just don’t understand with the point of view switching between mother and daughter throughout the book.

Hannah is home alone while her husband is away working when she catches her teenage daughter sneaking back into their home. Olivia had been told repeatedly that she couldn’t attend a party happening that night so Hannah is not at all surprised that Olivia didn’t listen to her parents once again.

It becomes obvious to Hannah that Olivia has done more than just sneak out when she smells alcohol on her which of course helps trigger the argument between the two. Hannah remembers those days of her teenage years regardless if Olivia believes that o r not so she is more than determined to keep her daughter safe even if that means enduring another silent treatment.

I would take a wild guess that almost everyone can relate to the teenage ups and downs and thinking parents are horrible at at least one point since we all were once a teen ourselves. Sure, some kids get a little more  rebellious than others but this story seemed like a normal family set up until you start really diving in and peeling back the layers. Definitely full of twists and turns to keep the pages turning all from that simple set up at the start which made for an engaging read.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the Author:

Victoria Jenkins lives with her husband and daughter in South Wales, where her series of crime novels featuring Detectives King and Lane is based. Her debut novel The Girls in the Water is an Amazon UK top 30 bestseller, and top 5 bestseller in the Amazon US chart.

Her first psychological thriller, The Divorce, was published in July 2019. Her second, The Argument, is available to pre-order now.

twitter@vicwritescrime
facebook.com/victoriajenkinsauthor

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s