Dreams of Willow House (Sandy Cove #3) by Susanne O’Leary #bookreview #contemporary #romance

Title: Dreams of Willow House

Author: Susanne O’Leary

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: November 15, 2019

Page Count: 272

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

A gorgeous, compelling page-turner about one woman’s journey to the heart of Ireland and the family secret she’s destined to discover…

Cordelia Mirafiore has never truly felt at home in South Florida, so when she’s unexpectedly called to the reading of a long-lost relative’s will in Ireland, she’s hopeful that escaping to Willow House to meet her family might help her to figure out who she really is…

As soon as Cordelia reaches Sandy Cove, the views of the blue ocean and stunning coastline around her provide a sense of calm she has never felt before. She meets her cousins Maeve and Roisin, who welcome her with open arms, finds herself drawn to a handsome man who is also an outsider in town, and feels an instant spark.

But the rest of the McKenna family aren’t so willing to accept Cordelia, or even believe that she’s family. When they learn that Cordelia is to inherit a third of Willow House, she is forced to prove who she is. All she has are old parish records and a battered box of family photographs, but they lead her to secrets she may not want to uncover.

Can Cordelia find the courage to face her family’s past? Can she trust the mysterious man who has swept her off her feet? Or will the lies told for generations force her to leave Sandy Cove forever?

Second chances begin on Ireland’s shores. An unforgettable story about mothers and daughters, Dreams of Willow House is perfect for fans of Sheila O’Flanagan, Debbie Macomber and Mary Alice Monroe.

my-review_43_orig

Dreams of Willow House by Susanne O’Leary is the third book in the contemporary romance Sandy Cove series. Each book of the series has changed the main character who has come to Sandy Cove so they can be understood as a standalone. However, those that follow from the beginning will notice the previous leads are now secondary characters so you will get updates on what has happened to them since their story was told.

In the first book of the series Maeve McKenna had come to visit her elderly aunt for a little vacation from her hectic job and instead found herself staying in Sandy Cove after finding love. In the second book Maeve was joined by her sister Roisin after Maeve’s aunt had left for America. Roisin had pitched in with restoring Willow House while working out her marital problems.

Now, Cordelia Mirafiore finds herself headed to Sandy Cove under sad circumstances. Cordelia was an only child raised by her single mother and after her mother passed she was left without any family at all. When Cordelia saw Maeve and Roisin aunt being interviewed and talking of her own roots some things seemed to fit Cordelia’s mother so she contacted her wondering if they were family. Soon the two became close despite having evidence of Cordelia’s true family roots and when she passed Cordelia travels to Sandy Cove for the funeral only to find she’s in the will.

Following the Sandy Cove series from the beginning I was immediately sad to find we’d lost Aunt Philomena. Continuing onward though I couldn’t help but become intrigued with the family drama and how things would work out with Cordelia whether she was family or not. Along with all of the family intrigue there is a romance also involved eventually so when it’s all wrapped together it’s definitely a page turner.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Susanne O’Leary is the bestselling author of more than twenty novels, mainly in the romantic fiction genre, mostly romantic comedies, aka chick-lit.. Her four first novels were published in Ireland and then she started self-publishing in 2010. She has also written four crime novels and two in the historical fiction genre. She has been the wife of a diplomat (still is), a fitness teacher and a translator. She now writes full-time from either of two locations, a ramshackle house in County Tipperary, Ireland or a little cottage overlooking the Atlantic in Dingle, County Kerry. When she is not scaling the mountains of said counties or keeps fit in the local gym, she’s writing, producing a book every six months

Visit Susanne at her website, http://www.susanne-oleary.co.uk
or her blog, http://bit.ly/11F4e4S
Find her on Facebook, http://on.fb.me/1A2NAbr
and on Twitter, http://bit.ly/1rH67dK

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s