I’ll Be Home for Christmas (Little French Café #3) by Karen Clarke #bookreview #contemporary #romance #holiday

Title: I’ll Be Home for Christmas

Author: Karen Clarke

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: October 14, 2019

Page Count: 284

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

Nina Bailey loves Christmas. Except this year she doesn’t. Because it turns out that her husband-to-be has been cheating on her – and her beautiful wedding ceremony in the snow is cancelled.

She’s not really in the mood to be jolly, sing carols, or go anywhere near gingerbread men – in fact, what Nina wants is to avoid the whole thing. So she’s come to stay at her Aunt Dolly’s cosy café to nurse her broken heart.

Nina is determined to get through Christmas with no tinsel, no fuss – and definitely no flirting. So when she arrives and meets infuriatingly handsome Ryan Sadler, with his gorgeous forest-green eyes, she is not best pleased. And when Nina overhears him making fun of her, she is furious. (There might have been an incident with a koala onesie and a spilled bottle of milk, but that really wasn’t her fault!) So despite the spark between them, and the fact that he can whip up a fabulous dinner faster than she can say Michelin star, romance and Christmas are off the menu this year.

Unfortunately, Aunt Dolly hasn’t quite got the message, going to great lengths to provide a proper British Christmas for her beloved niece: a true home away from home. With sparkling lights adorning every wall and a tree to equal the Rockefeller Center’s and, yes, mistletoe above every doorway, can Nina resist the magic of Christmas – and stick to her no-romance rule?

This heart-warming romantic comedy will have you reaching for eggnog, roasted chestnuts and gingerbread cookies! The perfect festive book to read curled up in front of the fire, for fans of Sue Moorcroft, Holly Martin and Debbie Johnson.

my-review_43_orig

I’ll Be Home for Christmas by Karen Clarke is the third book in the contemporary romance Little French Café series. Each book of the series brings readers back to the cafe in Chamillon with a new set of lead characters finding their own love story. These books can be read and understood as a standalone or out of order if choosing to do so.

Nina Bailey is nursing a broken heart this holiday season after she had to call off her wedding when she found her soon to be husband was cheating on her. Looking to get away and clear her head Nina heads to her Aunt Dolly’s to stay with her aunt and cousin and avoid all wedding reminders and men.

Little did Nina know when she packed her bags and headed for Chamillon that she wouldn’t be the only guest visiting this Christmas. Ryan Sadler had also asked for a place to stay this holiday after his own engagement had come to an abrupt end. Somehow with these two broken hearts under one roof Aunt Dolly can’t help but play matchmaker during the festive season.

I’ll Be Home for Christmas is another quickie holiday feel good romance filled with all the magic and joy of Christmas. I would warn for those not into insta-love that this again is a story that moves at a fast pace with no history to the couple. However, for those that do enjoy a meet cute story and a quick paced romance this one is sure to be a holiday winner with likable characters and setting.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Karen is the author of the popular BEACHSIDE, SEASHELL COVE and LITTLE FRENCH CAFE series of romantic comedies, published by Bookouture.

She’s also written three romcoms with a paranormal twist, all available to download

Karen lives in Buckinghamshire in the UK with her husband and three grown-up children, and when she’s not writing loves reading, walking, baking and eating cake.

Categories: Uncategorized

2 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s