Summer at Firefly Beach by Jenny Hale #bookreview #contemporary #romance

Title: Summer at Firefly Beach

Author: Jenny Hale

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: June 17, 2019

Page Count: 287

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

A totally emotional, gripping page-turner from the bestselling author of The Summer House about the importance of family, re-discovering who you are, and the magic of finding true love under the summer sun. Perfect for fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Nancy Thayer and Susan Mallery.

Hallie Flynn’s favorite place in the world is her great Aunt Clara’s beautiful beach side house, with its inviting wraparound porch and enchanting views across the sparkling turquoise ocean. For Hallie, going to Firefly Beach, filled with magical memories, feels like coming home, but in one moment Hallie is left broken-hearted when her adored Aunt Clara passes away…

As always, Aunt Clara has thought of everything. In her last letter she included a bucket list Hallie wrote as a child, for Hallie to complete. Leaving her dead-end job and predictable schedule, Hallie returns to Firefly beach and embraces Aunt Clara’s words. All the time her childhood best friend Ben Murray, with his golden charm and infuriating ability to be right all the time, is by her side.

Spending the summer with Ben, as they enjoy drinks on the pier and endless talks stretched out in the soft sand, Hallie begins to remember the things that matter most to her. But following the bucket list isn’t an easy journey. It forces her to face the pain of her past as she starts to fall for the person who has been there for her all along…

Just as her heart is healing, an encounter with a newcomer to the beach town, wealthy and talented photographer Gavin Wilson, leaves her questioning her future and shows her she has to make a difficult decision that could mean losing everything.

Will Hallie be able to fulfill Aunt Clara’s last wish and change her life? Or will a secret she’s been keeping destroy her new beginning—and the chance to experience true love?

my-review_43_orig

I have to admit Summer at Firefly Beach by Jenny Hale is one of those books that I take one look at and think oohh I want to be there, darn beautiful covers get me all the time. However, as lovely as an “inviting wraparound porch and enchanting views across the sparkling turquoise ocean” does sound I actually knew of Jenny Hale’s stories so I had high hopes for a lovely beachy type of read too and thankfully that’s what readers will find with this one.

Hallie Flynn was extremely close to her Aunt Clara having spent plenty of time with her at her home at Firefly Beach. As Hallie is mourning the loss of her aunt however she left her with a bit of a puzzle. All others received a hand written letter saying goodbye and what they inherited but Hallie was left with a bucket list she’d written as a child. This summer with the help of her best friend, Ben, Hallie will need to step out of her comfort zone and figure out just what Aunt Clara’s message means.

Summer at Firefly Beach is filled with emotional moments and one may need a tissue or two when reading but not to worry there are also plenty of happier moments too. This is one that a reader will notice the character growth as it’s happening along the way and perhaps a few things might seem a little predictable but it’s done well and in a way that it’s easy to stay engaged and wait to see  if there will be a happy ever after.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Jenny Hale is a USA Today and Amazon bestselling author of romantic fiction. Her books have sold worldwide and have been adapted for television, appearing on The Hallmark Channel as part of their famous Christmas lineup. Her stories are chock-full of feel-good romance and overflowing with warm settings, great friends, and family.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

5 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s