The Woman I Was Before by Kerry Fisher @kerryfswayne @Bookouture #bookreview #drama #suspense

Title: The Woman I Was Before

Author: Kerry Fisher

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: March 22, 2019

Page Count: 360

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

A new home can be a happy ending. Or a fresh start. Or a hiding place…

Of all the emotions single mother Kate Jones feels as she walks into her brand new house on Parkview Road, hope is the most unexpected. She has changed her name and her daughter’s, and moved across the country to escape the single mistake that destroyed their lives.

Kate isn’t the only woman on the street starting afresh. Warm, whirlwind Gisela with her busy life and confident children, and sharp, composed Sally, with her spontaneous marriage and high-flying career, are the first new friends Kate has allowed herself in years. While she can’t help but envy their seemingly perfect lives, their friendship might help her leave her guilt behind.

Until one day, everything changes. Kate is called to the scene of a devastating car accident, the consequences of which will test everything the women thought they knew about each other, and themselves.

Can Kate stop her own secrets from unravelling, or was her hope for a new life in vain?

From the bestselling author of The Silent WifeThe Woman I Was Before is a book about the things we hide from those closest to us – and the terrible consequences that keeping those secrets can have. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

my-review_43_orig

I’ve read a couple of other books by Kerry Fisher before and while both were really different from one another I really enjoyed them so I was looking forward to picking up another. The Woman I Was Before by Kerry Fisher is being called a gripping emotional page turner with a twist but personally I don’t know if I agree and think of this one as a domestic drama which I call one of my popcorn reads where you sit back and watch the drama unfold.

This one has several different points of view coming from the new residents of Parkview Road. Kate, Gisela and Sally are a few of the newcomers to the neighborhood who of course have all their own issues despite the image they portray one the outside. One has a past that has kept them running and hiding, one marriage is far from the perfect and then a family is falling apart.

I’m always a fan of those juicy drama filled domestic dramas when secrets that hide behind closed doors get revealed and Parkview Road in The Woman I Was Before by Kerry Fisher was definitely addicting to follow. While I don’t believe there was anything overall that made this incredibly unique and original I do think fans of the genre would find this one a compelling read and completely enjoy it.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Kerry Fisher is the bestselling author of five novels, including The Silent Wife and The Secret Child. She was born in Peterborough, studied French and Italian at the University of Bath and spent several years living in Spain, Italy and Corsica. After returning to England to work as a journalist, she eventually abandoned real life stories for the secrets of fictional families. She now lives in Surrey with her husband, two teenage children and a naughty Lab/Schnauzer called Poppy.

Best advice ever received: ‘This is fiction, we can skip the boring bits.’ Lynn Hightower, UCLA Writers’ Program.

Categories: Uncategorized

3 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s