Call Me Evie by J.P. Pomare #bookreview #thriller

Title: Call Me Evie

Author: J.P. Pomare

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons

Publication Date: March 5, 2019

Page Count: 368

My rating:  3.5 stars

About the book:

In this propulsive, twist-filled, and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever.

For the past two weeks, seventeen-year-old Kate Bennet has lived against her will in an isolated cabin in a remote beach town–brought there by a mysterious man named Bill. Part captor, part benefactor, Bill calls her Evie and tells her he’s hiding her to protect her. That she did something terrible one night back home in Melbourne–something so unspeakable that he had no choice but to take her away. The trouble is, Kate can’t remember the night in question.

The fragments of Kate’s shattered memories of her old life seem happy: good friends, a big house in the suburbs, a devoted boyfriend. Bill says he’ll help her fill in the blanks–but his story isn’t adding up. And as she tries to reconcile the girl she thought she’d been with the devastating consequences Bill claims she’s responsible for, Kate will unearth secrets about herself and those closest to her that could change everything.

A riveting debut novel that fearlessly plumbs the darkest recesses of the mind, Call Me Evie explores the fragility of memory and the potential in all of us to hide the truth, even from ourselves.

my-review_43_orig

Call Me Evie by J.P. Pomare is a psychological thriller that starts with a slow building story only to pick up the pace as the twists and turns begin. The story is told from the point of view of a young girl who is being held as she struggles to remember the past.

Seventeen year old Kate Bennet has been being held in a remote cabin by a man who calls himself Jim. Jim has been telling Kate that he is doing what he is only to protect her and if he were to let her go the police would be after her.

Kate has no memory of what happened before she arrived at the cabin with Jim but as each day goes by more and more begin to come back to her. She knows Jim has been drugging her and without the pills she hopes to regain her knowledge of what happened and whether there is any truth to Jim’s side of the story.

I have to admit that a lot of Call Me Evie was one of those books that I couldn’t decide if I liked it or not. The story was a slow burner in the beginning but truthfully that didn’t bother me as much as just questioning events as it went along. Then on the other hand when the paced picked up bringing a reader to the conclusion actually thought it went a bit too fast that it was in danger of being confusing. Overall it’s not a bad story but being a bit up and down I decided to give this one 3.5 stars myself.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via Edelweiss.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Twenty-six-year-old J.P. Pomare has been short- and long-listed for a number of writing prizes, including the KYD Unpublished Manuscript Award, Ellen Kemp Memorial Writer’s Prize, the Sheila Malady Prize, and The Kingi Mckinnon Scholarship for Emerging Writers. He produces a literary podcast called On Writing, for which he has interviewed bestselling authors including Joyce Carol Oates and E. Lockhart. CALL ME EVIE, his first novel, will be published by Hachette Australia, Little Brown/Sphere in the UK, and Putnam in North America. Pomare lives with his wife in Melbourne, Australia.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

2 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s