Sorry Not Sorry by Sophie Ranald #bookreview #contemporary #romance

Title: Sorry Not Sorry

Author: Sophie Ranald

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: February 13, 2019

Page Count: 329

My rating:  3 stars

About the book:

Is this all there is? I scraped the last dregs of Caramel Chew Chew ice cream out of the bottom of the tub with my finger and licked it. It left a sticky smear on my phone’s screen when I typed into Google, “How to find love, sex and happiness.”

Charlotte has always been a good girl. But being good is getting boring… 

She’s not just stuck in a rut – she’s buried in it up to her chin. The only company she has in bed is the back catalogue of Netflix and falling in love feels like the stuff of fairy tales. So when she stumbles across a popular podcast, ‘Sorry Not Sorry’, which challenges women to embrace their inner bad girl, she jumps at the chance to shake things up.

Old Charlotte would never ask for a stranger’s number, go on a blind date or buy lacy lingerie… But New Charlotte is waving goodbye to her comfort zone (with a side order of margaritas). And it turns out that good things happen to bad girls, as Charlotte finally finds her Mr Right – or so she thinks… Is falling in love too tough a challenge even for Charlotte?

Fans of Sophie Kinsella, Mhairi McFarlane and Matt Dunn will love this fabulously feel-good novel that will make you make you laugh till you cry and leave you living life to the full, margarita in hand!

my-review_43_orig

Sorry Not Sorry by Sophie Ranald is another contemporary romance novel that promises readers to be full of laugh out loud moments. Again, though I wonder if my sense of humor is way off of everyone else of not when only getting a chuckle here or there and no real hysterical moments unfortunately.

In this story Charlotte finds herself questioning just where she is in here life when her two longtime roommates and best friends are packing up and moving on to marriage and a life together after falling in love. Charlotte has her job, and netflix if that will count as a companion but not much else to show as the others move on.

Stumbling across a romance podcast called Sorry, Not Sorry Charlotte vows to begin putting herself out there and trying to meet someone. With each challenge that Charlotte masters though it seems things in the rest of her life get a bit more out of control and the dating world is still a scary place.

I do believe my biggest drawback with Sorry Not Sorry seemed to be it just seemed to have one angsty moment after another with each turn of the page. I suppose laughter is the best medicine when times are tough but man Charlotte just couldn’t win and somehow that translated to me a few jokes that worked here or there but more feeling sorry for her the rest. It’s not a bad story just not the hysterical one I had hoped for, to me anyway.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /  Amazon

 About the author:

Sophie Ranald is the youngest of five sisters. She was born in Zimbabwe and lived in South Africa until an acute case of itchy feet brought her to London in her mid-20s. As an editor for a customer publishing agency, Sophie developed her fiction-writing skills describing holidays to places she’d never visited. In 2011, she decided to disregard all the good advice given to aspiring novelists and attempt to write full-time. After one false start, It Would Be Wrong to Steal My Sister’s Boyfriend (Wouldn’t It?) seemed to write itself. Her second, third and fourth novels followed, and a fifth is due for release in Spring 2017. Sophie also writes for magazines and online about food, fashion and running. She lives in south-east London with her amazing partner Hopi and Purrs, their adorable little cat.

To find out about Sophie’s forthcoming releases and get access to free books and special offers, sign up to her newsletter at sophieranald.com or http://www.facebook.com/SophieRanald.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

6 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s