She Lies in Wait (DCI Jonah Sheens #1) by Gytha Lodge #bookreview #thriller

Title: She Lies in Wait

Author: Gytha Lodge

Publisher: Random House

Publication Date: January 8, 2019

Page Count: 368

My rating: 3 stars

About the book:

Six friends. One killer. Who do you trust? A teen girl is missing after a night of partying; thirty years later, the discovery of her body reopens a cold case in an absorbing novel featuring a small-town cop determined to finally get to the truth—for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson.

On a scorching July night in 1983, a group of teenagers goes camping in the forest. Bright and brilliant, they are destined for great things, and the youngest of the group—Aurora Jackson—is delighted to be allowed to tag along. The evening starts like any other—they drink, they dance, they fight, they kiss. Some of them slip off into the woods in pairs, others are left jealous and heartbroken. But by morning, Aurora has disappeared. Her friends claim that she was safe the last time they saw her, right before she went to sleep. An exhaustive investigation is launched, but no trace of the teenager is ever found.

Thirty years later, Aurora’s body is unearthed in a hideaway that only the six friends knew about, and Jonah Sheens is put in charge of solving the long-cold case. Back in 1983, as a young cop in their small town, he had known the teenagers—including Aurora—personally, even before taking part in the search. Now he’s determined to finally get to the truth of what happened that night. Sheens’s investigation brings the members of the camping party back to the forest, where they will be confronted once again with the events that left one of them dead, and all of them profoundly changed forever.

This searing, psychologically captivating novel marks the arrival of a dazzling new talent, and the start of a new series featuring Detective Chief Inspector Jonah Sheens.


She Lies in Wait by Gytha Lodge is the first book in the new police procedural thriller DCI Jonah Sheens series. This first book of the series has our new detectives in search of a killer from a cold case that is over thirty years old. The chapters alternate between the current investigation and the past when the young girl had gone missing.

In July of 1983 Aurora Jackson had gone on a camping trip with her older sister Topaz and Topaz’s friends. Being a few years younger than the group Aurora was nervous and excited to finally be included with the others but when the partying started Aurora was definitely out of her element.

Now more than thirty years later a bone is found not too far away from that original campsite and when tested it’s found to belong to the missing Aurora. Jonah Sheens is put in charge of the case and determined to find out just what happened back then when he was just starting his career as a policemen.

Well, when finished with She Lies in Wait really the best I could come up with would be well, it’s OK. This one unfortunately was just one of those titles that really didn’t seem to grab me much at all and just seemed to be there. There isn’t anything really particularly wrong with it other than maybe dragging here and there but the characters just weren’t ones I connected with. Perhaps the series will pick up the intensity but only 3 stars for this opener so far.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

 About the author:

Gytha Lodge is a multi-award-winning playwright, novelist and writer for video games and screen. She is also a single parent who blogs about the ridiculousness of bringing up a mega-nerd small boy.

She has a profound addiction to tea, crosswords and awful puns. When not writing, she heads up a copywriting team at a global translation firm, where she generally tries to keep all the video-game writing to herself.

She studied English at Cambridge, where she became known quite quickly for her brand of twisty, dark yet entertaining drama. She later took the Creative Writing MA at UEA.

She has signed with Penguin Random House worldwide for the first three books in her crime series featuring DCI Jonah Sheens. She Lies in Wait will be released in January 2019.


Categories: Uncategorized

11 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s