The Diary by Vikki Patis #bookreview #thriller

Title: The Diary

Author: Vikki Patis

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: November 26, 2018

Page Count: 294

My rating: 3 stars

About the book:

‘I know all your secrets, Lauren.’

Lauren has spent years running away from her home town, her childhood and the memories of her best friend, Hannah.

Until the tenth anniversary of Hannah’s death forces her to return home and to the group of friends she abandoned there. It should be a quick visit, just so Lauren can pay her respects.

At home, Lauren finds Hannah’s old diary. A diary full of secrets. The terrible things Lauren did, the lies she’s told, the reason she ran away. And she receives a message:

‘I don’t know why you’re back, but I know why you left.’ 

But no-one else has seen the diary, and Hannah’s dead, isn’t she?

A suspenseful psychological thriller full of twists and turns – you won’t be able to stop turning the pages of The Diary. Perfect for fans of The Sister, The Girl on the Train and We Were Liars. 

my-review_43_orig

The Diary by Vikki Patis is a psychological thriller that digs for the secrets of the past. The story involves a teen suicide years before and flashes between the current and past to slowly build what happened all those years ago.

Lauren had been best friends with Hannah while growing up but the moment Hannah took her life Lauren ran from her home and hasn’t returned for ten years. Now on the anniversary of Hannah’s death Lauren returns to face the past.

However, after arriving back home Lauren begins to receive threatening text messages and as she slowly meets up with her circle of friends from the decade before she finds they all have been threatened. Finding Hannah’s diary Lauren is determined to find out who doesn’t want her to know about the past.

The Diary was another of those extremely slow building thrillers that unfortunately makes for one that is in danger of losing my attention. I do appreciate the author trying to touch on a relevant subject with teen bullying and suicide though. But I couldn’t help but think to myself again and again that the whole thing could have been solved rather quickly but instead was being dragged out so while the mystery wasn’t bad in the end it was just too slow getting there for me to enjoy it more.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Vikki Patis is an author and blogger, as well as an avid reader and book reviewer. When she isn’t working as a Regulatory Affairs Manager, she can usually be found drinking tea, baking cakes, or taking walks in the Hertfordshire countryside. She lives with her partner and two cats.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

4 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s