Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks @heidiperks1 @GalleryBooks #bookreview #thriller

Title: Her One Mistake

Author:  Heidi Perks

Publisher: Gallery Books

Publication Date: January 8, 2019

Page Count: 320

My rating: 5 stars

About the book:

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively readable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller. 

It all started at the school fair…

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter….

This breathless and fast-paced debut—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

my-review_43_orig

Her One Mistake by Heidi Perks is a gripping thriller that covers every parents worse nightmare, a child gone in the blink of an eye. The author has given this a bit of a twist though with it being a friend taking care of the little girl when she goes missing.

Harriet had never been separated from her four year old daughter Alice since she had been born. Other mothers use babysitters, friends or family quite often to get even a small break but Harriet was a stay at home mother who hadn’t trusted anyone with her precious daughter until now.

Charlotte is Harriet’s best friend and about as opposite as can be. With three children of her own Charlotte volunteers to take Alice with them to the school fair so Harriet can take a class that afternoon. With four kids in tow Charlotte heads to the fair where the children begin to play but when her own children return from a ride without Alice Charlotte is devastated when there is no sign of the child.

Her One Mistake is one of those books that really was thought provoking. We are a society of placing blame on victims and as much as anyone disagrees with Charlotte’s actions in the beginning of this she is still a victim having to live with what happened. And then there’s Harriet who your heart can’t help but break for as the emotional side of the book begins to stand out. But of course as with any good thriller there are plenty of twists and turns to keep a reader guessing until the last page. Definitely one that kept me on the edge of my seat and would recommend.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Heidi Perks was born and raised in the seaside town of Bournemouth on the south coast of England. After moving up to London for a short stint, she has since moved back to Bournemouth where she now lives with her husband and two children. Heidi has been writing since she was small, though for too many years her day time job and career in marketing got in the way. Now she writes full time and cannot think of anything she would rather be doing.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

7 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s