Read and Gone (The Haunted Library Mysteries #2) by Allison Brook @crookedlanebks #bookreview #mystery

Title: Read and Gone

Author: Allison Brook

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Publication Date:  September 11, 2018

Page Count: 320

My rating: 3 stars

About the book:

Agatha Award Nominee

Right in time for the holidays, comes Allison Brook’s second Haunted Library mystery, a perfect present for readers of Jenn McKinlay and Leslie Meier.

Twenty million dollars’ worth of missing gems bring Carrie Singleton’s long-lost and larcenous dad back into her life and it’s up to Carrie to clear his name.

A devoted dad is as precious as diamonds, but Carrie Singleton wouldn’t know since her dad Jim’s been on the lam most of her life. In an unusual family reunion, she finds Jim breaking into her cottage in the middle of the night. The fun really starts when he begs her to help him recover his half of a twenty-million-dollar gem heist he pulled off with the local jeweler, Benton Parr. When she refuses, Jim takes off again.

Carrie finds her father again behind bars for the recent murder of Benton Parr. Who made the connection? Unbeknownst to her, Carrie’s boyfriend Dylan, an insurance investigator, has been searching for the gems. Determined to find the jewels herself, she starts examining every facet of Parr’s life. She turns up a treasure trove of suspects, one of whom bashes her on the head as she’s searching the victim’s country cabin.

Retreating to the quiet confines of the library where she works, Carrie watches as Smokey Joe, the resident cat, paws at a hole in the wall. Is he after the library’s ghost Evelyn, or something shinier? The second charming Haunted Library mystery by Allison Brook, Read and Gone will be a delight for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Leslie Meier.

my-review_43_orig

Read and Gone by Allison Brook is the second book of the paranormal cozy The Haunted Library Mysteries series. Each book in the series contains it’s own mystery to be solved and could be read as a standalone. The series does however carry over character details from book to book so is best enjoyed as a whole.

Read and Gone begins with the main character, Carrie Singleton, celebrating the holidays with her new friends she’s made in her job as the library event coordinator. When the party is over however Carrie is awakened as her long lost felon of a father breaks into Carrie’s life again in more ways than one thus giving me the push to rename this one Daddy Issues.

Dear old dad, Jim, has returned to ask his daughter for her help in finding out what happened to his share of a former heist. Of course Carrie turns him away only to end up with her father in jail for suspicion of murder in which she’s certain he’s innocent of. Carrie ends up investigating the missing gems and trying to catch the murderer which brings turmoil into her new safe life.

With this second installment of the series my rating has slid back a little from 3.5 stars to only 3 this go round. I’m still a bit disappointed that the resident ghost doesn’t stand out more but rather just blends in with the other characters. And with this go round we had relationship angst that I’m not a fan of in romantic books where it belongs let alone a cozy. But really the story just seems a bit bland and lacking any cozy quirkiness that would make me really love them and instead are just OK reads to me instead.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author: 

Allison Brook is a former Spanish teacher who now writes mysteries, romantic suspense, and novels for young readers. She loves traveling, reading, knitting, doing Sudoku, and visiting with her grandchildren. She lives on Long Island with Sammy, her feisty red cat.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

4 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s