Jessica’s Promise by Jill Childs @author_jill @Bookouture #bookreview #thriller

Title: Jessica’s Promise

Author: Jill Childs

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: September 12, 2018

Page Count: 294

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

‘You wouldn’t trust a stranger with your wallet. Or your house keys. So why your little girl, the most precious thing you have?’

Teresa’s heart stops when she enters her daughter’s bedroom to find that her sweet, trusting little girl is gone.

Teresa can’t bear to think who would snatch a terrified three-year-old from her mother in the middle of the night, but all the signs point to someone close to home. Hasn’t Jessica’s stepfather been acting a little oddly? Or is it, as Teresa is beginning to fear, something to do with Angie, her daughter’s babysitter who lives next door…?

Gentle, retired Angie – she must be lonely, with only her memories to keep her company in that big, old house. And she’s always had a special connection with Jessica… was trusting Angie with her precious daughter the biggest mistake of Teresa’s life?

What do we really know about those who watch our children? Jessica’s Promise is a compelling domestic drama for fans of Jodi Picoult, Lisa Wingate and Kerry Fisher.

my-review_43_orig

Depending one where you look this one up Jessica’s Promise by Jill Childs is being listed as a psychological thriller or a domestic drama, I would lean more towards the drama or perhaps a bit of contemporary suspense. No matter how you want to classify it though the missing child element is definitely one that easily compels a reader.

Angie is retired and has had plenty of time to watch the work going on in the house next to her over the months and now it seems she will be getting new neighbors. As Angie introduces herself to her new neighbors she is blown away by how much little three year old Jessica reminds her of her own daughter at that age.

Teresa and her new husband have moved their blended family into the house next to Angie. When things get hectic with her new job Teresa turns to Angie for help watching the children while she’s at work. Both girls seem to enjoy spending time at Angie’s and things seem to be going well when Jessica turns up missing one morning.

Jessica’s Promise being a story of a missing child was sure to grab my attention but I also enjoyed the way the author took time to build the characters and all of their flaws before the investigation began. The story is one that will keep a reader guessing as all the layers of secrets are exposed and surprise surprise, I did not guess the end. With an ease to the flow of the story and plenty of twists I do believe this one will be one most readers enjoy.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Jill has always loved stories – real and imaginary. She’s spent 30 years travelling the world as a journalist, living overseas and reporting wherever the news took her. She’s now made her home in London with her husband and twin girls who love stories as much as she does.
Although she’s covered everything from earthquakes and floods, riots and wars, she’s found some of the most extraordinary stories right here at home – in the secrets and lies she imagines behind closed doors on ordinary streets, just like yours.

If you’ve enjoyed reading one of Jill’s books, please do leave a review.
For latest news, follow Jill on Twitter (author_jill) and Facebook (Jill Childs)

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

10 replies

  1. Once again, you found a great story and then enticed me to add it to my TBR with your great review. I like a domestic suspense story as well as family drama so this sounds like it will fit the bill nicely. I do worry about kidnapped or the disappearance of children though. I shall see if I can get a hold of this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s