The Secrets We Keep by Kate Hewitt @katehewitt1 @Bookouture #bookreview

Title: The Secrets We Keep

Author: Kate Hewitt

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: September 6, 2018

Page Count: 374

My rating:   5 stars

About the book:

My whole body aches. I trawl memories of her, now so precious… my darling child. I can’t lose her…

When Tessa arrives at the little house by the lake with her two children, it is an escape. The rental house may be a bit small – but it’s theirs for the summer. A place to hide…

However, their isolation is disrupted by the family from the big house next door. Three children and their glamorous mother Rebecca – who seems determined to invite Tessa into their lives.

Rebecca, however, is harbouring a dark secret. And when it becomes too much for her to bear, Tessa seems to be the only person she can turn to.

But as powerful bonds form between the two families, choices will be made that can never be undone. And as the summer comes to an end, nothing can keep everyone safe. And one family will pay the ultimate price…

A gripping, powerful emotional page turner with a heartbreaking twist, for fans of Jodi Picoult, Emily Bleeker and Diane Chamberlain.

my-review_43_orig

Having read several contemporary romance titles from Kate Hewitt my curiosity was definitely up seeing a more general fiction title in The Secrets We Keep. After reading I would even say this one has an edge of suspense to it too taking a reader through many twists to unravel the secrets of the characters.

The story begins with a vague glimpse into a mother sitting at her child’s bedside in the hospital before taking readers back to the beginning to find out that events that led to that scene. Told from the two main characters point of view, Rebecca and Tessa, the story was one to find myself engaged rather quickly.

Tessa seems to be a working class mother of two young children who has rented a small lakeside cottage for the summer with hints of some problems in her relationship. Immediately after arriving Tessa and her children meet the “neighbors”, Rebecca and her three children who come from a very different background being wealthy.

Rebecca and Tessa are two very different people who are brought together that summer and form a friendship that both come to rely upon. It’s a story that shows that not everything is always what it seems to be while diving into friendship, family, love and life and the fact that actions have consequences and how to deal with those. I can easily call this one a real page turner with some tough subject matter that might not be for every reader but definitely an emotional ride for those that tackle the heavy topics.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Kate Hewitt is the bestselling author of many novels of women’s fiction and romance, including the Hartley-by-the-Sea series set in the Lake District, the Willoughby Close series set in the Cotswolds, and Tales From Goswell written as Katharine Swartz. Her latest book, A Mother’s Goodbye, has been called ‘unputdownable’ and ‘the most emotional book I have ever read’ by readers.

She lives in a small market town in Wales with her husband and five young(ish) children, and their lazy Golden Retriever. Join her newsletter for monthly updates and giveaways at http://www.kate-hewitt.com, or be part of her Facebook book Kate’s Reads.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

10 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s