Everless (Everless #1) by Sara Holland #bookreview #YA #fantasy

Title: Everless

Author: Sara Holland

Publisher: HarperTeen

Publication Date: January 2, 2018

Page Count: 373

My rating:  3 stars

About the book:

In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood, bound to iron, and consumed to add time to one’s own lifespan. The rich aristocracy, like the Gerlings, tax the poor to the hilt, extending their own lives by centuries.

No one resents the Gerlings more than Jules Ember. A decade ago, she and her father were servants at Everless, the Gerlings’ palatial estate, until a fateful accident forced them to flee in the dead of night. When Jules discovers that her father is dying, she knows that she must return to Everless to earn more time for him before she loses him forever.

But going back to Everless brings more danger—and temptation—than Jules could have ever imagined. Soon she’s caught in a tangle of violent secrets and finds her heart torn between two people she thought she’d never see again. Her decisions have the power to change her fate—and the fate of time itself.

Fans of Victoria Aveyard, Kendare Blake, and Stephanie Garber will devour this lush novel’s breathtaking action, incredible romance, and dangerous secrets.

my-review_43_orig

Everless by Sara Holland is the first book in the young adult fantasy series by the same title. The story within is one that one the surface seems a bit familiar in which the rich rule the poor but done in a new way.

Jules Ember lives in the land of Sempera with her father and Jules has just come of age where she can begin to help make payments. Those payments are not in cash or jewels but in blood, bleeding out time from those that pay. The rich gain decades while the poor have shortened lives and Jules’ father is coming to the end of his.

When Jules’ friend decides to go to Everless Jules thinks it’s the only way she can help her father and despite his protest decides to go to. Their family once worked as servants there so Jules doesn’t think a few months would hurt but soon finds the secrets of the past catching up to her.

Everless isn’t really a bad start to a young adult fantasy with some very interesting ideas behind the how and why of the world. It does seem to take on a lot of normal tropes but giving them a new twist in how they are used. The one thing holding me back from loving it though is simply it was incredibly slow going with not too much in the first half and I always wish stories would do more and pull me in earlier but with the action in the second this will be one I’ll consider continuing onwards.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Sara Holland grew up between small-town Minnesota and the countless fictional worlds of books. She graduated from Wesleyan University and worked in a tea shop, a dentist’s office, and a state capitol building before heading to New York to work in publishing. These days, she can be found exploring the city’s bookstores or finding new ways to put caffeine in her bloodstream. Everless is her debut novel. Visit her online at http://www.sarahollandwrites.com.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

7 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s