Love Me, Love Me Not by Katherine Debona #bookreview #thriller

Title: Love Me, Love Me Not

Author: Katherine Debona

Publisher: HQ Digital

Publication Date: July 1, 2018

Page Count: 384

My rating:   2 1/2 stars

About the book:

Today isn’t the first time I’ve thought about killing my best friend, but it is the first time I’ve done something about it.

Since they were teenagers, Jane and Elle had been inseparable.

Until the day that Elle stole the love of Jane’s life.

Now everything has changed. Jane wants him back, and with a little help from her horticultural obsession, she may just have found the perfect solution…

A psychological suspense novel that you will not be able to put down. Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen and Clare Boyd.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Love Me, Love Me Not by Katherine Debona is yet another psychological thriller in a year that has had some really great books released so far. With this one I really thought the story would be another that I would have loved but it just fell a bit flat to me.

The story is about two friends Jane and Elle who have had a long friendship that to Jane has been a bit lopsided. Elle is the bright and shining one that always stands out and gets what she wants in life while Jane has lived in her shadow.

One day Jane decides to take back what she thinks is hers and get out from under Elle’s shadow. With a little help from Jane’s horticultural obsession she comes up with what will be the perfect solution, a poison that when used just right it will give Jane everything she ever wanted.

Love Me, Love Me Not was one of those books where you are not necessarily supposed to like the characters but for me it’s a thin line between suspicious dislike and not really caring dislike. I think the style of the writing in here kept pushing me more to the not really caring side unfortunately. It’s one that you just know you are going to be waiting to see how far it will go and Jane’s inner monologue would go on and on at times to make it feel like it was dragging me along to the shocking moments leaving me to rate this one at 2.5 stars. I’m in the minority in my opinion on this one though so if this sound like something you may enjoy I’d still suggest giving it a try yourself.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

 

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

9 replies

    • Yes, exactly. Sometimes you aren’t supposed to like them but you just can’t wait to see what they’ll do next but when you cross over to just not liking them at all it just brings it all crashing down.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, no! I was about to request this book too but thank goodness I read your review first 😱 Though, I’m sorry that this book wasn’t all that great for you, especially since it sounds so interesting…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Aria, I do seem to be in the minority on this one so far so you may still want to take a chance on it but I think I’ve just read too many really good ones lately that it just didn’t grab me at all.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think it is okay to dislike the characters but I still have to be able to connect in some way. Hope you are having better luck with your recent books. I am glad I did not get this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s