A Soufflé of Suspicion (A French Bistro Mystery #2) by Daryl Wood Gerber #bookreview #mystery

Title: A Soufflé of Suspicion

Author:  Daryl Wood Gerber

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Publication Date: July 10, 2018

Page Count: 296

My rating: 3 stars

About the book:

The buoyant mood at Bistro Rousseau deflates when Chef Camille’s sister, Renee, turns up dead in the chef’s kitchen, and Mimi Rousseau must tease the real killer out of a mélange of menacing characters.

Crush Week in Nouvelle Vie is a madhouse—in a good way. Tourists pour into town for the pressing of the Napa Valley’s world-renowned grapes and all the town’s businesses get a nice lift, including Bistro and Maison Rousseau. Mimi is raising the ante this year with a Sweet Treats Festival, a wonderland of croissants, cakes, tarts, and soufflés crafted with expert care by the area’s top talents.

Chef Camille’s sister Renee is managing the festival with a cast-iron fist, upsetting everyone, including her sister. Which is bad for Camille when Renee turns up dead in the chef’s kitchen. Mimi is still building her business, so her first course of action is to whip up answers and catch the unsavory perpetrator before Camille takes a dusting and gets burned.

Fans of JoAnna Carl and Joanne Fluke will want a succulent second serving of A Soufflé of Suspicion, Daryl Wood Gerber’s appetizing second French Bistro mystery.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

A Soufflé of Suspicion by Daryl Wood Gerber is the second book in the cozy A French Bistro Mystery series. As the title and cover may indicate this series is one that is perfect for the foodies to dive into with all the delicious treats and eats hiding between the pages.  And if the mouth watering food during the read isn’t quite enough to satisfy there are also recipes included at the end of the book for readers to try some of the foods out on their own.

Mimi Rousseau is our leading lady in the French Bistro series with the first book introducing her to readers as she had just lost her husband. Mimi’s dream had always been to open her own bistro and she had taken the tough route getting there by learning the ropes holding various jobs in the food industry. Once her husband had passed she had found herself in debt so she sold everything to clear the debt and then returned home to Nouvelle Vie in Napa Valley where she found a backer to open her own bistro.

Now as Mimi has settled into her new life and things seem to be going well for her she’s decided to tackle the Sweet Treats Festival during Crush Week in Nouvelle Vie. But before Mimi knows it she finds herself smack dab in the middle of another murder investigation when Chef Camille’s sister Renee is found dead. Renee had been managing the festival and really wasn’t winning everyone over with her demanding ways so the list of suspects is a mile long but Mimi is determined to find the killer.

Having read the first book in this series and liking it well enough I was hoping to dive into this one and find myself loving it even more. However, this time around I just found this one to be missing a bit of that quirky spark that I love so much in stories like this. The story and characters are likable enough but it didn’t really jump out and grab me as much this time around either although the foodie in me enjoys hearing of Mimi’s creations and I do enjoy the lovely setting this series takes place in. So in the end I just found this one to be an OK addition to the series.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author: 

Agatha Award-winning and nationally bestselling author DARYL WOOD GERBER crosses genres again with her second stand-alone suspense thriller, DAY OF SECRETS. Daryl also writes the bestselling COOKBOOK NOOK MYSTERIES and will soon debut the new FRENCH BISTRO MYSTERIES. As Avery Aames, she pens the bestselling CHEESE SHOP MYSTERIES. Little known fact: Daryl has jumped out of a perfectly good airplane, and she has hitchhiked around Ireland by herself. Fun tidbit: as an actress, Daryl appeared in “Murder, She Wrote.” She loves to read, cook, and golf. She has a frisky Goldendoodle named Sparky who keeps her in line!

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

10 replies

    • Thanks Dee! You know off the top of my head I’m not sure if I’ve ever come across a cozy that wasn’t an ongoing series. But you can read one book and be fine with not continuing if you don’t have time for more with any of them really since they all contain one murder/mystery to be solved and it’s done by the end of the book. I usually like starting from the beginning though so if I do really love the characters and setting I don’t spoiler earlier reads if they mention how a previous murder was solved. For the more funny’/quirky off the top of my head would be something like Class Reunions Are Murder by Libby Klein was completely hilarious, Kirsten Weiss is always good, J.C. Eaton, Krista Davis or there’s more “basic” not quite as humorous cozies but still fun mysteries from authors like Sheila Connolly or even Charlaine Harris, her Aurora Teagarden series is one of my faves. So many good ones out there really. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s