The Date by Louise Jensen @Bookouture #bookreview #thriller

Title: The Date

Author:  Louise Jensen

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: June 21, 2018

Page Count: 320

My rating: 5 stars

About the book:

One night can change everything.

‘I know it as soon as I wake up and open my eyes… Something is wrong.’

Her Saturday night started normally. Recently separated from her husband, Ali has been persuaded by her friends to go on a date with a new man. She is ready, she is nervous, she is excited. She is about to take a step into her new future. By Sunday morning, Ali’s life is unrecognisable. She wakes, and she knows that something is wrong. She is home, she is alone, she is hurt and she has no memory of what happened to her.

Worse still, when she looks in the mirror, Ali doesn’t recognise the face staring back at her…

From the no. 1 bestselling author of The SisterThe Gift and The SurrogateThe Date is a gripping page-turner that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Before I Go To Sleep.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

The Date by Louise Jensen is one of those books that is just all kinds of weird but a good kind of weird that only a psychological thriller can give you. From the very first few pages I knew I was going to be in for one heck of a ride.

The story starts as Ali is waking up from a night that she cannot remember to save her life. Ali knows that she had been planning on going out with her friend/roommate to head to a club and meet a blind date from then out it’s a blank. No idea of what happened or how she came to be home at all.

Now waking up with no memory is enough to gain a slight interest sure but as Ali is coming to terms with no knowing she heads to a mirror and sees a face looking back that she doesn’t recognize at all….. WHAT? How can she not know her own reflection? I’ve heard of black market organ stealing but is Ali the victim of being drugged and someone performing plastic surgery? Attention skyrocketing….

But the next thing in the story is someone coming to the door and Ali afraid to answer. It’s most definitely a man but Ali realizes her purse and keys are missing so is this whoever drugged and left her here??? No, in walks Ali’s own brother who she can’t recognize at all either! Mind starts going 100 MPH.

So as you can tell this one is already falling into the WTH did I just read category on the opening pages. To explain all of this comes a really big medical term I had not ever heard of and a condition I honestly thought the author was making up….not possible, right? Calling Uncle Google I need answers now!

“Prosopagnosia is a neurological disorder characterized by the inability to recognize faces. Prosopagnosia is also known as face blindness or facial agnosia. … Prosopagnosia is not related to memory dysfunction, memory loss, impaired vision, or learning disabilities.”

Alrighty, so it is real. And Louise Jensen has taken this very interesting medical condition and written a book around it which had me turning the pages frantically to find out what the heck would happen. As the story unfolded I really could not put it down and kept rearranging my theories (when I could even think of something) all the way to the end.  So yes, I enjoyed the book and I also learned something!

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Louise Jensen is a Global No.1 Bestselling author of psychological thrillers The Sister, The Gift & The Surrogate. To date Louise has sold approaching a million books and her novels have been sold for translation to nineteen territories, as well as being featured on the USA Today and Wall Street Journal Bestseller’s List. Louise was nominated for the Goodreads Debut Author of 2016 Award.

Louise lives with her husband, children, madcap dog and a rather naughty cat in Northamptonshire. She loves to hear from readers and writers and can be found at http://www.louisejensen.co.uk, where she regularly blogs flash fiction and writing tips.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

14 replies

  1. WOW – this sounds like a weirdly wonderful story and very different! I’d never heard of that condition before but the impact on anyone suffering from it must definitely make for a very different story. Great review (as usual!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • It definitely made for a completely different twist on how everything could progress and as much as I read it’s pretty easy to become completely engaged in something I’ve never even heard of. 🙂

      Like

    • Woohoo! I hope you love it too. I honestly had no clue this even existed but I think she did a great job giving the story an authentic feel to it from what I read when I looked it up.

      Like

  2. Oh how I loved this book! Like you, I Googled Face blindness and was surprised to find out that it is real and there are many cases of people who have suffered from it including Brad Pitt. Reading this story made me think about how terrifying the condition is. Totally agree with you about this being weird but utterly gripping. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one running out to Google the condition to see if she was making it up or not. I honestly had no clue this existed and was quite curious about it which made me that much more interested in what was going on in the book. I’m one that has a horrible memory for faces or details… like does someone have a mustache, freckles, scars etc and so forth. I can recognize family, friends and those I’ve seen quite often even if I can’t recall people from one meeting or years ago so I couldn’t imagine what that must feel like to not know anyone or even yourself every time you look.

      Like

      • I am exactly the same way. I have never been good with faces. It is always embarrassing to meet people who know me so well but who I can’t remember much about them, like where I met them or who they are. I bumped into a lady last evening who knew my name, where I worked and even where I lived. Her face looked familiar but I was too embarrassed to ask her who she was. Like you said, being face blind though sounds like a nightmare.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yep, that’s me exactly too. I spent 10 years as a supervisor in a job that had a pretty high turnover rate so over the years a lot of people came and went, not only my dept but other areas of the company too. People would come up to me outside of work and hey hi how are you do you remember when I worked with you….. um, no. LOL I’ve had old school classmates walk up to me in a store and say hi and I don’t recognize them at all. Heck I’ve probably got a lot of extended family I wouldn’t even be able to pick out of a line up not seeing them often. And I’m not even great at people I saw everyday either, someone I’d worked with shaved a goatee and someone else commented and my thought was he had a goatee??? LOL

          Like

  3. Great review Carrie. I had heard of that problem before but not sure if it was a book, TV show or a movie that showcased it. I want to read this one, but am still pending for it. Might have to buy this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s