Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent @lizzienugent #bookreview #thriller

Title: Lying in Wait

Author: Liz Nugent

Publisher: Gallery/Scout Press

Publication Date: June 12, 2018

Page Count: 320

My rating:   4 stars

About the book:

From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an “unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page” (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed.

My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.

On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life—wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia’s son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax.

For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a “seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre” (Sunday Mirror).

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent certainly starts off with a bang (and on my birthday no less) that gets one’s attention, a husband and wife are out late one night and the husband strangles a young women with the wife coming in to finish her off. WHAT?? A murder duo? At that point the book definitely grabbed my interest.

You see, Lydia Fitzsimons and her husband got a little carried away covering up their secrets. The young woman was a drug addicted prostitute so who would possibly miss her? Lydia tells her husband to simply bury the body and they can go about their rich, comfortable lives with no one the wiser.

The story is told from multiples points of view along the way from the various characters involved. From Lydia the murderer to her son the alibi to the worried sister of the victim. All of these characters end up woven into a web so sticky and tangled that it will be hard for one to imagine the outcome.

When finished with this book it was one of those WTH did I just read moments. I will admit the middle of this one got a little slow to me thus only the four stars but boy oh boy was the ending worth the wait. No exactly what I’d ever expected to happen as the years ticked by in the book after that opening death scene. If dark and disturbing personalities and actions intrigue you I’d suggest picking up a copy of Lying in Wait.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Liz Nugent lives and writes in Dublin, Ireland. She is an award winning writer of radio drama, children’s animation soap opera and television plays. Her second novel, Lying in Wait, is to be published in July 2016. Unusually for a writer, Liz likes neither cats nor coffee and does not own a Breton top.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

14 replies

    • Thanks, I haven’t read Unraveling Oliver myself but I just may have to after this one. Even though I thought it got a little slow in the middle she certainly makes up for that with creativity where it counts. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Glad you liked it. I read this couple of years ago – it is published before in UK- and I still remember that ending!!! Sending chills to my spine. Lydia, is portrayed so truthfully…………. and oh I should stop before giving out spoilers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha I know, I have to reign myself in a lot of times to write a review when one has an ending like this, just want to shout do you believe….???? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s