Death and a Pot of Chowder by Cornelia Kidd #bookreview #mystery

Title: Death and a Pot of Chowder

Author: Cornelia Kidd

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Publication Date: June 12, 2018

Page Count: 336

My rating:   4 stars

About the book:

Maine’s Quarry Island has a tight-knit community that’s built on a rock-solid foundation of family, tradition and hard work. But even on this small island, where everyone knows their neighbors, there are secrets that no one would dare to whisper.

Anna Winslow, her husband Burt and their teenage son have deep roots on Quarry Island. Burt and his brother, Carl, are lobstermen, just like their father and grandfather before them. And while some things on the island never seem to change, Anna’s life is about to take some drastically unexpected turns. First, Anna discovers that she has a younger sister, Izzie Jordan. Then, on the day she drives to Portland to meet Izzie for the first time, Carl’s lobster boat is found abandoned and adrift. Later that evening, his corpse is discovered—but he didn’t drown.

Whether it was an accident or murder, Carl’s sudden death has plunged Anna’s existence into deadly waters. Despite barely knowing one another and coming from very different backgrounds, Anna and Izzie unite to find the killer. With their family in crisis, the sisters strive to uncover the secrets hidden in Quarry Island—and, perhaps, the ones buried within their own hearts.

Sure to be an intoxicating read for fans of Sarah Graves and Leslie Meier, Death and a Pot of Chowder is the first Maine Murder mystery by Cornelia Kidd.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Death and a Pot of Chowder by Cornelia Kidd is the first book in the cozy A Maine Murder Mystery series. Anna Winslow grew up on Quarry Island off the coast of Maine where she now lives with her husband and son. The community is a close knit one in which everyone knows everyone on the tiny island.

Anna grew up knowing that her biological father had left her mother before she was even born but she never expected a letter to arrive informing her of his passing from a sister that she didn’t know existed. Anna being excited to learn a little something about that side of her heritage invites her half sister to come to the island to visit.

Just as Anna is picking up Izzie though she gets a call from her husband letting her know his brother is missing. When Carl’s body is found it becomes apparent that his death was no accident and with the police looking at Anna’s husband Burt for the murder Anna and Izzie decide to team up and find the real killer.

Death and a Pot of Chowder really isn’t the normal cozy that I fall in love with as it lacked the humor and quirkiness that I usually enjoy however this one had a small town charm that drew me into the story. Each chapter began with an excerpt from various women’s publications from the 1800’s and one would wonder why until you get the feel of the town and see that the antiquated ideas of that era still seem to hold true on the island so they actually fit rather well.

With the characters and setting being very well done I settled in to the mystery side of the book and liked that while the main character and her sister did their bit of asking around there was also a retired detective to help move the investigation along. When all was said and done with this first installment of the new series I found that I had enjoyed it quite a bit and will look forward to more to come.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Maine author Cornelia Kidd, who also writes under the name Lea Wait, spent a wonderful summer on a Maine island when she was ten. Now she lives in a historic home on the banks of the Sheepscot River with her husband, artist Bob Thomas, where she cooks seafood, reads, writes, speaks to groups of all ages about writing, and, whenever possible, drinks champagne. This is her first Maine Murder mystery.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

2 replies

  1. I have read a few cozies that are taking a different track and have enjoyed them. It sounds like this one will fit that bill. Nice review Carrie, time to read this one before publication.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s